Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Modding

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th January 2017, 7:32 PM   #1
Skawng Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 4
Default i3-6100 should I OC?

My cousin just gave me a 6100, but I already have a 7600k, I have a spare z170 board (I bought a z270 max IX) do you think it's worth it to oc ? I'll use it basically for a lan rig.
Skawng is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 19th January 2017, 3:29 PM   #2
perz
Member
 
perz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maitland 2323
Posts: 394
Default

Pretty sure you can't overclock it?

[edit] Well there ya go, you can overclock it, if so just go for it. Go for something not too crazy like 4.2 or something.
__________________

Last edited by perz; 19th January 2017 at 4:01 PM.
perz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2017, 4:33 PM   #3
rickoles
Member
 
rickoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Perth 6017
Posts: 183
Default

You can only overclock it with a specific out-dated bios that ran the sky-OC which came out around 6 months back.

I wouldn't bother.
__________________
Asrock Z170 Extreme 7+ / i7 6700k / RipJaws 16gb 3200 / Fury X / ASUS MG279Q / Samsung 950 pro / Deskstar 4TB / Corsair AX860i / Fractal R5
rickoles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2017, 6:44 PM   #4
havabeer
Member
 
havabeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,414
Default

Wouldn't bother, especially if you have to go chasing old bios's
__________________
Current rig: CPU i7 5960X - Mobo MSI x99 pro carbon - GPU 2x Titan X (pascal) - Ram 16gig DDR4 2666 G*skill - Case Custom little devil V8 - Monitor Phillips 40" 4k
Cooling - Custom water loop - 360 rad x 2 - 480 x 1 - acrylic hard tube
havabeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2017, 7:02 PM   #5
ipv6ready
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: North Sydney
Posts: 620
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by havabeer View Post
Wouldn't bother, especially if you have to go chasing old bios's
But he/she might like playing with old tech.

We still have a thread for Winxp benching I see come up lol.
__________________
4k nut UP3214Q, UP2414Q and U28D590D
MSI Z77a-GD80, Cosmos II, i7-3770k, Swiftech H240-X, Gigabyte G1 GTX1070, G.Skill 32mb 1600, 256GB Samsung Pro 840, 120GB Sandisk Extreme, LSi 9261, 8 x 1TB WB Black HDD, Seasonic 660w Platinum, Cyberpower UPS
ipv6ready is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2017, 3:26 PM   #6
SKITZ0_000
Member
 
SKITZ0_000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tas
Posts: 841
Default

I know this is an old thread, but you most definitely should overclock it.

Depending on the spare Z170 board you have, chances are you won't have to roll back to some ancient bios. I know in the case of Asrock boards, they reintroduced SkyOC as soon as the whole intel QQ blew over, even my board with the current Kaby bios will still SkyOC an i3.

I know of two SkyOC'd i3 6100's, both running at 4.625ghz (37x125) at ~1.38-1.4v (depending on the vdroop on the board).

My 6100 was 2h prime stable at 1.39v but then I bumped it up to 1.4v for a bit of a buffer, dual cores are frugal and run cool so it's worth it.

CPU is stable and faultless, he 125 bclk lets you run some normal memory dividers and at 4.625 that's a 25% performance increase. I was playing Ghost Recon Wildlands beta last night, which seems to be a bit cpu thirsty (but threaded well) on 3.7 it was >85% consistently on all threads with spikes to 100% and frame drops, at 4.625 we're at a friendlier 70% and rarely hit that 100% on even a single thread.

You would be silly not to .
__________________
GTX 1080 (+CLU mod), 7700K @ 5.0Ghz, 4x8GB d-die @ 3466-C14

Travel, lift, trip, learn, ride.
SKITZ0_000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2017, 8:58 PM   #7
pwlm1975
Member
 
pwlm1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Logan, Qld
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKITZ0_000 View Post
You would be silly not to .
Yes, he would...

http://overclocking.guide/intel-skyl...ing-bios-list/

This is where I got my BIOS from to overclock my i5 6500 to 4.2GHz stable. You will most definitely need an after market cooler to do it.
__________________
i5 6500@4.2GHz | CM D92 | Asus Z170-P | 16GB Corsair LPX@3000MHz | Asus R9 290 | Silverstone ES 500W | Thermaltake Versa H25
pwlm1975 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 7:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!