Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices

View Poll Results: What 8-bit Commodore machines do you have in your collection?
Commodore KIM-1 0 0%
Commodore PET/CBM 2 3.64%
Commodore CBM-II (B128/B256/128-80/256-80/500/600/610/700) 0 0%
Commodore MAX 0 0%
Commodore VIC-20 8 14.55%
Commodore 64 (The older brown fat model known as the "Breadbin") 30 54.55%
Commodore 64C (The newer beige slim model) 27 49.09%
Commodore 64GS 0 0%
Commodore SX-64 3 5.45%
Commodore Educator 64 0 0%
Commodore 16 3 5.45%
Commodore 116 (Cost-reduced version of the C16 sold only in Europe) 1 1.82%
Commodore Plus/4 4 7.27%
Commodore 128 7 12.73%
Commodore 128D 6 10.91%
Commodore 128DCR (Cost-reduced and bug-corrected version of the C128D) 2 3.64%
Commodore Prototype/Unreleased (C65/C900/LCD/Other) 0 0%
Commodore Emulator - I don't have real Commodore 8-bit machines anymore 9 16.36%
Commodore Emulator - I've never seen/owned real Commodore 8-bit machines, but wish I did! 1 1.82%
Commodore Remake - FPGA or similar modern day implementation 0 0%
Commodore Candy - I thought Commodore was a car model...? 1 1.82%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 55. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 5th April 2015, 3:27 PM   #91
nimmers
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lupin View Post
Lets face it C64 and a crt is the only way to go.
Yeah but it drives me nuts that it doesn't work. Can't figure it out :/
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2015, 11:09 AM   #92
Mickatroid
Member
 
Mickatroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,560
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nimmers View Post
Yep my c64 works fine on my television using s-video or composite. I'm using the s-video cable on page 2 here: http://www.retrocomputershack.com/

Would love to figure out why it doesn't work, I have the same issue trying to get my PAL SNES to work on it. I actually have 2 of these monitors and it happens on both.
I have a 'DVDO Edge' scaler in my lounge room. It seems to be high tech enough to deal with anything so far. Will be sending it Amiga RGB+Comp Sync in the future, that will test it.
Mickatroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2015, 7:19 PM   #93
breech
Member
 
breech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Syd
Posts: 1,780
Default

Bruce Lee II released for c64

http://kollektivet.nu/brucelee2/
breech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2015, 8:08 PM   #94
breech
Member
 
breech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Syd
Posts: 1,780
Default

oops - double post
breech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2015, 10:45 PM   #95
nimmers
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 915
Default

This pretty soon too!

http://www.vintageisthenewold.com/gh...e-coming-soon/
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2015, 6:47 PM   #96
Mickatroid
Member
 
Mickatroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,560
Default

Some movement on the C64 reloaded.
Mickatroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2015, 8:25 PM   #97
crackthewhip
Member
 
crackthewhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria
Posts: 711
Default

hello everyone,

Is anyone interested in a C64, C128 with external 5.25 drive, or C128D (with commodore monitor)? Also have a Viatel modem, fast-load cartridge and a few games. Dad is offloading them. Pm me with an offer if interested.
__________________
i7-2600k, 16GB Corsair, 330 SSD, GB GTX670oc, M12D
crackthewhip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2015, 1:46 PM   #98
nimmers
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 915
Default

Ghosts'n Goblins Arcade:

http://csdb.dk/release/?id=139257
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2015, 9:17 PM   #99
shred
Member
 
shred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 342
Default

cool been waiting for this shud be good for sum playtime as the nostalgia release of commando was
shred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2015, 7:02 PM   #100
nimmers
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 915
Default


Click to view full size!


Got this in the mail today. They aren't 100% perfect but it looks pretty cool.

The stickers suck, will look for a better badge to go there.
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2015, 7:13 PM   #101
philscomputerlab
Member
 
philscomputerlab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,843
Default

Very cool!

Is this 3D printed?
philscomputerlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2015, 9:13 PM   #102
nimmers
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philscomputerlab View Post
Very cool!

Is this 3D printed?
It was from this: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects...ing-in-new-coo
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2015, 8:11 PM   #103
Mickatroid
Member
 
Mickatroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,560
Default

Mine turned up too. Was starting to worry they were vapor ware.

Have only had a change for a fairly quick look. Have not noticed any problems yet. You are right, the stickers are a bit ordinary. Hand numbering was never going to be beautiful though, I will be using mine.

I have a silver label C64 with a case that looks like it was attacked by a soldering iron (probably just wrapped in some cables) that I am thinking about using in the clear case.
Mickatroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2015, 1:39 PM   #104
badmofo
Member
 
badmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 533
Default

Some fun upgrades for my C64, which has come a long way since emerging from storage a couple of years ago. I have vague regrets about subjecting this humble and once original machine to all of these refinements, but itís just too much fun to leave alone.

A new old stock keyboard:




And Iím trying out a new hack thatís been developed to help to remove the vertical stripes that are evident in the display output of most C64ís. The idea is that you whack this thing in b/w your mainboard and the VIC-II chip (the IC which handles the visuals), and then adjust the pots until the lines are gone (or at least minimised). Itís obviously not an exact science; I tried it with 4 different VIC-IIís (all the same vintage and off the same revision board), and the results were variable. With 3 of them Iíd say the improvement was negligible, but the 4th chip Ė which happened to have the most visible striping when used on its own Ė cleaned up very nicely after some patient pot twiddling. Iíve ended up with a very clean, stripe free image, and pending some further testing I think itís a winner.



__________________
Life? Don't talk to me about life.
badmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2015, 12:52 PM   #105
lupin Thread Starter
Member
 
lupin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Clifton Springs
Posts: 1,665
Default

Just spotted this

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Mini-Comm...item1a055e33b0
__________________
www.youtube.com/c/lupzvlogs
2009 Yamaha FZ1N
lupin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!