Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
View Poll Results: What 8-bit Commodore machines do you have in your collection?
Commodore KIM-1 0 0%
Commodore PET/CBM 2 3.70%
Commodore CBM-II (B128/B256/128-80/256-80/500/600/610/700) 0 0%
Commodore MAX 0 0%
Commodore VIC-20 8 14.81%
Commodore 64 (The older brown fat model known as the "Breadbin") 30 55.56%
Commodore 64C (The newer beige slim model) 26 48.15%
Commodore 64GS 0 0%
Commodore SX-64 3 5.56%
Commodore Educator 64 0 0%
Commodore 16 3 5.56%
Commodore 116 (Cost-reduced version of the C16 sold only in Europe) 1 1.85%
Commodore Plus/4 4 7.41%
Commodore 128 7 12.96%
Commodore 128D 6 11.11%
Commodore 128DCR (Cost-reduced and bug-corrected version of the C128D) 2 3.70%
Commodore Prototype/Unreleased (C65/C900/LCD/Other) 0 0%
Commodore Emulator - I don't have real Commodore 8-bit machines anymore 9 16.67%
Commodore Emulator - I've never seen/owned real Commodore 8-bit machines, but wish I did! 1 1.85%
Commodore Candy - I thought Commodore was a car model...? 1 1.85%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 54. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29th March 2015, 6:00 PM   #76
callan
Member
 
callan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,188
Default

Just a reminder, folks about the C64C cases. If you're thinking you can convert your breadbin into a C64C using one of these cases, you'll need a C64C heatshield and a metal bracket, to hold up the keyboard. Unlike the breadbins, the keyboard is NOT held up by the top half of the case, but rather is screwed into metal mounts on the BOTTOM half of the case.

Thinking of getting me some of those cases myself, though Better get onto it!

Callan
__________________
Faith-based morality isn't morality at all. It's obedience.
callan is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 29th March 2015, 11:09 PM   #77
nimmers
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 901
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by callan View Post
Just a reminder, folks about the C64C cases. If you're thinking you can convert your breadbin into a C64C using one of these cases, you'll need a C64C heatshield and a metal bracket, to hold up the keyboard. Unlike the breadbins, the keyboard is NOT held up by the top half of the case, but rather is screwed into metal mounts on the BOTTOM half of the case.

Thinking of getting me some of those cases myself, though Better get onto it!

Callan

Hey mate,

Do you know if there is any difference between the actual cases on the two different c64cs shown here?

https://ilesj.wordpress.com/2010/07/...and-sid-model/
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2015, 12:41 AM   #78
callan
Member
 
callan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,188
Default

I believe there is no difference to the plastic casing:it has holes for both motherboards. Different brackets are used, though.

If using a breadboard C64 in a C64C case you also need to remove the metal bracket around the Joystick ports/power switch.That's straightforwards enough, though. The actual spacing of the ports and switch/power connector is the same.

Callan
__________________
Faith-based morality isn't morality at all. It's obedience.
callan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 8:44 PM   #79
Mickatroid
Member
 
Mickatroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,538
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by callan View Post
Just a reminder, folks about the C64C cases. If you're thinking you can convert your breadbin into a C64C using one of these cases, you'll need a C64C heatshield and a metal bracket, to hold up the keyboard.
Callan
What do you mean by 'heat shield' Callan? If you mean the cardboard RF shield I thought they were best removed from a heat point of view?

I know exactly what you mean about the keyboard mounts though. I am lucky enough to have a C64C with a slightly battered case and a stuck MOBO screw (thanks to some cocacola I suspect - all totally cleaned now). Soon to have a C64C in a strangely white case...
Mickatroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 11:03 PM   #80
callan
Member
 
callan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickatroid View Post
What do you mean by 'heat shield' Callan? If you mean the cardboard RF shield I thought they were best removed from a heat point of view?
No, I'm not referring to the crappy foil thinggy that wraps around breadbin boards - I'm referring to something else entirely.
I have 2 C64C's: one has the reduced count board, and an NMOS C64 full-sized board. Ths NMOS one has a pressed metal heat/RF shield, with tabs that press down on the chips to conduct heat away from them.
Here's a pikkie of it.



The left keyboard support bracket is integrated with this "heatshield" thinggy.


Callan
__________________
Faith-based morality isn't morality at all. It's obedience.
callan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2015, 8:50 PM   #81
Mickatroid
Member
 
Mickatroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,538
Default

The heat-sink/shield is awesome. Thanks for taking a picture of it.

I have found a crappy wrap around foil thingy in a C64C too.

I know the KB mounts, quite a nice design really.

