Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Storage & Backup

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29th January 2017, 6:45 PM   #16
Danthemanz Thread Starter
Old School Admin
 
Danthemanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,413
Default

There are many purposes for this server and the large data storage is not for vms but storing personal high res photos and video as well as a high speed storage server for working off them, in addition to long term storage of other video and software type files.
VMs are running on a Samsung 950 on its own so no problem there.

As I said in a previous post, I did a disk failure test. Array was half filled and i pulled and rebuilt a disk in the array.
It was quoting 9 hours but i just checked the logs and it was 10 hours, not too slow at all! This card is pretty dam fast, as are the disks.

Yes i was using the power protection flag on the storage spaces, writes went from 30MBs to about 60... Not quite what I was looking for with the 10gb network I rolled out...
__________________
At least 15 years and $30k worth of trades...
Danthemanz is online now   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 29th January 2017, 6:49 PM   #17
NSanity
Member
 
NSanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 15,814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danthemanz View Post
Not quite what I was looking for with the 10gb network I rolled out...
You're never ever going to get anywhere near 10G with so few spindles and real world use.
NSanity is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2017, 7:01 PM   #18
Danthemanz Thread Starter
Old School Admin
 
Danthemanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,413
Default

~600MB/s is actually a lot faster than the 112MB/s I was getting before on 1Gb...
Way better than 60MB/s the storage spaces pool was going to offer.
We will see after my house is repaired but im incredibly happy with the performance for what I'm using it for, its not like im running a corporate Sql database on it, its made for large file transfers.
__________________
At least 15 years and $30k worth of trades...
Danthemanz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2017, 1:15 PM   #19
Gaidin
Member
 
Gaidin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vic
Posts: 1,955
Default

All sold now it seems
Gaidin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2017, 5:49 PM   #20
encode
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 458
Default

Out of curiosity, what were you using the house the 3.5" disks? The case apparently only has space for 4 disks.
__________________
He is considered a most graceful speaker who can say nothing in the most words.
encode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2017, 8:29 PM   #21
rainwulf
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: bris.qld.aus
Posts: 3,880
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSanity View Post
ya'll crazy wasting ~$1600 on a Raid card in 2017 (which is the approx retail for a SAS2 Hardware Raid w/ CacheVault and Cachecade).

Just use a HBA and Storage Spaces already (or BTRFS or ZFS).

Cross-Flashing cards is not my cup of tea when you're talking about $1000's in storage.
This... ZFS. No more raid cards for me! I started to lose data to NTFS bitrot and thought "hell noooooo"

I push freenas onto anyone who will listen. After experiencing bitrot first hand over a period of a few months, i knew stuff had to change. I dont trust any storage at all apart from a ZFS array. Even a single drive i treat as disposable storage without at least 3 backups.
__________________
derp

Last edited by rainwulf; 13th February 2017 at 8:33 PM.
rainwulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2017, 9:42 PM   #22
ktmrida
Member
 
ktmrida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 532
Default

Hi,

How much was the motherboard and CPU

having no luck on prebuilt servers and will now look to build a notso power hungry esxi / file server

thanks
ktmrida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2017, 10:25 PM   #23
rainwulf
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: bris.qld.aus
Posts: 3,880
Default

I would start a new thread for this.

You have many options depending on your budget.
__________________
derp
rainwulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2017, 10:54 PM   #24
Renza
Member
 
Renza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Adelaide, 5051
Posts: 4,442
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSanity View Post
Second thing - why in god's name are you building a Raid5 array with 6TB members? You're looking at about a week+ to rebuild the array in the event of a failure. Thats a *long* time.
A week? I just rebuilt my array (10x 3tb drives in RAID6) using the slower 9260-4i controller. Swapped out a drive that was reallocating bad blocks and causing poor performance. Took 14 hours 55 minutes, so rebuilding an array with 6tb drives should be around twice that.

(That said, it took me 10 days to expand my array from 9 drives to 10).
__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.5ghz | AsRock Z77 Professional | 16gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz | Gigabyte GTX580 | Seasonic X750 | Silverstone TJ07 | Crucial M4 256GB | 2x Dell U2011
Canon 5D Mark III | Canon EF 24-70 f/2.8L | Canon EF 17-40 f/4L | Canon EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 | Canon EX-580II | Manfrotto 190 Pro B
Traded over $22,000 on OCAU! - PM for recent traders
Renza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2017, 11:04 PM   #25
NSanity
Member
 
NSanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 15,814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renza View Post
A week? I just rebuilt my array (10x 3tb drives in RAID6) using the slower 9260-4i controller. Swapped out a drive that was reallocating bad blocks and causing poor performance. Took 14 hours 55 minutes, so rebuilding an array with 6tb drives should be around twice that.

(That said, it took me 10 days to expand my array from 9 drives to 10).
Its a tunable thing. Some controllers are pretty conservative to BAU requests by default.
NSanity is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 1:58 AM   #26
Annihilator69
Member
 
Annihilator69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Perth
Posts: 5,961
Default

Yeah just got two of these drive, they are awesome as.
I went to the Toshiba warranty site and they came up with 5 Year warranty.
I'm shitty now that I didn't buy more LOL.

I'm pretty sure the dude will get more stock in a few days though.

They didn't seem loud to me?
I can hear them spin as in the hum etc, but they didn't really seem much noiser then a 1.5TB WG Green that I had.

I even tested it in a caddy in a quiet room and it wasn't bad at all.

In fact there was zero seek noise on the Toshiba's and the seek noise on the WG Green was terrible!, The Green was from 2009 so I guess things have improved since then.
__________________
Intel i5 2500k @ 4.7Ghz || Gigabyte Z68X-UD5-B3 || 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600mhz CL7 || Nvidia MSI 1080 || Samsung 256GB 850Pro + Samsung 500GB 850 Evo + Toshiba 2TB 7200|| 35" Benq XR3501 Ultrawide
OCAU Extreme Cooling Club HO Member
Koolance 370, Bix3, XSPC R9 290 Full Cover Block, Swiftech MCP-350 Pump
Trades List
Annihilator69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 7:44 PM   #27
encode
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Annihilator69 View Post
I'm pretty sure the dude will get more stock in a few days though.
More drives back in stock. Just ordered two.
__________________
He is considered a most graceful speaker who can say nothing in the most words.
encode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2017, 8:43 AM   #28
Danthemanz Thread Starter
Old School Admin
 
Danthemanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,413
Default

Drives are out of stock again, ive bought 7 so far for various things but i want more!
I messaged them and they seemed to think they would be getting another batch, though they werent sure when.

In other new the server is going strong, just havent had any time to play with it.
__________________
At least 15 years and $30k worth of trades...
Danthemanz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2017, 10:05 AM   #29
wwwww
Member
 
wwwww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,099
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSanity View Post
You're never ever going to get anywhere near 10G with so few spindles and real world use.
But it's very easy to exceed 1G so 10G has its benefits.
__________________
wPrime 2.10 | Super PI 1.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSanity View Post
This is literally the worst advice on the internet, ever.
wwwww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2017, 10:19 AM   #30
NSanity
Member
 
NSanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 15,814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wwwww View Post
But it's very easy to exceed 1G so 10G has its benefits.
Which i I guess is why 2.5G is somewhat desirable - but it pretty much has to be at 1G PHY costs - both switching and nic. Because otherwise, why bother? just go for 10 and be done with it.
NSanity is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
9260, 9265, lsi, raid5, server

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!