Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
View Poll Results: What 8-bit Commodore machines do you have in your collection?
Commodore KIM-1 0 0%
Commodore PET/CBM 2 3.77%
Commodore CBM-II (B128/B256/128-80/256-80/500/600/610/700) 0 0%
Commodore MAX 0 0%
Commodore VIC-20 8 15.09%
Commodore 64 (The older brown fat model known as the "Breadbin") 29 54.72%
Commodore 64C (The newer beige slim model) 25 47.17%
Commodore 64GS 0 0%
Commodore SX-64 3 5.66%
Commodore Educator 64 0 0%
Commodore 16 3 5.66%
Commodore 116 (Cost-reduced version of the C16 sold only in Europe) 1 1.89%
Commodore Plus/4 4 7.55%
Commodore 128 7 13.21%
Commodore 128D 5 9.43%
Commodore 128DCR (Cost-reduced and bug-corrected version of the C128D) 2 3.77%
Commodore Prototype/Unreleased (C65/C900/LCD/Other) 0 0%
Commodore Emulator - I don't have real Commodore 8-bit machines anymore 9 16.98%
Commodore Emulator - I've never seen/owned real Commodore 8-bit machines, but wish I did! 1 1.89%
Commodore Candy - I thought Commodore was a car model...? 1 1.89%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 53. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th October 2015, 6:33 PM   #136
DonutKing
Member
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tweed/Gold Coast
Posts: 1,000
Default

There's quite a lot of Amiga/C64 games that use up for jump as most joysticks at the time only had a single button, used for fire or some other function.
I modded a 3 button Sega gamepad and hooked up one of the buttons to Up on the D-pad effectively giving me a jump button.
DonutKing is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 11th October 2015, 6:56 PM   #137
philscomputerlab
Member
 
philscomputerlab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonutKing View Post
There's quite a lot of Amiga/C64 games that use up for jump as most joysticks at the time only had a single button, used for fire or some other function.
I modded a 3 button Sega gamepad and hooked up one of the buttons to Up on the D-pad effectively giving me a jump button.
Nice, very clever idea
philscomputerlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2015, 2:35 PM   #138
Mickatroid
Member
 
Mickatroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,532
Default

My C64 reloaded has arrived. It is beautiful. Pictures of the setup will follow here or in a new thread.
Mickatroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2015, 2:36 PM   #139
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 48,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonutKing View Post
There's quite a lot of Amiga/C64 games that use up for jump as most joysticks at the time only had a single button, used for fire or some other function.
I modded a 3 button Sega gamepad and hooked up one of the buttons to Up on the D-pad effectively giving me a jump button.
There were even a few games that actually supported 2 button sticks/pads. I used a Megadrive pad for heaps of games on my Amiga.
__________________
this is who we are.
power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2015, 7:25 AM   #140
Mickatroid
Member
 
Mickatroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,532
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by power View Post
There were even a few games that actually supported 2 button sticks/pads. I used a Megadrive pad for heaps of games on my Amiga.
I never did it but contemplated a joystick which connected to both ports. Fire on port one is space bar, a very useful button to have on a controller for a lot of C64 games.
Mickatroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2015, 12:52 AM   #141
fabricator
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: adelaide
Posts: 853
Default

I've got a C64C listed in the for sale section. Not in the mood to deal with current Gumtree/Ebay 'issues'.
http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh...php?p=16935416

Cleaned up rather nicely, just needs a good home.
fabricator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2015, 5:33 PM   #142
cavanor
(Taking a Break)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 772
Default

C64 Reloaded are back in-stock at Individual Computers. Just ordered one myself.
cavanor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2015, 3:43 PM   #143
cavanor
(Taking a Break)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 772
Default

Just finished watching From Bedrooms to Billions. Great documentary on the 8bit era!

http://www.frombedroomstobillions.com/
cavanor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2015, 4:10 PM   #144
HyRax1
ˇViva la Resolutión!
 
