Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15th December 2016, 3:00 PM   #46
sonicthemouse Thread Starter
Member
 
sonicthemouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Green Hill Zone Melb 3032
Posts: 653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shane41 View Post
I'd be worried about theft / loss / damage / catastrophic events / flood & fire.
Some of the guys here know effort I've put in collecting.

You can only do it once. They are too expensive to buy these parts again.
So yes as a History of Computers idea hang onto them & run /cycle these machine. That museum will be possible one day.

462 for life........show me
Yeah I am vaguely worried about theft/disaster but try explaining how old computers/video games can be considered "collectables" to the insurance mob... the last time I asked they wanted a professional valuation... valuers had no idea what I was going on about

I'll get to 462 in good time. I have a vague idea where that rig is, although I think I sold my top end one (Gigabyte board with 4x DDR400 dual channel, Athlon 3200+). Think the one I have left is the 2400+...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flamin Joe View Post
There's no hard and fast rule as to what size HDD's (or RAM for that matter) were used since a lot of these CPU's were still being produced in systems for a good 10 years. 8088 - Early 80's to late 80's, 286 - early 80's to early 90's, 386 - Mid 80's to early 90's, 486 - late 80's to mid 90's. So it's not surprising to find early variants of these systems having minimal HDD/RAM capacity or even using older technology, for example RLL/MFM drives in early 386's and IDE in later models.

It's nothing like today where you are pratically changing CPU sockets as often as you change your underwear.
Yeah this is true - it gives me the shits with Intel changing every other week. The worst was towards the end of the 775 era where 775 could still be a serious gaming rig, but 1366 and 1156 were also available, and none of the bloody coolers fit on any other sockets

Still, I'm surprised to hear there was that much variation - I've never seen a RLL/MFM drive in a 386. But it does make sense

Quote:
Originally Posted by Groff View Post
My XT back in the mid-late 80's had a hardcard in it.
Slot in ISA card that was 10MB from memory.

Bit like today's PCIe SSD. My how times have changed and yet some things are still similar.
Interesting, from Wikipedia: "their first Hardcard had a 10 megabyte (MB) capacity; its suggested retail price was $1,095"

LOL WAT. I realise everything was a lot more expensive back then but WOW.

And yeah, things go in waves, we started with big servers and dumb terminals / VDUs, then we had powerful desktop PCs at every desk, then there were Wyse terminals and we were back to centralised processing power, and then those sort of faded out in favour of Brix / NUC, but there is still more and more capability for distributed computing power through cloud server services...

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
If you want to test out DOS games in a browser before you go to the effort of buying/installing them:

https://archive.org/details/softwarelibrary_msdos_games
Thanks for the heads up - could come in handy - but in general I don't mind the effort

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flamin Joe View Post
I've got one of those hardcard's except it's a later model so not XT compatible unfortunately. Hardcard II Plus if I recall correctly, 16 bit ISA and can't be used as a boot drive as it requires a device driver. It was more designed to be an extra hard drive for systems which didn't have space for another drive inside the case.

Pretty nifty, VERY long card and the drive is suprisingly slim (which it has to be) for that era.
Hm, another Hardcard owner in the same thread, that has to be some kind of OCAU record

I might have to hunt one down for one of these rigs but I worry that if I start hunting down every cool bit of random retro tech that takes my fancy, my funds will deplete even more severely

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flamin Joe View Post
Buying? Once a pirate, always a pirate.
Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
I'm at a point in my life where I'm trying to undo my past naughtiness.

I quite like buying old games. Right now, the effort in getting old games working is more around licensing than anything else. I hate the idea that some software is lost to time, and if I spend a few bucks on an old game (even if I never play it again, but did in the past), I at least know I'm sending a message to current license holders and publishers that it's worth their time to dig up these old games and make the effort to keep them in circulation.

I've "unpirated" a number of games in the last few years. And again, some I've never played since buying them, but I'm at least a little happier knowing that I've paid for them at some point, even if it wasn't the full retail price back when it was released.
I'm on the fence with this. My current philosophy is that if the content I want is:
a) easily accessible
b) reasonably priced and
c) does not have insane DRM issues
then I'll buy it.

