Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Overclocking & Hardware

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th December 2011, 8:44 AM   #91
Jimba86
Member
 
Jimba86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane 4179
Posts: 1,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaffe View Post
A 2500K is probably better if your trying to not bust a whole in your wallet and there's probably some better motherboards in terms of price. Pretty much a Gene-Z would be all you need. Based on how the PSC sticks I get this week go with my MSI GD65 I'm either going to give it the thumbs up or down.

The upgrade to Sandy Bridge can be as cheap as $350-450 if you can scavenge parts from previous builds. I would certainly have a go at clocking your current ram before buying new ram. Sandy performs well even with loose timings.
yeah,but this isnt a upgrade per say, its more of a backup/for benching only rig.

ive got my x58 rig im 100% happy with, i just want to add some more stuff to it and ill be set not having to upgrade for a couple of years..
__________________
DESKTOP:980X|NHD14|UD7|12GB XMS3|3x1TB WD BK|500GB evo|GTX480 SLI|Xonar DX|3xU2711|HAF X|RM850|Win7|G500|G510|HD 280 Pro
BENCH:3570K|TRUE|Z77 OCF|36GB Raptor|HyperX 2K|9600GT|Gigabench|AX1200
Mobile:Samsung Galaxy S4, Huawei Y550 (backup)
Guitars: LP '60 CS,Marshall Class5,Ashton Acoustic,DRW Dreambird CS
Jimba86 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 7th December 2011, 11:12 AM   #92
Ando420
Member
 
Ando420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 1,177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimba86 View Post
ive got my x58 rig im 100% happy with, i just want to add some more stuff to it and ill be set not having to upgrade for a couple of years..
LOL - thats what they all say
Ando420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2011, 11:15 AM   #93
Marksman X
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Victoria
Posts: 1,831
Default

Anyone got a GDDR5 GTS450 they want to sell me (cheaply )? It would seem that I have a GDDR3 and a GDDR5 one
__________________
Main: i5 3570K | XSPC RASA | RX240 + RX120 | ASRock z77 extreme4 | 2x HIS 7950 3gb | 16gb 1600mhz XMS3 | 1TB WD Green | Sandisk 120gb SSD | 850w Silverstone Strider | Fractal Design Arc Mid.
Server: i5 2500K | ASrock Extreme4 | 650w Silverstone Strider | 8gb 1600mhz XMS3 | 7TB WD green's | 30gb Kingston SSD OS drive | NZXT Tempest | Zalman bay converters | Win7+pimped MCE.
Marksman X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2011, 11:25 AM   #94
Jimba86
Member
 
Jimba86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane 4179
Posts: 1,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ando420 View Post
LOL - thats what they all say
my last rig lasted me 4 years...
__________________
DESKTOP:980X|NHD14|UD7|12GB XMS3|3x1TB WD BK|500GB evo|GTX480 SLI|Xonar DX|3xU2711|HAF X|RM850|Win7|G500|G510|HD 280 Pro
BENCH:3570K|TRUE|Z77 OCF|36GB Raptor|HyperX 2K|9600GT|Gigabench|AX1200
Mobile:Samsung Galaxy S4, Huawei Y550 (backup)
Guitars: LP '60 CS,Marshall Class5,Ashton Acoustic,DRW Dreambird CS
Jimba86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2011, 11:37 AM   #95
Ando420
Member
 
Ando420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 1,177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimba86 View Post
my last rig lasted me 4 years...
WOW - nice! I havent had a rig together for more then 2 weeks for a year or more lol.

I had a dvd I wanted to watch the other day and it was in a format that wouldnt play in ANY of my dvd players so I had to mash together a rig on the bench just to watch it lol

Plus i put a rig in a case for the fisrt time in a year or more the other day and pulled it out and sold it a week later - not doing that again anytime soon lol. they work on the bench just the same as in a case lol
Ando420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2011, 11:44 AM   #96
Jimba86
Member
 
Jimba86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane 4179
Posts: 1,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ando420 View Post
WOW - nice! I havent had a rig together for more then 2 weeks for a year or more lol.

I had a dvd I wanted to watch the other day and it was in a format that wouldnt play in ANY of my dvd players so I had to mash together a rig on the bench just to watch it lol

Plus i put a rig in a case for the fisrt time in a year or more the other day and pulled it out and sold it a week later - not doing that again anytime soon lol. they work on the bench just the same as in a case lol
yeah..ive only had 3 computers ever...so because my current is my first "custom" rig im making it last by maxxing it out.
__________________
DESKTOP:980X|NHD14|UD7|12GB XMS3|3x1TB WD BK|500GB evo|GTX480 SLI|Xonar DX|3xU2711|HAF X|RM850|Win7|G500|G510|HD 280 Pro
BENCH:3570K|TRUE|Z77 OCF|36GB Raptor|HyperX 2K|9600GT|Gigabench|AX1200
Mobile:Samsung Galaxy S4, Huawei Y550 (backup)
Guitars: LP '60 CS,Marshall Class5,Ashton Acoustic,DRW Dreambird CS
Jimba86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2011, 12:20 PM   #97
Chaffe
Member
 
Chaffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Shitney
Posts: 1,380
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimba86 View Post
yeah..ive only had 3 computers ever...so because my current is my first "custom" rig im making it last by maxxing it out.
My first custom rig lasted about a month before I changed a part on it (had a few parts all die ~ my money is on my incompetance / hasty couriering due to floods). 4 months later I changed motherboard and since then I've been swaping and changing stuff pretty much every week. My Rigs have at best Bench stability .

I agree with the having a full second computer once you start buying custom parts. Having 100% redundancy of parts really helps when you need to test parts.

