Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > PC Games > MMOs

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th July 2015, 11:00 AM   #121
GDavid
Member
 
GDavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ADL
Posts: 1,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commie_Mike View Post
I guess it depends on the destroyer, in my limited experience it seems like you're often relying on the enemy missing their broadside. likewise i've one-shot a few destroyers before.

I'm finding cruisers are my carry class, had a 1.5k base xp game last night in the phoenix raining HE down on tier 7s.
Often the lower tiers can be overlooked and you can work your magic. I find the cruiser class is harder to abuse view range and often are the numbties torping their own team, Tenryu and Kuma class because they feel they have range.

Quote:
Originally Posted by B.D.R View Post
That works well IF you don't get torped by the clowns

I was working over a couple BBs with torps, and the fuckwit right next to me, and I mean almost scrapping paint, decides to get in on the action too, so tries to torp the same BBs......to bad I was in the way

Also been one shotted by my own team quite a lot, by being in the way apparently

The life of a DD captain is not all loot'en and whore'en I tells ya
My response to a nub who torp dumps is usually a couple in reply with the chat request of "Do you like team torps?", sometimes they get it, sometimes they get hit. I'm usually well clear by then.

Many don't get the herding and coralling of enemy with blind torps, they work well sometimes to deny an area or get free hits at chokes.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASASN View Post
Pfft my rotary tool, hammer and axe disagree :P

Last edited by GDavid; 30th July 2015 at 11:03 AM.
GDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 12:40 PM   #122
FerrisXB9R
Member
 
FerrisXB9R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: QLD
Posts: 2,784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GDavid View Post
Many don't get the herding and coralling of enemy with blind torps, they work well sometimes to deny an area or get free hits at chokes.
No shit. A good destroyer spamming torps is a huge psychological factor, at least to people who aren't complete nubs.

"I can't see it, but there's a fucken DD in there somewhere."

Meanwhile you're 3 squares away, and the enemy is either too worried about where you MIGHT be to approach the area or they rush in to the wrong place looking for you, pulling the team out of position.
__________________
Warframe: grimdraken Origin: grimdraken uPlay: KN_Fez steam: =]DI[= Fez
FerrisXB9R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 1:26 PM   #123
The MWNN
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,847
Default

I don't find it too hard playing the Japanese destroyers to avoid enemy fire by not shooting back and weaving about plus judicious smoke/speed boost use and avoiding open ocean if possible.

I am a fan of the blind torp down chokes where you think people might be headed, I get a lot more torp hits from this than from long range torps launched using the torp indicator. It's also great to force people to turn and focus on not getting torped rather than shooting at you.
The MWNN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 4:25 PM   #124
flinchy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northlakes
Posts: 6,243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GDavid View Post
Then you get the St.Louis which is deadly in the right hands (r8response pic)...
image
haha yeah i've seen a few people use it, just peppering shots the WHOLE MATCH, in the many hundreds of hits.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurosaki View Post
so what are people's thoughts on HE Vs AP?

I'm finding it can be much more effective to use AP against cruisers and then everything else just spam the HE
I use HE 90% of the time, long range especially

AP if they're facing me nose on or tail on, absolutely wrecks.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaper View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taceo Corpus View Post
BRB - building a Faraday Cage.
Thinly veiled "I'm wrapping myself in chicken wire".
flinchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2015, 9:04 AM   #125
r8response
Member
 
r8response's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 6,309
Default

A Free premium Tier 2 US Cruiser and a slot to go with it.

That's right folks. FREEEEEE

For us SEA players, navigate to HERE and enter ALBANY in the box and click Redeem.



__________________
MSI B85-G43 / Intel Core i5 4590 / Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 / Crucial MX100 256GB SSD / G.Skill Sniper 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3
r8response is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2015, 9:11 AM   #126
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 6,215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r8response View Post
A Free premium Tier 2 US Cruiser and a slot to go with it.