I have also gone back and legitimized a lot of my video game library (EB was selling PS2 stuff for like $5 a game for a few years there so it wasn't exactly an expensive undertaking )

Most current games that I want, I wait a few months and buy on Steam sales so the developers can keep making good titles.

My current gripe is with subscription-based streaming TV and movie services. Tried netflix for a while, but there was no James Bond. And only Mission Impossible 3, no 1 or 2. And no Fast & Furious. I refuse to have to subscribe to multiple services to access the content I want, and I also don't like the idea of paying for the "use" of something (streaming) in general, I would rather pay $2.99 for Mission Impossible 1 as a download than $10 a month for unlimited streaming...

Thing is with the old games, at the time all the stuff I was playing was almost all shareware. So I never had 2nd/3rd episodes of games or extra levels past the shareware inclusions.

To stay true to the era, I think they probably should be the shareware versions back on there, but I also wouldn't mind having the complete versions of all the games

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
And as I've said before too, just because games are old, doesn't make them bad or unplayable. There's a whole generation of kids now who've never played these, and can find just as much joy playing them for the first time today as we did when we were kids.
+1 to this 100% agree upvote etc

In fact, in my opinion, a lot of the older games are actually better games than the current offerings. Sure, they're dated, but conceptually there was a lot more creativity back then, to some extent they were more challenging and had better replay value, and also (at least from my experience) there were a lot more really good games, and a lot less shovelware and junk released to make an extra few $ (Cull of Dooty 27, anyone? Buttlefield 194222219889?)

And developers were supporting the community and adding cool features like LAN play, and making dedicated server exe's available, rather than restricting LAN play, having stupid DRM blocks and forcing people to use shitty matchmaking bullshit
sonicthemouse is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 23rd December 2016, 7:42 PM   #47
sean0118
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 116
Default

Is anyone driving from Sydney to Melbourne in the next year?

I have an IBM 8513 CRT to give Sonic, but I have no economical way to get it to him.
sean0118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2017, 11:12 PM   #48
sammy_b0i
Member
 
sammy_b0i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ACT 2914
Posts: 3,014
Default

Where's the updates at?
__________________
Ryzen R7 1700, MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon, Noctua U14S, 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHz, eVGA GTX980 Classified, 480GB OCZ Trion150, eVGA G2 750W, Fractal Define C, BL3200PT
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommodmc View Post
OCAU is a breeding ground for hyper-moralistic 13 year olds who've never stepped out of the computer room in their entire life. Young liberals, young labor, people who will grow old and die before they ever think about pulling their head out.
sammy_b0i is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 10:15 AM   #49
sonicthemouse Thread Starter
Member
 
sonicthemouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Green Hill Zone Melb 3032
Posts: 653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammy_b0i View Post
Where's the updates at?
♫ Hold on, they're coming! ♫

(family life with a 7-month-old and 2-and-a-bit-year-old has beenpriority, sorry)


Last edited by Ma Baker; 19th April 2017 at 11:25 PM. Reason: YouTube link fixed
sonicthemouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2017, 10:38 PM   #50
sonicthemouse Thread Starter
Member
 
sonicthemouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Green Hill Zone Melb 3032
Posts: 653
Default IBM 5150!

Update done!

http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh...php?p=17395741

Got the IBM 5150, works great

So for anyone else who knows about these things:

- Any idea why there is no RAM count / POST screen when it boots? I'm sure my original one used to have this. This one just sits with a flashing cursor for 3~4 mins and then runs autoexec.bat

Could it be to do with the screen / graphics adaptor or the MODE command or some such? I'm too young to know of these things

- Can anyone shed any light on the add-in cards?
The first two are simple: one for the FDD, one for the HDD. Done.

Then it gets tricky. There are two more full-length cards in there. The printed quote lists a:

"Taxan KIF 3230 Multifunction board 384K" and a
"Mono display and printer adaptor"

The handwritten receipt lists a:

"Persyst Mono Combo Brd + 384K"

This gives us a total of:
2x female DB9 ports, 2x female DB25 ports, 1x male DB9 port (external)

Going off the labels on the back, one is for the monitor, one is for a printer, and the external one is obviously RS232. That leaves:

- The female DB9 port below the LPT port - what's that for? Can't be CGA/EGA/display, since that's on the other card??

