Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 31st January 2014, 8:46 AM   #16
pcs
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 51
Default

ive got a couple of old sound blaster live pci cards if you guys want them pm me
pcs is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 31st January 2014, 9:11 AM   #17
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badmofo View Post
Ha, I have one of those Asaki VLB boards here too. Very cheap looking and wafer thin.

I might have a VLB board spare if either of these 2 work (haven't tested them for a while):

http://stason.org/TULARC/pc/motherbo...l#.UYReT7Ww18E

http://www.amoretro.de/2012/01/qdi-p...therboard.html

The only thing is that they have very slight signs of acid damage - I'm fussy so it can't be much or I would have chucked them by now.

Let me know if you're interested and I'll see if they work.
I think I'm just gonna give up with the Asaki board, I've not heard one nice thing said about them anywhere. I've checked out those two boards and they look okay, I'd be more inclined to go with the CH-491E, it should in theory work with a DX4100 Overdrive, but only having 30pin SIMMs is a bit of a let down, let me know how much you want for it, I'll hit up DonutKing too and see what he has.
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2014, 10:14 AM   #18
badmofo
Member
 
badmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adz View Post
I think I'm just gonna give up with the Asaki board, I've not heard one nice thing said about them anywhere. I've checked out those two boards and they look okay, I'd be more inclined to go with the CH-491E, it should in theory work with a DX4100 Overdrive, but only having 30pin SIMMs is a bit of a let down, let me know how much you want for it, I'll hit up DonutKing too and see what he has.
You could have it for free. Let me know if you're still interested after talking to DonutKing and I'll test it.
badmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2014, 8:36 AM   #19
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,003
Default

Spent most of yesterday, playing, or trying to, old DOS games. Managed to rip through Tyrian 2000 and also played a bit of Power at Sea on the C64!
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2014, 8:48 AM   #20
BuuBox
Member
 
BuuBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,684
Default

Picked up a Diamond Stealth 3D 2000 but it doesn't seem to work.

Doesn't display anything. But if I leave onboard video enabled, it lists the card as a network controller and assigns an IRQ. Odd. Based on this i tried a BIOS update to no avail.

Hoping just an incompatibility as I have no other PCI video cards to test with.
__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming, AMD FX-8350, 16GB DDR3, Sapphire Radeon R9 290, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, 2TB WD Black, EVGA 850W, Kogan 27"
Blast from the past: Shuttle HOT-591P, Cyrix MII-400GP, 64MB PC133, Voodoo Banshee, 16GB SSD, Creative Sound Blaster AWE64
Trades: Too many to list. Hundreds.
BuuBox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2014, 5:00 PM   #21
pfrcom
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 3114, Melbourne
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuuBox View Post
doesn't seem to work
Maybe the motherboard you're trying it with, is too new to be compatible ?

If it's new enough to have on-board video disable via firmware, likely too new
pfrcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2014, 4:01 PM   #22
Smokin Whale
Member
 
Smokin Whale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pacific Ocean off SC
Posts: 5,162
Default

I did not engage in any retro activity today.

Thanks for asking though.
__________________
New RIG!
AMD Athlon64 x2 4400+ S939 (stock), Gigabyte K8N-SLI, 4GB DDR1 RAM, ATI X1550 256mb + X300 128MB, 24GB SSD, Triple 17" 1280x1024 monitors, Linux Mint MATE 18.1 64bit
Smokin Whale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2014, 8:46 AM   #23
badmofo
Member
 
badmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 486
Default

I had a mental health day yesterday so spent a bit of time playing MegaRace - what an awful game! A classic example of a "CD-ROM multimedia game"; all multimedia, no game.

Then I broke out my 486DX2 66 and installed Links 386 Pro, which I've never played before. The DX2 handles it well but my mouse (serial 2 button Logitech) wasn't always registering my clicks, which of course had serious implications for the timing of my swing. I took out cards, fiddled with jumpers, tried a different mouse, but in the end it turned out to be the DOS Logitech driver. I tried CTMOUSE instead and bob was my uncle.

