Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29th March 2014, 1:49 AM   #76
SpudBoy
Member
 
SpudBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Under the Bed.
Posts: 5,231
Default

you never cease to make me jelly mau...

god id love an old voodoo2 rig. one of the only cards im missing. =x
__________________
Samsung XE700T1A :: i7 MacBook-Pro 2010 :: i7 2600k :: 16Gb ripjaws :: P67A-UD7 :: 4GB GTX680 FTW :: Xonar Essence STX :: Dell 2709W :: G9/G13/G19/Z4 :: Spectre/Marauder
Quote:
Life isn't fair, but the root password helps.
SpudBoy is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 29th March 2014, 10:57 AM   #77
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mau1wurf1977 View Post
I would love to test higher resolutions, but one of my cards has faulty memory, so 640 x 480 is the best. I haven't seen a cheap Monster 3D II for a long time. One day I will just have to bight the bullet.
I think I have a 12MB Monster II that's kinda dead, only thing I can recall being wrong with it is a resistor that's only half soldered on, you can have it if you want, assuming I can find it...
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2014, 11:52 AM   #78
Flamin Joe
Member
 
Flamin Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,671
Default

I've got a couple of Voodoo II's which I haven't got around to doing much with. One is a Monster 3D II and the other is a OEM Voodoo 2 12MB which is almost identical to the Monster 3D II except it uses Mosel RAM chips.

When I was playing around with them a while back I was having issues trying to get them to run in SLI so I might give those FastVoodoo2 drivers a go. Not sure what I'm going to do with them beyond that.
__________________
AtariPC.net
Atari PC | IBM Compatible Series

PC Big Box Game Collecting
My Collection
Flamin Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2014, 12:39 PM   #79
Mau1wurf1977
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adz View Post
I think I have a 12MB Monster II that's kinda dead, only thing I can recall being wrong with it is a resistor that's only half soldered on, you can have it if you want, assuming I can find it...
I will try and get it going. Got a solder station and all the gear

Please let me know if you find and I will send you a PM.
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2014, 4:24 PM   #80
Mau1wurf1977
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,706
Default






Last edited by Mau1wurf1977; 29th March 2014 at 9:30 PM.
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2014, 2:42 PM   #81
BuuBox
Member
 
BuuBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,684
Default

Set up a 386 today.

Joindata Systems G386K-B motherboard
Intel 386DX-33
IIT 387-33 coprocessor
8MB RAM
64KB cache
128MB Compact Flash


Click to view full size!


Needed some work - had to unsolder the leaking battery first. There was a bit of damage mostly around the external battery connector, so brushed away and cleaned the area. Currently using 2 x 1.8 volt AA lithium batteries (for now) on the external battery connector. Even my multimeter is the correct vintage...

Installed DOS 6.22 with Windows 3.11 and ran a few benchmarks. The ISA VGA card is fairly ordinary (Trident TVGA9000 512KB) so I'll have to find an ET4000 or similar.


Click to view full size!
__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming, AMD FX-8350, 16GB DDR3, Sapphire Radeon R9 290, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, 2TB WD Black, EVGA 850W, Kogan 27"
Blast from the past: Shuttle HOT-591P, Cyrix MII-400GP, 64MB PC133, Voodoo Banshee, 16GB SSD, Creative Sound Blaster AWE64
Trades: Too many to list. Hundreds.
BuuBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2014, 2:44 PM   #82
Mau1wurf1977
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,706
Default

Very nice
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2014, 2:44 PM   #83
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,003
Default

Cool vids! Makes me want to go and play Incoming and Unreal!
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2014, 2:46 PM   #84
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,003
Default

That's a nice looking 386 rig
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2014, 5:41 PM   #85
BuuBox
Member
 
BuuBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,684
Default

Thanks. Unfortunately the ISA VGA card it on it's last legs (screen keeps flickering). Any ideas where to find a relatively decent 1MB ISA video card?

Great videos again Mau1wurf1977. Also makes me want to play Unreal.
__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming, AMD FX-8350, 16GB DDR3, Sapphire Radeon R9 290, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, 2TB WD Black, EVGA 850W, Kogan 27"
Blast from the past: Shuttle HOT-591P, Cyrix MII-400GP, 64MB PC133, Voodoo Banshee, 16GB SSD, Creative Sound Blaster AWE64
Trades: Too many to list. Hundreds.

Last edited by BuuBox; 30th March 2014 at 5:43 PM.
BuuBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2014, 5:53 PM   #86
Mau1wurf1977
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,706
Default

You know what? I never played any of those games!

I had a "computer break" for 4 years after finishing school. So the last machine I had a was a PII 300 MHz with a Voodoo 2. After the "break" I was back with a P4 northwood 2.6 GHz and a Radeon 9800.

So I'm reliving this missed period

Buy yes, I hardly play the games. At the moment I find playing with the hardware so much fun.
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2014, 8:21 PM   #87
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,003
Default

I just fired up Unreal on my i7, seems to run okay, although I am waiting for the latest patch to download, hoping there will be a new renderer included as I'm pretty much stuck on software at the moment. I can recall being gobsmacked at the graphics when I played it for the first time, shame it feels kinda dated now when compared to modern FPS games...

Update...Much better with the new patch!
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State

Last edited by adz; 30th March 2014 at 9:22 PM.
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2014, 9:25 PM   #88
Flamin Joe
Member
 
Flamin Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuuBox View Post
Thanks. Unfortunately the ISA VGA card it on it's last legs (screen keeps flickering). Any ideas where to find a relatively decent 1MB ISA video card?
eBay is a bit hit and miss price wise so I gave these guys a go when I needed a couple of ISA video cards not too long ago. Great service, shipped nice and fast and more importantly worked. They have a shop in North Melbourne so even better for you they are local.

http://www.a1usedcomputers.com.au/sh...?idCategory=46

I grabbed one of the Tseng Labs ET4000AX 1Mb VGA Video Adapter for $15.00. Can't go wrong!
__________________
AtariPC.net
Atari PC | IBM Compatible Series

PC Big Box Game Collecting
My Collection
Flamin Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2014, 10:18 PM   #89
Mau1wurf1977
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adz View Post
I just fired up Unreal on my i7, seems to run okay, although I am waiting for the latest patch to download, hoping there will be a new renderer included as I'm pretty much stuck on software at the moment. I can recall being gobsmacked at the graphics when I played it for the first time, shame it feels kinda dated now when compared to modern FPS games...

Update...Much better with the new patch!
Is that this 227i patch?

I tried it on my P4 machine and it complained about the OS being too old

So it's a patch to get the game to work on modern machines right?
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2014, 9:46 AM   #90
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mau1wurf1977 View Post
Is that this 227i patch?

I tried it on my P4 machine and it complained about the OS being too old

So it's a patch to get the game to work on modern machines right?
Yeah, 227i is the one I installed. You will need at least the 224 official patch in order to install 227i. Once installed you have the choice of OpenGL, D3D 8 and 9. I ended up going with OpenGL as that's what it recommended for best quality. Playing it on a GTX680 @ 1920x1200 is certainly faster than a Voodoo II @ 800x600 as I had originally played it
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dos, mmx, pentium, retro

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 6:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!