Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Modding

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20th February 2017, 6:40 PM   #1
Viiper Thread Starter
Member
 
Viiper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 170
Red face I made an external GPU lamp.

Long time no post.

Wanted to change my laptop to something more portable, yet still have the GPU power. So decided to go external.

What I got.
Lenovo X230 for $300 off ebay.
Gigabyte GTX1060
EXP GDC v8 GPU dock
Silverstone SFX Gold 500w PSU
Thermaltake Riing RGB 3pack (bit overkill but I wanted a lamp)
Silverstone fan filters

What was used to make it:
HyperX Cloud box
Double sided tape
Hot Glue
Velcro (For mounting PSU
Cutting tools
Ingenuity.

Here's what I ended up with:







Runs Overwatch & For honor on ultra/extreme without a problem.Temps are ~62-65deg furmark load at around 26deg ambient.

Pretty happy with the result, though i'd share
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.4ghz, ASUS COMMANDO, Corsair 4gb PC6400. Crossfire 4870 1Gb. Thermaltake Armor.

Trades : Porky_123, hotdog_hotdog, Adam 33, HellspA

Last edited by Viiper; 20th February 2017 at 6:44 PM.
Viiper is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 20th February 2017, 10:08 PM   #2
emmjawsX
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 17
Default

That looks.... surprisingly clean for what i was expecting after reading the bill of materials.

Great job, especially love the gratuitous Riing fa.. err, lamps
emmjawsX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2017, 9:58 AM   #3
Narcoticx2
Member
 
Narcoticx2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: 4158 Brisbane, Queensland
Posts: 4,272
Default

That's awesome...

What connection/bandwidth does it have to the laptop?
Does the eGPU power the internal LCD or do you 'dock' to a desktop monitor?
Any more taxing games you've tried?

Any pics of the build?
__________________
3570k - H61M-ITX - 16GB - 1TB - GTX750Ti 2GB - SG05B
Narcoticx2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2017, 12:23 PM   #4
Viiper Thread Starter
Member
 
Viiper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Narcoticx2 View Post
That's awesome...

What connection/bandwidth does it have to the laptop?
Does the eGPU power the internal LCD or do you 'dock' to a desktop monitor?
Any more taxing games you've tried?

Any pics of the build?
The card connects via Expresscard (PCI-E 1x 2.0) which bottlenecks the card slightly. But with Nvidia PCI-E compression it helps. Also when I overclock the card I get higher benchmark results, kind of says something there..

GPU only outputs to the monitor, interfaces with the laptop only with express card.
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.4ghz, ASUS COMMANDO, Corsair 4gb PC6400. Crossfire 4870 1Gb. Thermaltake Armor.

Trades : Porky_123, hotdog_hotdog, Adam 33, HellspA
Viiper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2017, 10:24 AM   #5
batman9r1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Exclamation External GPU

Nice setup, I also am currently working on a project with an external GPU.

The issue is that my ASUS k53sv already has a dedicated graphics card and even after disabling in windows and making sure it doesn't get a driver I still can't get optimus(to use gpu on internal lcd) to work I believe its because I have no ability in the bios to switch of the dgpu and at a low hardware level it doesn't know which gpu to communicate with. the nvidia control panel wont open until i disconnect the the external gpu from the minipcie slot.

I also have made a modded bios so optimus is enabled on the external GPU.

Do we have any experienced bios modders here that would be able to switch of the dedicated graphics?

p.s sorry for hijacking.
__________________
Trader - 2k+
batman9r1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2017, 11:01 AM   #6
batman9r1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by batman9r1 View Post
Nice setup, I also am currently working on a project with an external GPU.

The issue is that my ASUS k53sv already has a dedicated graphics card and even after disabling in windows and making sure it doesn't get a driver I still can't get optimus(to use gpu on internal lcd) to work I believe its because I have no ability in the bios to switch of the dgpu and at a low hardware level it doesn't know which gpu to communicate with. the nvidia control panel wont open until i disconnect the the external gpu from the minipcie slot.

I also have made a modded bios so optimus is enabled on the external GPU.

Do we have any experienced bios modders here that would be able to switch of the dedicated graphics?

p.s sorry for hijacking.
hey sorry ill move this to a new post.
__________________
Trader - 2k+
batman9r1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2017, 11:36 AM   #7
Narcoticx2
Member
 
Narcoticx2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: 4158 Brisbane, Queensland
Posts: 4,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by batman9r1 View Post
Nice setup, I also am currently working on a project with an external GPU.

The issue is that my ASUS k53sv already has a dedicated graphics card and even after disabling in windows and making sure it doesn't get a driver I still can't get optimus(to use gpu on internal lcd) to work I believe its because I have no ability in the bios to switch of the dgpu and at a low hardware level it doesn't know which gpu to communicate with. the nvidia control panel wont open until i disconnect the the external gpu from the minipcie slot.

I also have made a modded bios so optimus is enabled on the external GPU.

Do we have any experienced bios modders here that would be able to switch of the dedicated graphics?

p.s sorry for hijacking.
https://egpu.io/forums/implementatio...ughts-android/

Quote:
I have very limited understanding of eGPUs, so I used Display Driver Uninstaller and then installed the PE4C V3.0 and Setup 1.31 according to their standard instructions. In Setup 1.31, I set "PCI compaction -> Ignore dgpu", ran PCI compaction "except SATA etc.", then set the dgpu to "off" and ran the same PCI compaction again. I set the chainloader to mbr2, saved everything in startup.bat, and used BootIce to speed up the booting process, as described in the Setup 1.31 readme.
Hope this helps. I haven't done it myself but this guy had some success.
__________________
3570k - H61M-ITX - 16GB - 1TB - GTX750Ti 2GB - SG05B
Narcoticx2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2017, 2:36 PM   #8
akromatic
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 405
Default

how is the performance and is it worth it?

what CPU you have? is it just an ivy dual core?

i have a fujitsu T731and a alienware m11x r3 and im thinking about doing the same. both with sandy brdige processors but ones ULV
akromatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2017, 2:35 AM   #9
Viiper Thread Starter
Member
 
Viiper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akromatic View Post
how is the performance and is it worth it?

what CPU you have? is it just an ivy dual core?

i have a fujitsu T731and a alienware m11x r3 and im thinking about doing the same. both with sandy brdige processors but ones ULV
Performance is quite good, no issues with Overwatch & For Honor on ultra. CPU is a i5-3320M.
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.4ghz, ASUS COMMANDO, Corsair 4gb PC6400. Crossfire 4870 1Gb. Thermaltake Armor.

Trades : Porky_123, hotdog_hotdog, Adam 33, HellspA
Viiper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2017, 12:59 AM   #10
virtuosox
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 17
Default

that looks pretty nice
for a second i thought it was a shoe box lol
virtuosox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 2:35 PM   #11
Roscosity
Member
 
Roscosity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 165
Default

Not bad, goes to show what a bit of imagination and elbow grease can accomplish
__________________
Roscosity | ANZ Gigabyte Community Manager
Gigabyte VGA
Roscosity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 1:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!