Great game that Links386 but too easy. I was able to par a hole using nothing but my driver and putter, and that was on 'pro' difficulty!
badmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2014, 9:51 AM   #24
DonutKing
Member
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tweed/Gold Coast
Posts: 1,024
Default

I worked until 3AM monday night on a scheduled outage, so I got to go home early yesterday. I set up my Gravis Ultrasound in my 486 box and watched a few scene demos.

This one wasn't bad: http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=52908

This one has some... interesting song lyrics http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=86

This one was used as a VGA torture test, http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=2048
I have a VLB ET4000W32/p and it wouldn't play a couple of parts. (UniVBE made one work but not all). It looks like a lot of old Amiga demos (which was the intended effect).

This one rips on the popular Amiga demo 'state of the art' - I got a bit of a laugh out of it http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=3850

and of course, the most well known/popular DOS demo of all, http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=63
and its predecessor http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=1274
DonutKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2014, 1:04 PM   #25
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,003
Default

Thought I'd play a bit of Pacific Air War Gold only to have my old CH Gamestick break! Opened it up and it looks like the plastic innards have finally worn out, anyone got any recommendations on where to find a decent replacement 15pin joystick?
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2014, 1:29 PM   #26
badmofo
Member
 
badmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 486
Default

The Ultrasound sounds like a fun card - I've never owned one. A future project me thinks if I can find a cheap one.

Re a descent gameport joystick - they do come up on eBay from time to time and are surprisingly cheap. I picked up a nice CH Flightstick recently for 10 bucks or something like that. I got a nice Thrustmaster HOTAS setup a while back for next to nothing too.

The MS Sidewinder 3D Pro is worth considering too - they look like arse but emulate both Thrustmaster and CH sticks and are very solid.
badmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2014, 5:43 PM   #27
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,003
Default

I concur, I'd love to get my hands on an Ultrasound one day!

On a positive note, having just spoken with the folks, it would seem there is a CH FlightStick sitting there doing nothing, fingers crossed it works.
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2014, 9:30 AM   #28
BuuBox
Member
 
BuuBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pfrcom View Post
Maybe the motherboard you're trying it with, is too new to be compatible ?

If it's new enough to have on-board video disable via firmware, likely too new
Yeah looks that way. I tried another PCI card (Matrox Millennium II) and it works fine. Windows 3.11 at 1600x1200 FTW...
__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming, AMD FX-8350, 16GB DDR3, Sapphire Radeon R9 290, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, 2TB WD Black, EVGA 850W, Kogan 27"
Blast from the past: Shuttle HOT-591P, Cyrix MII-400GP, 64MB PC133, Voodoo Banshee, 16GB SSD, Creative Sound Blaster AWE64
Trades: Too many to list. Hundreds.
BuuBox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2014, 7:16 PM   #29
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,003
Default

Found myself a Cyrix Mobile MII-333GP (4 x 66, 2.2v) today, wonder how it would go in my DOS box, may even be able to yield a small overclock just for fun
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2014, 8:34 AM   #30
BuuBox
Member
 
BuuBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adz View Post
Found myself a Cyrix Mobile MII-333GP (4 x 66, 2.2v) today, wonder how it would go in my DOS box, may even be able to yield a small overclock just for fun
Nice. I find the non Intel (or even AMD) CPUs the most interesting.

I had a Cyrix 6x86 PR166+ when they were first released. A great CPU for the price - although I did upgrade to a Pentium MMX for better gaming performance at some point, coupled with a Voodoo Banshee.

This website is a great read for old CPUs: http://redhill.net.au/c/c-9.html
__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming, AMD FX-8350, 16GB DDR3, Sapphire Radeon R9 290, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, 2TB WD Black, EVGA 850W, Kogan 27"
Blast from the past: Shuttle HOT-591P, Cyrix MII-400GP, 64MB PC133, Voodoo Banshee, 16GB SSD, Creative Sound Blaster AWE64
Trades: Too many to list. Hundreds.
BuuBox is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dos, mmx, pentium, retro

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!