- I wouldn't've thought there would usually be a LPT port and a display port on the same card, but "Mono Combo Brd" suggests that maybe that's what it is?

- What's the 384k? There are a stack of chips on one of the cards, which could be 384k of something, I would think it's unlikely to be 384k of video memory considering the PC has only 256k of actual RAM, but could you just add extra RAM on a slot card like that?!

- The large port on the back of the FDD card - for an external floppy drive??

Further reading: http://www.minuszerodegrees.net/5150...5160_cards.htm

Check this out from the receipt:
IBM PC 256k $3156
20mb Hard Disk $3191 WOW
Persyst Mono Combo Brd + 384k $1249 - what is this even FOR
Taxan KX-1212 Monitor $338
Taxan "Cable"? (can't quite read it) $35
PC DOS $95
Multiplan $325

And now - piccies!

Museum Display Piece - looks nice! Wish I had enough space to have all these rigs set up on the bench all the time



The Guts - interesting to see how much and yet how little the layout of a PC has changed in the last 30 years



Rear IO - plug in baby!



20mb Hard Drive - that's ~$9k worth of storage right there (adjusted for inflation). The price of the hard drive was more than the PC itself. Wow.



Australian Made!



Printed Quote - Myer, selling PCs in Australia since, well, since PCs existed



Receipt - makes my usual trips to MSY look like trips to the $2 shop

sonicthemouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2017, 1:11 AM   #51
shane41
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: In the sticks NSW
Posts: 4,951
Default

8400 clams Oh crap. Lucky was friends with the sales person.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoprint View Post
There is a group of us that get incredibly erect over such hardware. Maybe post in the retro section?
Haha ...........might be a bit rude that picture.
shane41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2017, 8:19 AM   #52
TaXy DriVar
Member
 
TaXy DriVar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dural
Posts: 476
Default

Pre-GST days too. 20MB would have been huge for that PC ... so price is probably fair. I mean how many 360kb floppies would you need to fill it up? ... 56.8888888889 apparently
__________________
Atari 2600 -> Sega Megadrive II -> Nintendo 64 -> Sega Dreamcast -> Xbox -> Xbox 360 -> Xbox 360 Slim
386sx25 -> Pentium 100 -> P166MMX Laptop -> P3 600MHz -> P4 2GHz -> P4 3GHz -> C2D E8400 -> Core i3 2100 -> Core i5 3570k
Gameboy Colour -> Gameboy Advance SP -> Nintendo DS -> Sony PSP
TaXy DriVar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2017, 9:21 AM   #53
Flamin Joe
Member
 
Flamin Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,613
Default

The 384K on the expansion board would be extra system RAM. The IBM 5150 motherboard came in two major revisions, earlier boards had anywhere between 16K-64K of onboard memory, later revisions (which is what yours would be) had between 64K-256K of onboard memory. It seems like the original owner was a big spender being able to afford the top of the line 256K configuration!

The rest up to 640K would have to be done with expansion cards which came in all sorts of flavours. Some just pure memory, others had memory + I/O ports. Back then expansion slots were premium real estate so it's not uncommon for expansion RAM and display cards etc to be bundled with I/O ports in order to save on slots.

Your system should have a total of 640K (256K + 384K). No idea why there are the two however, I'm guessing one would have the RAM expansion disabled. Seems like an odd and expensive way to get more serial/parallel ports if that's the case but then again if they were willing to shell out for the top of the line configuration then maybe money was no issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicthemouse View Post
- Any idea why there is no RAM count / POST screen when it boots? I'm sure my original one used to have this. This one just sits with a flashing cursor for 3~4 mins and then runs autoexec.bat
Are you sure your remembering correctly? As far as I'm aware the 5150 never had a POST screen so there is no memory count. It is however present in the 5160.
__________________
AtariPC.net
Atari PC | IBM Compatible Series

PC Big Box Game Collecting
My Collection
Flamin Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 7:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!