If I get into subzero that will no doubt change to 200% redundancy. Natural progression I give Jimba about 3 months tops before he starts chopping and changing shit on a regular basis.




Muz you still looking to do a group buy for subzero gear from kingpin?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by sir_bazz View Post
First rule about the old Russian guy is we don't talk about the old Russian guy.

Remember 88 and Xoameister who used to post here? Well they talked about the old Russian guy.
Chaffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2011, 12:25 PM   #98
Jimba86
Member
 
Jimba86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane 4179
Posts: 1,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaffe View Post
I give Jimba about 3 months tops before he starts chopping and changing shit on a regular basis.
damm i so wanna sig that...

thats the reason i got the case, so i can one "main" rig for work/gaming etc and one bench/test rig..

that way i get the best of both worlds..
__________________
DESKTOP:980X|NHD14|UD7|12GB XMS3|3x1TB WD BK|500GB evo|GTX480 SLI|Xonar DX|3xU2711|HAF X|RM850|Win7|G500|G510|HD 280 Pro
BENCH:3570K|TRUE|Z77 OCF|36GB Raptor|HyperX 2K|9600GT|Gigabench|AX1200
Mobile:Samsung Galaxy S4, Huawei Y550 (backup)
Guitars: LP '60 CS,Marshall Class5,Ashton Acoustic,DRW Dreambird CS

Last edited by Jimba86; 7th December 2011 at 12:27 PM.
Jimba86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2011, 12:36 PM   #99
Ando420
Member
 
Ando420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 1,177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimba86 View Post
damm i so wanna sig that...

thats the reason i got the case, so i can one "main" rig for work/gaming etc and one bench/test rig..

that way i get the best of both worlds..
Yeah I tried that and always ended up taking parts out and putting parts in to test stuff from other rigs and it was just easier to pull it down lol

I have have enough benching boards (most subzero prep) boards for about 6 rigs enough ram for 5 or 6 rigs and enough CPUs for 15 or more lol

Basically I can build/test whatever I want with backups lol it's easier to not have them in a main rig
Ando420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2011, 12:55 PM   #100
t8y
Member
 
t8y's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SA, 5011
Posts: 4,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d1ng0d4n View Post
I'm sure t8y will have a bit to say about ROG Boards
yep.. i wont go on about it but ill just say personally, im going to avoid asus for a generation or so.

thinking about returning to SB or going x58 along with you (might be beneficial to us both).
gigabyte or MSI are getting my dollars next time around though. thought about asrock but given they are just the flaky offspring of asus... pass
__________________
| hwbot | steam | battlefield |
t8y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2011, 3:16 PM   #101
gazza30 Thread Starter
Member
 
gazza30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: FNQ
Posts: 1,118
Default

Benched quite a few giga boards and love em been looking at some Evga boards if i was gunna go 1155 but its hard to walk to away from gear that works well as is tough as nails, 1155 UD7 hmm num num
gazza30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2011, 3:29 PM   #102
Jimba86
Member
 
Jimba86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane 4179
Posts: 1,812
Default

guess what came in the mail today?

i got that awsome case that i got from SYF karma

with a good clean it will all spiffy ready for whatever i decide to put in there..

im thinking a p67-ud7+2500K setup..
__________________
DESKTOP:980X|NHD14|UD7|12GB XMS3|3x1TB WD BK|500GB evo|GTX480 SLI|Xonar DX|3xU2711|HAF X|RM850|Win7|G500|G510|HD 280 Pro
BENCH:3570K|TRUE|Z77 OCF|36GB Raptor|HyperX 2K|9600GT|Gigabench|AX1200
Mobile:Samsung Galaxy S4, Huawei Y550 (backup)
Guitars: LP '60 CS,Marshall Class5,Ashton Acoustic,DRW Dreambird CS
Jimba86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2011, 4:04 PM   #103
snappy1
Member
 
snappy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Benching
Posts: 4,165
Default

Was that the Giga bench station? I was about to offer on it when it had just sold....
snappy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2011, 4:08 PM   #104
aussie-revhead
Member
 
aussie-revhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St Clair 2759
Posts: 18,308
Default

Hey does anyone have a link to a good guide for mobo prep for sub-zero? Its only SS so wont be super cold. I have read the basics before but I want to get it right the first time. I have PCB laquer, liquid electrical tape and eraser, do you guys still fill the socket with dilectric grease?

__________________
Bench 1- Asus Rampage 5 Extreme- 5960x - 32gb of Samsung B die DDR4- 2x TITAN Xp - Intel 600P m.2 512GB - Enermax Revo1250 - water cooled tech bench - QNIX 2560x1440 screen @ 100Hz - Aten 120Hz KVM
Netbox - Dell 990 SFF - 2500 - 16GB ram - gtx750Ti - 240GB SSD - 2TB green
Current vehicles- Black 2007 ZX14 - VE V8 Calais (wifes car) - VN SS (for sale)
aussie-revhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2011, 4:22 PM   #105
snappy1
Member
 
snappy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Benching
Posts: 4,165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aussie-revhead View Post
do you guys still fill the socket with dilectric grease?
Not for ss.... for ss I can get away with just eraser, for LN2 just PCB laquer and eraser

After I got fatguys ss , Alba gave me a run down on the phone, fatguy pm'd me some advice and iirc I looked at this...http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...24-7-Phase-Use Wasn't that one, it's from 2010

If the board is just on the bench, go for short periods, 1-2 hours, shutdown and strip it afterwards, you'll see if any moisture made it through your insulation and the more you insulate the better and faster you are

Last edited by snappy1; 7th December 2011 at 4:29 PM.
snappy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
extreme, hwbot, subzero

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 5:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!