Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Overclocking & Hardware

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29th April 2012, 8:17 PM   #76
Uncle-Fester
Member
 
Uncle-Fester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perth W.A
Posts: 826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olle_34 View Post
Your not alone,2 days for 6/10th's of a second.New install (how do you install xp sp3 ? I kept getting blue screens on install so i kept with win 7) Thats all she's got capt'n

image
if you want to use xp you have to select ide mode in bios , if left on ahci it will bsod
__________________
www.tssurvey.com.au
Over 25 grand worth of successfull Sales on OCAU
Uncle-Fester is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 29th April 2012, 8:18 PM   #77
jjjc_93
Member
 
jjjc_93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,095
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olle_34 View Post
Your not alone,2 days for 6/10th's of a second.New install (how do you install xp sp3 ? I kept getting blue screens on install so i kept with win 7) Thats all she's got capt'n
Change SATA mode to IDE for XP.
__________________
Team.AU
jjjc_93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2012, 10:08 PM   #78
Spl@
Member
 
Spl@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Posts: 399
Default

Yay, I want to play this game too
I'm more of a skt A Overclocker, intel is very new to me, this is what I have so far

I hope 3977mhz is ok, and not too low
I will try get it closer to 4. Just hard to do that and keep the ram stable hehe


Click to view full size!



About the 4ghz limit that has been set, I have a PII 940BE sitting across the room from me that maxes out at about 3.7-3.8, can we lower the clock for PII's?


edit, got to a proper 4ghz, and a faster time


Click to view full size!




Quote:
Originally Posted by Olle_34 View Post
Your not alone,2 days for 6/10th's of a second.New install (how do you install xp sp3 ? I kept getting blue screens on install so i kept with win 7) Thats all she's got capt'n

image
I was just thinking the same, nice thread here... not about highest clocks which is nice. I think I'll drop a spare hdd in and load up XP. How do ssd's fare in XP btw?
__________________
Follow me as I stumble through learning the basics of overclocking!
Bean on Ocaholic

Last edited by Spl@; 29th April 2012 at 10:53 PM. Reason: added info, Yet more info and a quote for good measure
Spl@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2012, 5:37 PM   #79
t8y
Member
 
t8y's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SA, 5011
Posts: 4,197
Default

another one from me, this time its some initial testing of my new 3770k and tridentX 2400 memory, that both arrived today.
motherboard (g1 sniper m3) courtesy of gigabytes recent z77 comp, quite like it for a gamers board (this may change when i go subzero on it...)

8m.2.359s

Click to view full size!


seems much more efficient, have only just done clean install of xp sp3, tweaked "the basics" in the OS, and havnt really touched the memory at all.
so, hopefully theres much more to come from this system

edit: theres more left in the bclk but its inconsistent on what it will work at. wont bother with explanation, will be a case of tl;dr lol.
lets just say this CPU is a mixed bag, so far. glad i have another one already coming (3570k, though).

any tips on subtimings that seem to affect this bench more than others, or any other tweaks i should be trying (maybe i should learn japanese? ) appreciated
i feel like theres still a lot i could improve (with my SB and lynnefield scores, i mean, not just this one)

likewise, glad to share any of my tweaks, if asked.
__________________
| hwbot | steam | battlefield |

Last edited by t8y; 4th May 2012 at 8:35 PM.
t8y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2012, 11:09 PM   #80
youngpro
Member
 
youngpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,443
Default

im loving how this thread is developing

ive got some subzero benching im focusing on, but when im finished ill work on 4ghz ivy low clock score
__________________
My blog: http://metasplo.it
Follow me on twitter @teamau
Team AU Overclocking Blog - Team AU Facebook
youngpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2012, 11:56 PM   #81
dinos22
OCAU Sponsor
 
dinos22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12,258
Default

i had a play today which you guys should be able to reach with sniper's tips form the other thread. nothing too crazy here but i will freeze the ram soon to see how that goes

i reckon try get it dead on 4GHz for easier comparison.



if you were wondering how much 100MHz in CPU improves the score check it out!