That's right folks. FREEEEEE

For us SEA players, navigate to HERE and enter ALBANY in the box and click Redeem.

image

image
Awesome find TYVM.
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768
Bold Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2015, 9:17 AM   #127
r8response
Member
 
r8response's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 6,309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bold Eagle View Post
Awesome find TYVM.
It's pretty shit. Range of 6km on the guns.


Might be worth it for the port slot though
__________________
MSI B85-G43 / Intel Core i5 4590 / Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 / Crucial MX100 256GB SSD / G.Skill Sniper 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3
r8response is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2015, 9:32 AM   #128
Vladdo
Member
 
Vladdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Laverton, Melbourne
Posts: 8,326
Default

So let me get this straight.. I've been playing it for the last week and have been enjoying it.. but I researched the first tier 3 battleship last night and went to buy it and it said that I need 300 doubloons..?

I really like the game but the whole grind fest to unlock ships .. I'd happily pay to buy the game as an outright price, but the whole continual in-app purchase thing..

__________________
My Flickr | My Books | My Website
Vladdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2015, 9:44 AM   #129
r8response
Member
 
r8response's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 6,309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladdo View Post
So let me get this straight.. I've been playing it for the last week and have been enjoying it.. but I researched the first tier 3 battleship last night and went to buy it and it said that I need 300 doubloons..?

I really like the game but the whole grind fest to unlock ships .. I'd happily pay to buy the game as an outright price, but the whole continual in-app purchase thing..

You've probably run out of empty slots in your port. You might need to sell an older ship. Or use the above bonus code, and sell the ship. Which will give you two free slots.
__________________
MSI B85-G43 / Intel Core i5 4590 / Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 / Crucial MX100 256GB SSD / G.Skill Sniper 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3
r8response is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2015, 9:59 AM   #130
Vladdo
Member
 
Vladdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Laverton, Melbourne
Posts: 8,326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r8response View Post
You've probably run out of empty slots in your port. You might need to sell an older ship. Or use the above bonus code, and sell the ship. Which will give you two free slots.
ooooooooooooo... cool.. I didn't even notice that.. so yes, i just bought the battleship.. cheers

__________________
My Flickr | My Books | My Website
Vladdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2015, 11:12 AM   #131
Mathuisella
Member
 
Mathuisella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: in your gearbox...grindin
Posts: 4,189
Default

1pm Brisbane time today, Who's up for a few games ?

I'll be using Tier 2 to Tier 6 ships

add me, mathuisella.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by borked View Post
You know, it's an attitude like this that has me admiring and respecting you.
You can evidently see who here holds an attitude of trying to improve and happiness, as compared to the sourpusses that frequent here.
Mathuisella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2015, 11:58 AM   #132
Commie_Mike
Member
 
Commie_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SA
Posts: 3,959
Default

the albany is a premium so you can use your other us commanders on it at 100% without retraining. but yeah, that range is annoying.
Commie_Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2015, 12:32 PM   #133
Mathuisella
Member
 
Mathuisella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: in your gearbox...grindin
Posts: 4,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commie_Mike View Post
the albany is a premium so you can use your other us commanders on it at 100% without retraining. but yeah, that range is annoying.
no point in using it as you need to spend real world money on it to get it's XP on other ships right ?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by borked View Post
You know, it's an attitude like this that has me admiring and respecting you.
You can evidently see who here holds an attitude of trying to improve and happiness, as compared to the sourpusses that frequent here.
Mathuisella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2015, 12:58 PM   #134
Commie_Mike
Member
 
Commie_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SA
Posts: 3,959
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathuisella View Post
no point in using it as you need to spend real world money on it to get it's XP on other ships right ?
yeah, but the commander still gets xp and you still get credits. you'd play it for fun but using a skilled commander makes it better and maximises what you get from playing it.
Commie_Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2015, 1:36 PM   #135
GDavid
Member
 
GDavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ADL
Posts: 1,315
Default

Thanks r8response, used on NA acct also
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASASN View Post
Pfft my rotary tool, hammer and axe disagree :P

Last edited by GDavid; 1st August 2015 at 1:39 PM.
GDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!