Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22nd March 2014, 10:43 AM   #61
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 991
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mau1wurf1977 View Post
Started benchmarking with Slot 1 CPUs. Motherboard is an AOpen AX6BC. Nifty BIOS allows setting the FSB in the BIOS and makes it very easy to swap CPUs.

I'm doing two runs per CPU, one with a single card, then with SLI.

I want to not only show the CPU scaling with Slot 1 CPUs, but also the spread between single card and SLI.

Happy benchmarking days ahead
Really keen to see the results of this as my Voodoo II SLI rig is built around a Gigabyte BX2000+.
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 22nd March 2014, 1:26 PM   #62
Mau1wurf1977
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,711
Default

Ran into a glitch and got to start again. But no big deal, I want to make sure I have valid data.

Found a driver from Creative that allows you to disable SLI through the driver. This makes benchmarking quite easy.

The fastest CPUs I have is a P III 750 and a Celeron 900. Beyond that I will have to move the Socket 370 platform all they way up to a Tualatin.

After that maybe a S478 system with a Pentium 4, who knows how far these Voodoo 2 in SLI scale.
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2014, 9:07 PM   #63
Kafoopsy
Member
 
Kafoopsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Right Here!
Posts: 1,449
Default

Brother asked me if I still had Street Rod 2 which I did and discovered it didn't work under Windows XP so out came the P3 550 retro box and I played Street Rod 2! I have never managed to finish that game, the Moholland Drive is just too hard and I always crash!

And while I was at it, that system has a Voodoo2 12MB in it so I also played the 3Dfx version Need for Speed 2 which is significantly different to the standard versions. I could use SLI but that game doesn't need it.
__________________
I was a member of the THE SLOT-T PARTY!
I did have a: Tualatin Celeron 1.2 on MSI 6163 Slot 1
My motto: Latest version of software is not always best.

Last edited by Kafoopsy; 23rd March 2014 at 9:15 PM.
Kafoopsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2014, 10:39 AM   #64
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 991
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mau1wurf1977 View Post
The fastest CPUs I have is a P III 750 and a Celeron 900. Beyond that I will have to move the Socket 370 platform all they way up to a Tualatin.
I'm running a PGA370 to Tualatin adapter on a PGA370 to slot 1 adapter for my Celery 1200, I've also got a PIII-S 1266 but I can't lock the PCI bus when I crank the BX2000+ to 133FSB. I was thinking of migrating all my voodoo gear to my Intel 850 based rig with a socket 423 P4 1.4 and RAMBUS.
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2014, 12:36 AM   #65
Mau1wurf1977
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,711
Default

Funny you mention P4. I find that the P4 isn't getting much love at the moment. Sure clock for clock it was slower compared to the Pentium III, but the platform was very mature and stable and boards and CPUs are cheap and very easy to source.

I will actually go straight to socket 478 because there are chipset with SATA support and I was surprised to find lowly clocked Willamatte and Nortwood CPUs for this socket.

There is a Willamatte 1.4 GHz and a Nortwood 1.6 GHz for the Socket 478. So I will be checking out these options, make a few videos and see if people warm up to building Pentium 4 machines instead of, more expensive and trickier, Tualatin beasts.
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2014, 7:46 AM   #66
DonutKing
Member
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tweed/Gold Coast
Posts: 1,000
Default

The Northwood 1.6 was a pretty legendary overclocker in its day.

I never had a P4, I stuck with Athlon XP during that time, first an 1800+ then a Barton 2800+. I went Core 2 Duo after that. A mate got a Willamette 1.5 with SDRAM and it was complete bollocks, a decent P3 wiped the floor with it.
DonutKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2014, 8:54 AM   #67
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 991
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonutKing View Post
The Northwood 1.6 was a pretty legendary overclocker in its day.

I never had a P4, I stuck with Athlon XP during that time, first an 1800+ then a Barton 2800+. I went Core 2 Duo after that. A mate got a Willamette 1.5 with SDRAM and it was complete bollocks, a decent P3 wiped the floor with it.
A Willamette paired with RDRAM is actaually quite a beast, I'm really impressed with the performance of mine, however, just like you, I was firmly in the AMD camp back then, starting with a T-bird 2400+, then going for a Barton 2500+, I got some really cool figures out of my 2500+ when I pushed the FSB beyond 200MHz, those were fun times.
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2014, 9:01 AM   #68
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 991
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mau1wurf1977 View Post
I will actually go straight to socket 478 because there are chipset with SATA support and I was surprised to find lowly clocked Willamatte and Nortwood CPUs for this socket.
I ended up jamming a Adaptec 1210SA card and my old 36GB WD Raptor in my P4 box, I've never seen Win98 boot so fast in my life However, your idea of a cheap 478 board and older 478 CPU might be a better way, I've also got a 875 based board sitting there doing very little that's paired with a 3.2GHz Prescott, now that runs hot!
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2014, 11:05 PM   #69
Mau1wurf1977
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,711
Default

What I like about the P4 is the stability and SATA. The 865 and 875 (quite hard to find boards) chipsets are really good.

