Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Other Topics > Audio Visual

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20th March 2017, 12:28 PM   #1
FatBoyNotSoSlim Thread Starter
Member
 
FatBoyNotSoSlim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne - 3149
Posts: 14,007
Default Playing 4K content on a non HDCP 2.2 compliant screen

So I have a lovely Philips BDM4350UC that I use as my PC monitor. I also have a ChromeCast Ultra, that I use to cast Youtube/Netflix from my phone when I don't want to power up my desktop to watch some content.

Last night, I discovered that the lack of HDCP 2.2 for the HDMI ports result in 4K content not being possible to playback.

Doing some research into this, the one work around I've discovered is using a HDMI splitter between the device and the screen, which can sometimes advise that the screen is HDCP 2.2 compliant.

I'm just confused with how this all works. Does the splitter essentially inject the compliance tags on the signal, so when the CC Ultra asks the monitor if it can handle it, it's replying that yes I have a valid HDCP 2.2 signal, you're ok to send me 4K? Or does it strip it out, such that the CC Ultra thinks it's sending it, and the monitor will just play it back?

Here's some topics I've read. This one mentions that it'll strip out the HDCP tags:
http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewt...asc&highlight=
This one mentions that it'll just broadcast the HDCP tags on the despite the source:
https://www.reddit.com/r/AndroidTV/c...ox_4k_netflix/

Hence I'm not sure if what I'm reading is the same thing, and am not sure if what I'm reading is what I want to get achieved.

One of the splitters mentioned a few times, looks to be very similar to a model I can get locally at Jaycar; so I was going to pick one up and give it a try.
https://www.jaycar.com.au/2-way-hdmi...itter/p/AC1766

Can anyone decypher what I'm on about and help out?
__________________
I DONT WANT YO LIFE, MONT BLANC
ALWAYS B TROLL'N
FatBoyNotSoSlim is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 20th March 2017, 12:38 PM   #2
connico
Member
 
connico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,290
Default

The splinters strip the HDCP encoding from the signal, its a common fix amounts AV guys when they want distribute foxtel to a distributed system.
__________________
www.shoepolish.net.au
connico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2017, 12:53 PM   #3
ipv6ready
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: North Sydney
Posts: 622
Default

Very interesting, good luck and if you succeed please report back.
__________________
4k nut UP3214Q, UP2414Q and U28D590D
MSI Z77a-GD80, Cosmos II, i7-3770k, Swiftech H240-X, Gigabyte G1 GTX1070, G.Skill 32mb 1600, 256GB Samsung Pro 840, 120GB Sandisk Extreme, LSi 9261, 8 x 1TB WB Black HDD, Seasonic 660w Platinum, Cyberpower UPS
ipv6ready is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 11:18 AM   #4
FatBoyNotSoSlim Thread Starter
Member
 
FatBoyNotSoSlim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne - 3149
Posts: 14,007
Default

I'll be grabbing the Jaycar splitter this week to check out.
Next on my list might be importing a cheap splitter that may/may not work.

I've also found this,
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15242

Downconverts HDCP to 1.4, which my monitor will support, and many people have confirmed this works great for outputting 4K to non-HDCP 2.2 displays.
__________________
I DONT WANT YO LIFE, MONT BLANC
ALWAYS B TROLL'N
FatBoyNotSoSlim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 4:24 PM   #5
the_antipop
Member
 
the_antipop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatBoyNotSoSlim View Post
I'll be grabbing the Jaycar splitter this week to check out.
Next on my list might be importing a cheap splitter that may/may not work.

I've also found this,
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15242

Downconverts HDCP to 1.4, which my monitor will support, and many people have confirmed this works great for outputting 4K to non-HDCP 2.2 displays.
I'm selling one of those here; http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh....php?t=1217776

Let me know if you'd like it. It works. But I ended upgrading my TV.

Edit: Realised after clicking on the link I paid way to much for mine haha Dammit.
__________________
Intel i7-3770 | Corsair H80i | Asus P8Z77-M PRO | 16GB Kingston HyperX Fury 1866 | MSI R9-390 Gaming 8G | Qnix Q2710 1440p 27" | Antec High Current Gamer 900W
Steam: the_antipop -- Origin: AntipopAU -- PSN: the_antipop91
the_antipop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 4:40 PM   #6
nCrypt
Member
 
nCrypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,234
Default

i used one of these, as my receiver wasnt HDCP 2.2

https://www.hdfury.eu/en/home/30-hdf...gral-2017.html

Worked fine.

