Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > PC Games > MMOs

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th March 2013, 5:30 PM   #76
SenorGrande
Member
 
SenorGrande's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6,831
Default

Ok... so does anyone here have the P-38? If so, why the fuck is it so god damned slow!! I have had utter shitbox soviet planes catching me while flying straight and level at full throttle in what should be one of the fastest prop-driven planes in the entire game! Ugh.

Also, I have switched from joystick/rudder pedals to a keyboard & mouse... its ridiculous how easy it is to fly with a mouse versus a stick. Second round of using keyboard & mouse I got 8 air to air kills... Only thing that shits me is the 'instructor' mode - any way to turn this off without going to the 'realistic' controls (which seem to be total pants)?
SenorGrande is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 18th March 2013, 9:32 AM   #77
Brass Em
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 228
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SenorGrande View Post
I have had utter UBER soviet planes catching me while flying straight and level at full throttle in what should be one of the fastest prop-driven planes in the entire game!
- Fixed.

You need the improved engine and air resistance mods for the P-38, plus a healthy height advantage for BnZ.
__________________
i7_3930K@3.2Ghz&H100liquid|ASUSP9X79Deluxe&GTX680/OC|32GBGSkillPC2400|2TBRaid0|Antec1200&1200WTruPwr |ASUSGV278H_3D|SBX_FiT_Pro|TurtlebeachDPX21|Win7_ 64U|G_15&G_25|TrackIR5|MSFFB2|CHPROThrottle|Saitek Pedals|VRinsightFMyoke_modified|MCPIIBoeingcombo&C DUII|GoFlightThrottle|ArduinoUno&MegaI/F's|SAASseat.

Last edited by Brass Em; 18th March 2013 at 10:08 AM.
Brass Em is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2013, 10:11 AM   #78
DivHunter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r8response View Post
Which is why I said you can fly any plane you have in your HANGAR during a battle.

You misread what I posted.
The hangar is when you aren't in battle.



Quote:
Originally Posted by SenorGrande View Post
Ok... so does anyone here have the P-38? If so, why the fuck is it so god damned slow!! I have had utter shitbox soviet planes catching me while flying straight and level at full throttle in what should be one of the fastest prop-driven planes in the entire game! Ugh.

Also, I have switched from joystick/rudder pedals to a keyboard & mouse... its ridiculous how easy it is to fly with a mouse versus a stick. Second round of using keyboard & mouse I got 8 air to air kills... Only thing that shits me is the 'instructor' mode - any way to turn this off without going to the 'realistic' controls (which seem to be total pants)?
P-38 is currently no good in arcade and Joystick support is pretty poor so unless you are playing FRB you might as well use mouse aim. Use the keyboard to pull harder turns etc than moving the mouse will generally let you do.

Buy up all the planes and Expert etc that you can, big economy changes coming for 1.29.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpw007 View Post
So gay in my mouth
DivHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2013, 11:12 AM   #79
r8response
Member
 
r8response's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 6,293
Default

Eh i give up.
r8response is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2013, 4:01 PM   #80
bomblol
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Darwin
Posts: 189
Default

1.29 notes that are out look the goods.
New ammo types, new aircraft, couldnt find much info on the reworked economy but should be interesting!
__________________
i5 2500k @4.5 | Gigabyte Z68X-DS3R | MSI HD6970OC | Corsair 750W PSU | 8gb G.Skill Sniper 12800
bomblol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2013, 4:33 PM   #81
DivHunter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bomblol View Post
1.29 notes that are out look the goods.
New ammo types, new aircraft, couldnt find much info on the reworked economy but should be interesting!
Dev server also has premium planes with jacked up prices. La-5FN over 5000 GE.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpw007 View Post
So gay in my mouth
DivHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2013, 7:46 PM   #82
SenorGrande
Member
 
SenorGrande's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6,831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DivHunter View Post
P-38 is currently no good in arcade and Joystick support is pretty poor so unless you are playing FRB you might as well use mouse aim. Use the keyboard to pull harder turns etc than moving the mouse will generally let you do.

Buy up all the planes and Expert etc that you can, big economy changes coming for 1.29.
I've heard that the p38 is a bit of a shitter currently, unfortunately.

But anyway, I got the P-47D last night and wow its fucking awesome. I just wish the FM would adjust when you release your bombs/rockets so that the weight is removed... I've read that currently the FM doesn't change after dropping payloads so it's like flying with bombs the entire time. Maybe this intentional, maybe not but its kind of annoying launching your salvo of rockets then going off to do some air-to-air while they rearm only to find the plane handles just the same as before you did.
SenorGrande is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 12:47 PM   #83
DivHunter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,860
Default

The WT forums are being clogged with scrub's opinions because stats are not easily available.

like Warpig777, showing all the signs of being a baddie with a severe case of Dunning-Kruger.

Went to the trouble of checking - 506 matches, 1727 flyouts for 468 air kills and 1421 ground. That's bad no matter which way you look at it.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpw007 View Post
So gay in my mouth
DivHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 3:41 PM   #84
r8response
Member
 
r8response's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 6,293
Default

1.29 patch just went live.

3.4gb download.
r8response is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 5:18 PM   #85
hawks667
Member
 
hawks667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Kilsyth
Posts: 1,471
Default

So sloowwwwwwwww
__________________
Every meal is a banquet, every pay cheque is a fortune.
hawks667 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 5:54 PM   #86
kesawi
Member
 
kesawi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,623
Default

Can the upgrade be downloaded as a torrent?
__________________
Go dark against data retention - getup.to/WlCVCedxtenY
Main: i7-3770K@4.3GHz, MSI GTX780 Lightning, Fractal R5 VM Lab: Intel Xeon E3-1240 v3, Intel Server Board S1200V3RPL, Norco RPC-230
NAS: Synology DS1513+, 3 x Hitachi HGST 3.5 NAS 3TB 0S03662 PDC: Intel NUC Kit DN2820FYKH Firewall: HP ProLiant DL320e Gen8
kesawi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 6:05 PM   #87
r8response
Member
 
r8response's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 6,293
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kesawi View Post
Can the upgrade be downloaded as a torrent?
Yes. If you have the game installed, load up the launcher and there is a link at the bottom "Download torrent"

But it's never been fast for me.
r8response is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 6:29 PM   #88
SenorGrande
Member
 
SenorGrande's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6,831
Default

I'm just about done patching... 10 mins left then I'll give it a go
SenorGrande is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 10:02 PM   #89
kesawi
Member
 
kesawi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,623
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r8response View Post
Yes. If you have the game installed, load up the launcher and there is a link at the bottom "Download torrent"

But it's never been fast for me.
Saw that, but the text box that appears when I hover over it is for a full download of the game.
__________________
Go dark against data retention - getup.to/WlCVCedxtenY
Main: i7-3770K@4.3GHz, MSI GTX780 Lightning, Fractal R5 VM Lab: Intel Xeon E3-1240 v3, Intel Server Board S1200V3RPL, Norco RPC-230
NAS: Synology DS1513+, 3 x Hitachi HGST 3.5 NAS 3TB 0S03662 PDC: Intel NUC Kit DN2820FYKH Firewall: HP ProLiant DL320e Gen8
kesawi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 10:05 PM   #90
r8response
Member
 
r8response's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 6,293
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kesawi View Post
Saw that, but the text box that appears when I hover over it is for a full download of the game.
It'll still be faster than using the launcher download.
r8response is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 8:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!