Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > Windows Operating Systems

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15th May 2015, 12:11 AM   #1501
chainbolt
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 100,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martini.txt View Post
Didn't have the issues before on the same hardware and haven't had them since.

Pretty weird though.

Gaming performance was also quite bad (probably gpu driver related)
Anyway, it' still preview. Today I was running in a lot of trouble just by switching from desktop to tablet mode and back. I had to "reset" the installation.
chainbolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 5:23 AM   #1502
MR CHILLED Thread Starter
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 126,210
Default

Quote:
Anyway, it' still preview. Today I was running in a lot of trouble just by switching from desktop to tablet mode and back. I had to "reset" the installation.
No issues like that here. All good.
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 3:43 PM   #1503
chainbolt
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 100,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PabloEscobar View Post
1990 - 2015 - The Year of Linux on the Desktop.
That's 15 years. No?
chainbolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 7:28 PM   #1504
Sphinx2000
Member
 
Sphinx2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,916
Default

That's the joke.
Sphinx2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 7:54 PM   #1505
chainbolt
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 100,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sphinx2000 View Post
That's the joke.
oooh, brain is slow. Now I get it. Good joke. I anyway never warmed up for Linux.
chainbolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 8:32 PM   #1506
Cigaweedz
Member
 
Cigaweedz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chainbolt View Post
That's 15 years. No?
I'm not slow on the uptake so I'm pretty sure that's 25 years.
Cigaweedz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2015, 5:25 AM   #1507
Cool Barn
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nian View Post
I have the parts to a new system and was thinking of installing Windows 10. Is it a viable OS for a primary pc now?
Quote:
Originally Posted by martini.txt View Post
Not in my opinion. Constant memory errors and bugs with graphics drivers. Rand reboots followed by 40 minute boot times... Shit was whack. Loaded 8.1 back on not long ago.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chainbolt View Post
No, it's not. Too early. It's still preview status, not all features available, and just today my notebook crashed, when I switched between desktop and tablet mode. Anyway, the current builds will all expire soon.

Mr Chilled said his was issue-free, so that's at least positive. Is anybody concerned that the OS is rumoured to be out in two months time but there are still a few issues needing to be fixed?

I know OS development is always being worked on and will always have some small bugs. Windows 7 had quite a few updates already when it was released in October 2009. But it was RTM three months prior to that and extremely stable. Seems to be a little different this time around.

(Or is nearly everybody having great success with it in its current state and have no need to praise it? Will everything just be alright on the night )
Cool Barn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2015, 7:00 AM   #1508
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 6,229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cool Barn View Post
Mr Chilled said his was issue-free, so that's at least positive. Is anybody concerned that the OS is rumoured to be out in two months time but there are still a few issues needing to be fixed?

I know OS development is always being worked on and will always have some small bugs. Windows 7 had quite a few updates already when it was released in October 2009. But it was RTM three months prior to that and extremely stable. Seems to be a little different this time around.

(Or is nearly everybody having great success with it in its current state and have no need to praise it? Will everything just be alright on the night )
Using it on my HTPC it has done everything I have thrown at it without any significant incidents, crashes or "catastrophic failures" (i.e. complete corruption of OS). It has been "buggy" with some impairment of normal activities but it is coming across as a "very mature" product ready for RTM . I am enjoying every aspect of it so far and very eager to install it on my primary everyday use/gaming PC.
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768
Bold Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2015, 7:28 AM   #1509
MR CHILLED Thread Starter
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 126,210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cool Barn View Post
Mr Chilled said his was issue-free, so that's at least positive. Is anybody concerned that the OS is rumoured to be out in two months time but there are still a few issues needing to be fixed?
I think there are definitely issues with it, I just haven't used it enough to find them I reckon. But otherwise just general browsing, watching a video, downloading....all seems fine right now.
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2015, 11:19 AM   #1510
Nitephyre
Member
 
Nitephyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: springbrook@gc.qld.au
Posts: 1,355
Default

I'm with Chilled... it's been my daily driver since it came out. It has it's little issues here and there, but I'm mainly browsing, emailing, Minecrafting etc, so not really a power user
__________________
-x- Asus P8Z68-V Pro -x- Intel i7 2600K -x- Noctua NH-D14 -x- GSkill Ripjaws X F3-17000CL11D 16GB -x- HIS HD6950 2GB -x-
-x-
Intel X25-M G2 80GB, WD 1TB, Samsung 2TB x2 -x- Corsair HCG 620W -x- Fractal Design Core3000 -x- Dell 2707WFP & 2405FWP -x- Windows 10 -x-
Quote:
Originally Posted by benmagga View Post
There aren't too many things you can cuddle and BBQ
Nitephyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2015, 3:15 PM   #1511
chainbolt
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 100,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bold Eagle View Post
Using it on my HTPC it has done everything I have thrown at it without any significant incidents, crashes or "catastrophic failures" (i.e. complete corruption of OS). It has been "buggy" with some impairment of normal activities but it is coming across as a "very mature" product ready for RTM . I am enjoying every aspect of it so far and very eager to install it on my primary everyday use/gaming PC.
Basically I agree. But then there are still bugs. As I said, the other day I got a freezing when changing between desktop and tablet mode. My notebook doubles as tablet. It's a Microsoft Windows Touch Test Lab (WTTL) certified device.
chainbolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2015, 4:42 PM   #1512
Aggle
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 250
Default

Is there anyway to turn off the "low memory" error. It crashes GTA V every time. It never use to do that.
Aggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2015, 5:00 PM   #1513
Cigaweedz
Member
 
Cigaweedz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aggle View Post
Is there anyway to turn off the "low memory" error. It crashes GTA V every time. It never use to do that.
What 10 build are you currently using? #10074? Have you tried setting your GTAV.exe's memory priorty to Realtime?

Just trying to provide a solution since I've never personally experienced a low memory error before from any program that I've used.

Last edited by Cigaweedz; 16th May 2015 at 5:12 PM.
Cigaweedz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2015, 5:38 PM   #1514
MR CHILLED Thread Starter
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 126,210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aggle View Post
Is there anyway to turn off the "low memory" error. It crashes GTA V every time. It never use to do that.
What are your specs Aggle??
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2015, 5:52 PM   #1515
chainbolt
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 100,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aggle View Post
Is there anyway to turn off the "low memory" error.
How does this error show up?
chainbolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 6:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!