HyRax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: At a desk. Distro:Ubuntu
Posts: 7,637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cavanor View Post
Just finished watching From Bedrooms to Billions. Great documentary on the 8bit era!

http://www.frombedroomstobillions.com/
Agreed. Currently awaiting them to complete the Amiga version of this series.
__________________
If practice makes perfect, and nobody's perfect, why practice?
HyRax1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2016, 10:48 AM   #145
badmofo
Member
 
badmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 444
Default

It's been quiet in here so excuse the lazy bump - gonna dump an oldish C64 update in here from another forum:

Santa left a C64 Music Maker under the tree for me this year! Thanks Santa!








In theory I should have just been able to plonk the keyboard over the C64, load the tape, and make music, but of course nothing’s ever that simple.

After my tape drive refused to work, I realised that JiffyDOS (a ROM replacement I’m using) kills the tape functionality stone cold. I’d been using the ROM overlay functionality of my 1541UII to load JiffyDOS and that can be turned on / off reasonably easily via the 1541UII’s on screen interface, but I thought it better to do it properly. So I de-soldered the ROM chip from the C64’s motherboard, installed a socket, and dropped in a JiffyDOS replacement ROM chip, which included a switch for flipping b/w JiffyDOS and the original C64 ROM (which of course includes the Datasette functionality).

I didn’t want to drill a hole in the C64’s case for the switch, but fortunately there existed a hole which accommodates an RF channel switch in some models. Mine didn’t have that switch and there was just enough room inside the RF box to fit the JiffyDOS switch, so I snuck it in there:






While I had the soldering iron out I decided to replace the mechanical bits of my tape drive, which were looking a little worse for wear and causing tape loads to be unreliable. Years ago I stashed away another tape drive which looked pristine, but which seemed to have a dodgy head, so I combined the electronics from my drive (PCB, heads, etc) and the mechanical bits from the second drive. After tuning the heads with the very excellent ‘Azimuth Head Alignment’ software, it works like a charm:




With that all done the Music Maker installed and loaded as advertised. No-one’s doing any serious composing on this thing of course but it works well and is fun to play. I was rocking a plausible rendition of ‘When I’m sixty-four’ within 15 mins and the kids gave it their seal of approval:



__________________
Life? Don't talk to me about life.
badmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2016, 8:06 PM   #146
Mickatroid
Member
 
Mickatroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,532
Default

Sweet as badmofo. Sweet as. It's great when the kids dig this stuff. My son is currently a bit of a a Pitstop nut at age five.
Mickatroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2016, 8:59 PM   #147
Flamin Joe
Member
 
Flamin Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,613
Default

Wow I haven't seen one of those keyboards for many, many years! Trying to think where I had first seen it, maybe primary school? Or it might of been one of my mates (I never owned a C64 we had the lowly Plus/4 at the time) but I definitely remember playing with it and thinking how cool it was. Awesome stuff.
__________________
AtariPC.net
Atari PC | IBM Compatible Series

PC Big Box Game Collecting
My Collection
Flamin Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2016, 9:29 PM   #148
Bastard Child
Member
 
Bastard Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Crooklyn 3012
Posts: 3,467
Default

You guys see this?

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/t...held-console#/
__________________
I'm the reason we can't have nice things
Bastard Child is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2016, 2:14 PM   #149
sardines
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bastard Child View Post
I would love the 'Computer Console Version' but does not state the specs and what is inside - just a raspberry or equivalent or proper board? Will it only run C64 or can it be upgraded to support other systems and apps. With postage etc will be costing about 250 AUD which is pretty steep. The handheld looks sweet as well but 170UDS??? with that i can get a decent china handheld clone. Though i am tempted with console version but no real specs or internal shots
sardines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2016, 2:48 PM   #150
badmofo
Member
 
badmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 444
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sardines View Post
I would love the 'Computer Console Version' but does not state the specs and what is inside - just a raspberry or equivalent or proper board?
I was wondering that too - surely it wouldn't make sense for them to do anything else but jam a RPi + keyrah in there?
__________________
Life? Don't talk to me about life.
badmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 7:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!