Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th February 2017, 10:31 AM   #46
CptVipeR
Member
 
CptVipeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Hobart
Posts: 707
Default

I played the original, but was more of a fan of the sequel, Syndicate Wars.
That had some good graphics for the time.
CptVipeR is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 27th February 2017, 10:36 AM   #47
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 48,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CptVipeR View Post
I played the original, but was more of a fan of the sequel, Syndicate Wars.
That had some good graphics for the time.
yeah the cutscenes were groundbreaking at the time, I played Syndicate for a little while on Sunday and while it was fun for a bit - but hot damn it looked ugly on my huge ass 4K screen.
__________________
this is who we are.
power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2017, 2:46 PM   #48
Krumm
Member
 
Krumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hobart
Posts: 414
Default

For those who enjoyed Syndicate it may be worth having a look at Sattelite Reign which was made by Brisbane 5 Lives Studio.
Krumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2017, 3:50 PM   #49
QuakeDude
ooooh weeee ooooh
 
QuakeDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krumm View Post
For those who enjoyed Syndicate it may be worth having a look at Sattelite Reign which was made by Brisbane 5 Lives Studio.
Holy shit.. the video makes it look like a straight out Syndicate rippoff
QuakeDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2017, 4:18 PM   #50
DonutKing
Member
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tweed/Gold Coast
Posts: 1,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
Cool to hear folks busting out the DOS machines for this.

Anyone fired it up on an Amiga yet?
I've played this on my 486, and on my Amiga 1200.

The PC version is definitely superior... higher res, more colors, smoother animation. The levels and gameplay are the same.
There's a CD32 version but it seems to be the same as the floppy version?!

I generally find that games from about 92/93 onwards, which are available on both platforms, are better on PC. Before that, the Amiga version is usually much better.

IMO This is largely because the amiga was a better machine than the PC until 386, VGA and Soundblaster came along in the late 80's, but then it took until 92/93 for this tech to become affordable for the average consumer!
__________________
пора бить эту лягушку и жабу!!!
DonutKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2017, 4:30 PM   #51
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 48,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonutKing View Post
I've played this on my 486, and on my Amiga 1200.

The PC version is definitely superior... higher res, more colors, smoother animation. The levels and gameplay are the same.
There's a CD32 version but it seems to be the same as the floppy version?!

I generally find that games from about 92/93 onwards, which are available on both platforms, are better on PC. Before that, the Amiga version is usually much better.

IMO This is largely because the amiga was a better machine than the PC until 386, VGA and Soundblaster came along in the late 80's, but then it took until 92/93 for this tech to become affordable for the average consumer!
Yeah the 486 was the turning point for PC land, before that they were mostly just shit. A ragtag mix of video modes, rubbish pc speaker audio, mono displays - just yuck.

Then along came the 486 which was fast enough to do software mode 3D, real sound cards, colour screens, once that happened the rest as they say, is history.

As you say it all happened around the dawn of CD ROM.
__________________
this is who we are.
power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2017, 10:14 AM   #52
okclock123
Member
 
okclock123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krumm View Post
For those who enjoyed Syndicate it may be worth having a look at Sattelite Reign which was made by Brisbane 5 Lives Studio.
That is exactly what I am playing right now, because I beat Syndicate and I need more .

Maybe American Revolution and Wars some day..
okclock123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2017, 12:27 PM   #53
elvis Thread Starter
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 28,449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonutKing View Post
There's a CD32 version but it seems to be the same as the floppy version?!
Hrm... I have a CD32. Can you plug a mouse into those and play Syndicate that way? Or is it all gamepad based?
__________________
Play old games with me!
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2017, 12:34 PM   #54
DonutKing
Member
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tweed/Gold Coast
Posts: 1,000
Default

I believe an Amiga mouse works fine in a CD32, but I don't have one to check myself.

By all accounts Syndicate CD32 is literally the exact same game as the floppy version, just a different medium.
__________________
пора бить эту лягушку и жабу!!!
DonutKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2017, 1:15 PM   #55
elvis Thread Starter
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 28,449
Default

My CD32 is missing a power supply, but I can make one easily out of a PC power supply. I need to get off my butt and do that so I can test more of these games, as so many of them have Amiga (and thus CD32) ports.
__________________
Play old games with me!
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2017, 6:06 PM   #56
dirkmirk
Member
 
dirkmirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Shoalhaven - Gods Country
Posts: 3,342
Default

I finished the game a few days ago but I have to say it wasn't as hard as I remembered it.

I completed the game on my 5x86-120 with ball mouse, surprisingly the mouse never let me down and to be honest I didn't feel their was a great difference between that and a laser mouse on my pentium pro.
dirkmirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!