Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Overclocking & Hardware

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 4th March 2017, 11:33 AM   #3031
Ratzz
Member
 
Ratzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cheltenham East 3192
Posts: 5,426
Default

I've been trying to get something competitive happening here, but fucked if I know how you guys are doing so fast

I thought these were pretty tight.. what can I do to improve my time?

Ram is G-Skill Trident F4-3200C15 16GTZ


Click to view full size!
__________________
Don't mess with me. I can hurt you so fast you won't even feel it.

My Rig- Nokia 830, with silicone jacket upgrade.
Ratzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 9:31 AM   #3032
Ratzz
Member
 
Ratzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cheltenham East 3192
Posts: 5,426
Default

Same RAM, even tighter timings.


Click to view full size!


What am I doing wrong? Do I need more speed, looser timings? Are there other settings which will make all the difference?

I don't get how I can be more than a minute behind what appear to be similar settings?
__________________
Don't mess with me. I can hurt you so fast you won't even feel it.

My Rig- Nokia 830, with silicone jacket upgrade.
Ratzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 9:52 AM   #3033
zeropluszero
Member
 
zeropluszero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 3132
Posts: 5,886
Default

Read through THIS, you need XP for the first thing.
__________________
TeamAU
Quote:
Originally Posted by shane41
Another freezer's words of wisdom
zeropluszero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 10:03 AM   #3034
Ratzz
Member
 
Ratzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cheltenham East 3192
Posts: 5,426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeropluszero View Post
Read through THIS, you need XP for the first thing.
Cool, that's helpful. Anyone got a link I can download a clean copy of XP from?
I threw out all my copies years ago..
__________________
Don't mess with me. I can hurt you so fast you won't even feel it.

My Rig- Nokia 830, with silicone jacket upgrade.
Ratzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 10:06 AM   #3035
zeropluszero
Member
 
zeropluszero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 3132
Posts: 5,886
Default

https://barbonenet.wordpress.com/201...p-for-superpi/
https://barbonenet.wordpress.com/201...-my-xp-spi-os/

I havent used them, but I'd say there's a good chance most of the tweaks are already present in these.

Also, this is well worth setting up on a haswell or older system, as I expect you'll have a fair bit of difficulty setting up on skylake/kaby
__________________
TeamAU
Quote:
Originally Posted by shane41
Another freezer's words of wisdom
zeropluszero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 10:31 AM   #3036
headin2001
Member
 
headin2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 2,977
Default

I use those that Zero linked. Works well on all platforms I've tried.
headin2001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 11:25 AM   #3037
newlife
Member
 
newlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 2,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeropluszero View Post

Also, this is well worth setting up on a haswell or older system, as I expect you'll have a fair bit of difficulty setting up on skylake/kaby
Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't it a matter of having a board with 3rd party sata so you can use ide and having a xp compatible USB card
newlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 11:35 AM   #3038
Ratzz
Member
 
Ratzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cheltenham East 3192
Posts: 5,426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeropluszero View Post
https://barbonenet.wordpress.com/201...p-for-superpi/
https://barbonenet.wordpress.com/201...-my-xp-spi-os/

I havent used them, but I'd say there's a good chance most of the tweaks are already present in these.

Also, this is well worth setting up on a haswell or older system, as I expect you'll have a fair bit of difficulty setting up on skylake/kaby
Damn, the only rigs in the house are a z270 and a haswell B board. Not going to get much out of that. I'll muddle through with kaby unless I see a cheap haswell rig around.
__________________
Don't mess with me. I can hurt you so fast you won't even feel it.

My Rig- Nokia 830, with silicone jacket upgrade.
Ratzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 11:37 AM   #3039
zeropluszero
Member
 
zeropluszero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 3132
Posts: 5,886
Default

no no, I'm saying use the haswell system to setup the operating system, then plug the hdd into your z270 system
__________________
TeamAU
Quote:
Originally Posted by shane41
Another freezer's words of wisdom
zeropluszero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 12:51 PM   #3040
Ratzz
Member
 
Ratzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cheltenham East 3192
Posts: 5,426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeropluszero View Post
no no, I'm saying use the haswell system to setup the operating system, then plug the hdd into your z270 system
Ok I'm with you now. I'll give it a shot
__________________
Don't mess with me. I can hurt you so fast you won't even feel it.

My Rig- Nokia 830, with silicone jacket upgrade.
Ratzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 8:13 PM   #3041
headin2001
Member
 
headin2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 2,977
Default

That is should work on both IDE comparable and Xchi like current Asus. I have it running on my MOCF and Asus boards.
headin2001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2017, 9:23 PM   #3042
newlife
Member
 
newlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 2,116
Default

What kind of difference does xp vs 10 have? Because Chew showed Zen doing around 8m 36s @ 4016mhz
newlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2017, 11:39 PM   #3043
Chilli-Man
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Melbourne, Vic
Posts: 346
Default

Finally decided I should get my act together and try to figure out SPi

Chilli-Man - 7M 20.719 {Pentium G3258}, Ram @ 1437 9-12-12-16-106-1T - Gigabyte Z97X-SOC FORCE LN2 X04

Chilli-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2017, 2:43 AM   #3044
Ratzz
Member
 
Ratzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cheltenham East 3192
Posts: 5,426
Default

I thought I'd have another go at making this work, the instructions in the videos on the links zeropluszero posted awhile ago just don't compute in my head.

I've just been watching the first video again, it still makes no sense, but I noticed something I thought a little weird. The guy is running a 6700K with DDR3. Since I'm aware of only a handful of low end 100 Skylake boards that support DDR3, I'm assuming you don't even need a decent chipset for this?

Even his ram looks like it's only 1866, and his timings are nothing special.

What's the big factor, apart from the stripped OS?
__________________
Don't mess with me. I can hurt you so fast you won't even feel it.

My Rig- Nokia 830, with silicone jacket upgrade.

Last edited by Ratzz; 9th August 2017 at 2:46 AM.
Ratzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2017, 4:33 AM   #3045
Ratzz
Member
 
Ratzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cheltenham East 3192
Posts: 5,426
Default

I figured it's easier to do it step by step

Using my Kaby rig:

*Downloaded Barbonets version of XP.

*Hooked up a formatted 120GB SSD via a USB adapter. It's just the interface board/sockets between SATA and USB from a cannibalised external 2.5" drive.

*Used Acronis to restore Barnonets XP to the SSD, as per his instructions.

*Rebooted, F8 to boot to the SSD, booted into the XP splash screen immediately, then went into a hardware blue screen just as fast.

*Rinse and repeat.

*Thought OK, its XP, maybe USB 3.0 is a bit of a hard ask. The adapter is plugged into my USB 3.0 hub, which is plugged into a USB 3.0 port on my PC.

Plugged the adapter directly into USB 2.0 on the PC instead.

*Same result. Booted into the XP splash screen, then blue screened immediately.

Bored with this. Tomorrow I'll hook it up to the mobo via SATA instead. Obvious first port of call, remove the need for USB drivers. XP has SATA drivers, I'm hoping they work.

Any further suggestions beyond that? I know it was suggested I set it up with Haswell but I haven't actually done anything to it yet. It should at least boot?
__________________
Don't mess with me. I can hurt you so fast you won't even feel it.

My Rig- Nokia 830, with silicone jacket upgrade.

Last edited by Ratzz; 11th August 2017 at 4:49 AM.
Ratzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!