Ended up selling my tv and receiver, and buying a hdcp 2.2 compliant tv and receiver.

i use this for youtube/netflix/stan./kodi

https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/shield/

works great for 4K netflix/youtube, and great streaming H265 files direct from my pc (720p/1080p/4K)
__________________
1.5960X@4.5Ghz 1.25V WC X99 ROG R5 E10 32GB TridentZ 3200C14 GTX1080 Ti SLI WC CaseLabs S8
2.7700K@5Ghz 1.30V WC Z270 ROG APEX 16GB TridentZ 3200C14 GTX1080 STRIX OC WC Phanteks Luxe Tempered
3.7600K@5Ghz 1.31V H115i Z270 ROG STRIX 16GB TridentZ 3200C14 HD630 Caselabs S8
nCrypt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2017, 9:19 AM   #7
FatBoyNotSoSlim Thread Starter
Member
 
FatBoyNotSoSlim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne - 3149
Posts: 14,007
Default

Well the Jaycar splitter didn't work, so next up would be the Blackbird down convertor...
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_antipop View Post
I'm selling one of those here; http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh....php?t=1217776

Let me know if you'd like it. It works. But I ended upgrading my TV.

Edit: Realised after clicking on the link I paid way to much for mine haha Dammit.
Yes please.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nCrypt View Post
i used one of these, as my receiver wasnt HDCP 2.2

https://www.hdfury.eu/en/home/30-hdf...gral-2017.html

Worked fine.

Ended up selling my tv and receiver, and buying a hdcp 2.2 compliant tv and receiver.

i use this for youtube/netflix/stan./kodi

https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/shield/

works great for 4K netflix/youtube, and great streaming H265 files direct from my pc (720p/1080p/4K)
HDFury will also do this too, but is insanely overkill for my needs and price range.
__________________
I DONT WANT YO LIFE, MONT BLANC
ALWAYS B TROLL'N
FatBoyNotSoSlim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2017, 12:39 AM   #8
nibennett
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 266
Default

Looking at getting this monitor in the next day or two.
Happy with it ?
manage to get the 4k streaming going ?
nibennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2017, 12:52 AM   #9
FatBoyNotSoSlim Thread Starter
Member
 
FatBoyNotSoSlim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne - 3149
Posts: 14,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nibennett View Post
Looking at getting this monitor in the next day or two.
Happy with it ?
manage to get the 4k streaming going ?
It's fine as a monitor. I can see why people would prefer a curved one, I try not to put windows to the side due to eye strain.
I have issues every now and then when I swear the monitor refreshes or handshakes, and the pixels move slightly left then right again. It's like an OCD thing where I swear it happens, but can't prove it.

As for the 4K, not yet, not from HDMI. I was contemplating a Mi Box for 4k streaming, but again, no guarantee that it'll do 4K Netflix over the HDMI ports, and I'm tired of throwing money at it. Booting up my PC will have to do for 4K footage.
__________________
I DONT WANT YO LIFE, MONT BLANC
ALWAYS B TROLL'N
FatBoyNotSoSlim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2017, 9:33 PM   #10
nibennett
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatBoyNotSoSlim View Post
It's fine as a monitor. I can see why people would prefer a curved one, I try not to put windows to the side due to eye strain.
I have issues every now and then when I swear the monitor refreshes or handshakes, and the pixels move slightly left then right again. It's like an OCD thing where I swear it happens, but can't prove it.

As for the 4K, not yet, not from HDMI. I was contemplating a Mi Box for 4k streaming, but again, no guarantee that it'll do 4K Netflix over the HDMI ports, and I'm tired of throwing money at it. Booting up my PC will have to do for 4K footage.
Thanks for that. Will research a little more but the 4k streaming issue is something that makes it very tempting to get a 4ktv as they'll have the hdcp 2.2, input lag isn't much different for a number of them and fairly competitively priced really. .
nibennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2017, 10:42 PM   #11
ni9ht_5ta1k3r
Member
 
ni9ht_5ta1k3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney: it sucks!
Posts: 29,841
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nibennett View Post
Thanks for that. Will research a little more but the 4k streaming issue is something that makes it very tempting to get a 4ktv as they'll have the hdcp 2.2, input lag isn't much different for a number of them and fairly competitively priced really. .
the nvidia shield tv will do 4k HDR netflix and amazon. i even have 4K HDR MKVs..so nice!
__________________
XBOX Live: The Gh0sts | Steam: Th3_Gh0sts | PSN: TheGhosts (AU) - TheGh0sts_CA (CA) | Origin: Th3_Gh0sts - RSSC: Chillawhat | UPlay: spartan33 | Battle.Net: Th3Gh0sts#1131
Current PC: Metabox Prime-X P870DM-G with a GTX 1070N GPU
My Web & Graphic Design Portfolio | My EBay Listings | Overwatch Vids
ni9ht_5ta1k3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!