Stick a 1.4 GHz P4 and see what happens.

I will definitely compare such a setup with a Socket 370 system because it interest me.



Got this Asrock 865 chipset board. I like how simple and clean it is. Big fan of Asrock. Seller wrapped it in paper and stuck it in a satchel

The board works fine, but the cooler snapped off.

Got some CPUs as well (3.0 and 3.2 Nortwood) and a lot slower ones underway. Quite excited to doing some more testing soon Got four more boards coming.

Last edited by Mau1wurf1977; 26th March 2014 at 11:48 PM.
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2014, 9:37 AM   #70
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 991
Default

Tidy board indeed! If you were a little closer I'd happily lend you my Asus 875 board to contribute to the cause
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2014, 9:46 AM   #71
BuuBox
Member
 
BuuBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,672
Default

I've always liked ASRock motherboards. Their weird combinations are funny: I had a 775 board with PCI-E and AGP, as well as DDR1 and DDR2. Amazingly, it was very stable at stock speeds.

I can't get over my hate for the P4 era though...

The only system that survived my P4 cull is a Compaq Evo D510. That's because it's quiet and stupidly reliable - you could leave it on indefinitely. No cursed capacitor affliction here. A complete slug even with a later 2.53 GHz CPU - it came stock with a ghastly Northwood 1.8 GHz. I swear my laptop at the time was quicker, an IBM T20 with a 1 GHz Pentium 3.
__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming, AMD FX-8350, 16GB DDR3, Sapphire Radeon R9 290, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, 2TB WD Black, EVGA 850W, Kogan 27"
Blast from the past: Shuttle HOT-591P, Cyrix MII-400GP, 64MB PC133, Voodoo Banshee, 16GB SSD, Creative Sound Blaster AWE64
Trades: Too many to list. Hundreds.

Last edited by BuuBox; 27th March 2014 at 10:00 AM.
BuuBox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2014, 10:02 AM   #72
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 991
Default

I can recall reading about that board on TH back when it first appeared, I was really put off by the VIA chipset as I'd had a rather bad run with VIA products at the time...
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2014, 10:25 AM   #73
BuuBox
Member
 
BuuBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adz View Post
I can recall reading about that board on TH back when it first appeared, I was really put off by the VIA chipset as I'd had a rather bad run with VIA products at the time...
Found it: http://www.legitreviews.com/asrock-7...ard-review_377

VIA was definitely cheap and cheerful at the time, but the board worked very well at stock speeds. It has absolutely no overclocking ability though.
__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming, AMD FX-8350, 16GB DDR3, Sapphire Radeon R9 290, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, 2TB WD Black, EVGA 850W, Kogan 27"
Blast from the past: Shuttle HOT-591P, Cyrix MII-400GP, 64MB PC133, Voodoo Banshee, 16GB SSD, Creative Sound Blaster AWE64
Trades: Too many to list. Hundreds.
BuuBox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2014, 3:51 PM   #74
Mau1wurf1977
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuuBox View Post
A complete slug even with a later 2.53 GHz CPU - it came stock with a ghastly Northwood 1.8 GHz. I swear my laptop at the time was quicker, an IBM T20 with a 1 GHz Pentium 3.
Well I looked at archived benchmarks and the P4 was not THAT bad. Depending on software it was actually quite good.

The worst I saw was a 1.4 P4 performing on the level of a 1GHz P3. Not a big deal when these days P4 chips are cheaps as chips
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2014, 12:53 AM   #75
Mau1wurf1977
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,711
Default

Got my P4 bench up and running.

Had massive issues getting the Voodoo cards going. In the end a newer driver fixed the issue. It's called "FastVoodoo2 V4.0 Gold Edition" and now everything is working fine.

I can tell you that a 1 GHz PIII is not too far from CPU maxing out Voodoo 2 SLI at 640 x 480.

I would love to test higher resolutions, but one of my cards has faulty memory, so 640 x 480 is the best. I haven't seen a cheap Monster 3D II for a long time. One day I will just have to bight the bullet.

DOS sound works fine through the Vortex 2 chip (Turtle Beach Montego II).



Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dos, mmx, pentium, retro

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 7:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!