Here is what it looks like with high CAS9 clock on Gskill Trident X ram at 4.1GHz




Here is what CAS9 looks like at 6GHz to give you a rough idea

__________________
dinos22 - Team.AU
GIGABYTE

Last edited by dinos22; 5th May 2012 at 12:04 AM.
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 12:48 AM   #82
t8y
Member
 
t8y's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SA, 5011
Posts: 4,197
Default

cheers dino, similar/same gear there so that will make a good reference point for me
struggled to get my kit happy at 2600mhz today, though only spent about 20mins on it (total, between 2 mem kits) before moving onto determining max bclk instead.

with the gskill comp having a 4ghz limited superpi (8m) round, guessing tweaks shared in here will be few and far between for a while
__________________
| hwbot | steam | battlefield |
t8y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 9:58 AM   #83
dinos22
OCAU Sponsor
 
dinos22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12,258
Default

most tweaks on superpi have been discussed to death on so many forums, it's not rocket science any more and tweaks dont really do a lot for efficiency any more, it's just about good system tuning and then a bit with tweaks
__________________
dinos22 - Team.AU
GIGABYTE
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2012, 12:01 AM   #84
jjjc_93
Member
 
jjjc_93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,095
Default

Thread Ressuuurrrrection. Let's see some tight 32m runs guys, best way to learn is through practice.

I had a bit of a play with Ivy tonight and will have more of a play during the week. Think my OS and Waza method needs a little work, can't touch Dinos at similar settings yet. Made some tertiary timings changes too, shaved a little time off there. There's more than what gtl shows.

I know I'm a little over 4ghz here, didn't notice until I looked at the screenshot, will back off for future runs.

__________________
Team.AU
jjjc_93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2012, 4:52 PM   #85
robbo2
Member
 
robbo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,420
Default

This thread needs more love!
__________________
Disrespect your surroundings.
robbo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2012, 5:34 PM   #86
MDewMadOScar
Member
 
MDewMadOScar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mildura, Australia
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbo2 View Post
This thread needs more love!
I'll have some 750 runs up soon
__________________
i7 920 4.2@1.2 - Gene III - GTX780 - 6GB Corsair Doms- EVO Series 250GB - OCZ ZX 850 - Corsair 350D
MDewMadOScar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2012, 5:41 PM   #87
Chaffe
Member
 
Chaffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Shitney
Posts: 1,356
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbo2 View Post
This thread needs more love!
So true Robbo

I've updated everything now as well so keep the submits coming boys
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by sir_bazz View Post
First rule about the old Russian guy is we don't talk about the old Russian guy.

Remember 88 and Xoameister who used to post here? Well they talked about the old Russian guy.
Chaffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2012, 11:59 AM   #88
robbo2
Member
 
robbo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,420
Default

A yorkfield time while I have the chip nice and cold

__________________
Disrespect your surroundings.
robbo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 6:04 PM   #89
kazen
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: 3147
Posts: 751
Default

i'll have to be giving this a go shortly, got holidays now.
anyone able to send me a copy of the OCX tweaker?

and of course, anyone wanna tell me all their OS tweaks so i can get down to buisness on subtimings? :P
kazen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 6:18 PM   #90
Jimba86
Member
 
Jimba86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane 4179
Posts: 1,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kazen View Post
i'll have to be giving this a go shortly, got holidays now.
anyone able to send me a copy of the OCX tweaker?

and of course, anyone wanna tell me all their OS tweaks so i can get down to buisness on subtimings? :P
Grab this CD full of awesomeness:

http://occlub.ru/fajlovyj-arkhiv/748...-i-monitoringa

All the overclocking programs you'll need all on one CD

Have fun
__________________
DESKTOP:980X|UD7|12GB XMS3|3x1TB WD BK|500GB evo|7850 2GB|Xonar DX|3xU2711|HAF X|RM850|Win7|G500|G510|HD 280 Pro
BENCH:3570K|NHD14|Z77 OCF|36GB Raptor|Corsair GTX3|9600GT|Gigabench|AX1200
Mobile:Samsung Galaxy S4, Huawei Y550 (backup)
Guitars: LP '60 CS,Marshall Class5,Ashton Acoustic,DRW Dreambird CS
Jimba86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!