Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Overclocking & Hardware

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 4th March 2017, 10:33 AM   #3031
Ratzz
Member
 
Ratzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cheltenham East 3192
Posts: 4,661
Default

I've been trying to get something competitive happening here, but fucked if I know how you guys are doing so fast

I thought these were pretty tight.. what can I do to improve my time?

Ram is G-Skill Trident F4-3200C15 16GTZ


Click to view full size!
__________________
I always say 'morning' rather than 'good morning'. If it was a 'good' morning then I would be on a yacht in the West Indies smoking a 10" reefer and getting a massage from Lexa Doig...

My Rig
Ratzz is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 6th March 2017, 8:31 AM   #3032
Ratzz
Member
 
Ratzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cheltenham East 3192
Posts: 4,661
Default

Same RAM, even tighter timings.


Click to view full size!


What am I doing wrong? Do I need more speed, looser timings? Are there other settings which will make all the difference?

I don't get how I can be more than a minute behind what appear to be similar settings?
__________________
I always say 'morning' rather than 'good morning'. If it was a 'good' morning then I would be on a yacht in the West Indies smoking a 10" reefer and getting a massage from Lexa Doig...

My Rig
Ratzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 8:52 AM   #3033
zeropluszero
Member
 
zeropluszero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 3132
Posts: 5,812
Default

Read through THIS, you need XP for the first thing.
__________________
TeamAU
zeropluszero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 9:03 AM   #3034
Ratzz
Member
 
Ratzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cheltenham East 3192
Posts: 4,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeropluszero View Post
Read through THIS, you need XP for the first thing.
Cool, that's helpful. Anyone got a link I can download a clean copy of XP from?
I threw out all my copies years ago..
__________________
I always say 'morning' rather than 'good morning'. If it was a 'good' morning then I would be on a yacht in the West Indies smoking a 10" reefer and getting a massage from Lexa Doig...

My Rig
Ratzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 9:06 AM   #3035
zeropluszero
Member
 
zeropluszero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 3132
Posts: 5,812
Default

https://barbonenet.wordpress.com/201...p-for-superpi/
https://barbonenet.wordpress.com/201...-my-xp-spi-os/

I havent used them, but I'd say there's a good chance most of the tweaks are already present in these.

Also, this is well worth setting up on a haswell or older system, as I expect you'll have a fair bit of difficulty setting up on skylake/kaby
__________________
TeamAU
zeropluszero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 9:31 AM   #3036
headin2001
Member
 
headin2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 2,860
Default

I use those that Zero linked. Works well on all platforms I've tried.
headin2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 10:25 AM   #3037
newlife
Member
 
newlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 2,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeropluszero View Post

Also, this is well worth setting up on a haswell or older system, as I expect you'll have a fair bit of difficulty setting up on skylake/kaby
Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't it a matter of having a board with 3rd party sata so you can use ide and having a xp compatible USB card
newlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 10:35 AM   #3038
Ratzz
Member
 
Ratzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cheltenham East 3192
Posts: 4,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeropluszero View Post
https://barbonenet.wordpress.com/201...p-for-superpi/
https://barbonenet.wordpress.com/201...-my-xp-spi-os/

I havent used them, but I'd say there's a good chance most of the tweaks are already present in these.

Also, this is well worth setting up on a haswell or older system, as I expect you'll have a fair bit of difficulty setting up on skylake/kaby
Damn, the only rigs in the house are a z270 and a haswell B board. Not going to get much out of that. I'll muddle through with kaby unless I see a cheap haswell rig around.
__________________
I always say 'morning' rather than 'good morning'. If it was a 'good' morning then I would be on a yacht in the West Indies smoking a 10" reefer and getting a massage from Lexa Doig...

My Rig
Ratzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 10:37 AM   #3039
zeropluszero
Member
 
zeropluszero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 3132
Posts: 5,812
Default

no no, I'm saying use the haswell system to setup the operating system, then plug the hdd into your z270 system
__________________
TeamAU
zeropluszero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 11:51 AM   #3040
Ratzz
Member
 
Ratzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cheltenham East 3192
Posts: 4,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeropluszero View Post
no no, I'm saying use the haswell system to setup the operating system, then plug the hdd into your z270 system
Ok I'm with you now. I'll give it a shot
__________________
I always say 'morning' rather than 'good morning'. If it was a 'good' morning then I would be on a yacht in the West Indies smoking a 10" reefer and getting a massage from Lexa Doig...

My Rig
Ratzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 7:13 PM   #3041
headin2001
Member
 
headin2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 2,860
Default

That is should work on both IDE comparable and Xchi like current Asus. I have it running on my MOCF and Asus boards.
headin2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2017, 8:23 PM   #3042
newlife
Member
 
newlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 2,047
Default

What kind of difference does xp vs 10 have? Because Chew showed Zen doing around 8m 36s @ 4016mhz
newlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 6:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!