EDIT: does the full size board have a 6581 SID?
Mickatroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2015, 10:23 PM   #82
callan
Member
 
callan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickatroid View Post
The heat-sink/shield is awesome. Thanks for taking a picture of it.
It's not as awesome as it looks: it takes a fair bit of effort to get all the tabs contacting the chips properly (effort that's typically not done at factory assembly). The C128 has the same arrangement, and due to the board being much larger it's even more of a pain to get right. They also seem prone to rusting, too.

Quote:
EDIT: does the full size board have a 6581 SID?

This one does - yes. 6581v4-AR (Advanced Resonance), The last version before the move to HMOS.

Callan
__________________
Faith-based morality isn't morality at all. It's obedience.
callan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2015, 10:39 PM   #83
nimmers
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 901
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickatroid View Post
EDIT: does the full size board have a 6581 SID?
I grabbed a second c64 this week because of that kickstarter.

I noticed that the new one I got is like Callan's


Click to view full size!


I opened it up and its completely different to my other one, no cardboard in it. That heat shield thing had all the prongs not touching the chips and I had to bend them all down again slightly. Probably should get some new thermal paste. The top one does have a 6581 SID.

EDIT: Callan got in 20 seconds before me

Last edited by nimmers; 2nd April 2015 at 10:41 PM.
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2015, 1:12 PM   #84
flu!d
Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS
 
flu!d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,545
Default

Guys, I'm after a C64 breadbin case and keyboard in reasonable condition, if anyone has anything for non inflated eBay prices please let me know.

Even a whole breadbin c64 for a realistic price will do.
__________________
Show us yer HTPC!

Dell T5500, Xeon X5675 Hex core @ 3.46Ghz max, 16GB RAM, GTX 670FTW, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD OS drive, 2 x 1TB home/storage drives, Dual Acer V243HQ 1920 x 1080 monitors, Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS and loving it!
flu!d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2015, 6:57 PM   #85
Mickatroid
Member
 
Mickatroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,538
Default

Interesting question about what a 'realistic price' for an original shape C64 is.

I would say that a fair non-ebay price for a working computer with a power supply and a couple of bits and bobs is around $100 (not that I have one for sale Fluid). Anyone think different?
Mickatroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 9:05 PM   #86
nimmers
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 901
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickatroid View Post
Interesting question about what a 'realistic price' for an original shape C64 is.
Between $100 and $150 seems to be the going rate after shopping for a couple of weeks.

I noticed a lot of people seem to be using dell LCDs with their c64s. Is there some easy trick to getting a PAL one going? I have a Dell 2407WFP - it has the s-video and composite inputs but neither seem to want to work with the 50hz input out of the c64.
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 12:15 AM   #87
callan
Member
 
callan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nimmers View Post
Between $100 and $150 seems to be the going rate after shopping for a couple of weeks.

I noticed a lot of people seem to be using dell LCDs with their c64s. Is there some easy trick to getting a PAL one going? I have a Dell 2407WFP - it has the s-video and composite inputs but neither seem to want to work with the 50hz input out of the c64.
That's weird, as that's precisely the monitor that I'm using on my (PAL) C64, on SVGA. A link to a recent photo of a PAL C64 hooked up to one HERE. I'm using a made-up cable, but you can get bought ones easily enough.

Does the C64 work with anything else?

Callan
__________________
Faith-based morality isn't morality at all. It's obedience.
callan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 7:52 AM   #88
nimmers
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 901
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by callan View Post
That's weird, as that's precisely the monitor that I'm using on my (PAL) C64, on SVGA. A link to a recent photo of a PAL C64 hooked up to one HERE. I'm using a made-up cable, but you can get bought ones easily enough.

Does the C64 work with anything else?

Callan
Yep my c64 works fine on my television using s-video or composite. I'm using the s-video cable on page 2 here: http://www.retrocomputershack.com/

Would love to figure out why it doesn't work, I have the same issue trying to get my PAL SNES to work on it. I actually have 2 of these monitors and it happens on both.
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 9:18 AM   #89
lupin Thread Starter
Member
 
lupin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Clifton Springs
Posts: 1,658
Default

Lets face it C64 and a crt is the only way to go.
__________________
www.youtube.com/c/lupzvlogs
2009 Yamaha FZ1N
lupin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 9:59 AM   #90
flu!d
Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS
 
flu!d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickatroid View Post
Interesting question about what a 'realistic price' for an original shape C64 is.

I would say that a fair non-ebay price for a working computer with a power supply and a couple of bits and bobs is around $100 (not that I have one for sale Fluid). Anyone think different?
I remember I paid $100.00 for my breadbin C64 that I bought off a schoolfriend in 1984!
__________________
Show us yer HTPC!

Dell T5500, Xeon X5675 Hex core @ 3.46Ghz max, 16GB RAM, GTX 670FTW, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD OS drive, 2 x 1TB home/storage drives, Dual Acer V243HQ 1920 x 1080 monitors, Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS and loving it!
flu!d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 2:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!