Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Other Topics > Graphic Design & Digital Art

Notices

Old 27th May 2017, 9:26 PM   #1
peteed1985 Thread Starter

Default Learning to draw?

Anyone ever tried learning to draw only to find out that you end up with girls with one leg as thin as a toothpick and the other jumbo sized? I can kinda get things in the right places sometimes in sketches but when it comes to line art or smooth lines i'm lost because it takes more than one try to get the line in the right place. Been stopping me learning to draw for years.

Because of this I haven't gotten to the point of Digital Art that i'd like to one day do because apparently you have to learn non digital first because they only teach you how to adapt your already good traditional art skills into digital in all the guides/tutorials I can find. None teach a total beginner to art how to do digital art.
peteed1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2017, 10:07 PM   #2
broccoli

Quote:
Originally Posted by peteed1985 View Post
i'm lost because it takes more than one try to get the line in the right place. Been stopping me learning to draw for years.
Here's the thing. It shouldn't stop you. You need to practise it over and over and you get better at it. It should go "I can't do this, I'll try again" and not "I can't do this, I'll stop".

I went to lessons. If I'd tried all by myself, I probably would have given up in frustration too. Having a teacher to tell you how to "fix" things makes you stick with it.

Before I went to lessons, I had a go with the (little) Nintendo Art Academy game. With that you can make graph paper appear underneath. I found it helpful to figure out where the lines of the apple should go. You can do that in your head, divide your paper up and figure out how much of your dog (or whatever) should go where.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sankari View Post