Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th March 2017, 10:30 PM   #121
Sgt Bilko
Member
 
Sgt Bilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canberra(ish) 2581
Posts: 773
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mAJORD View Post
Have to say i'm a bit disappointed they've left every other board out to dry on the updates :/

I know the Xhair is the halo product, but not one update for the 370 pro, cmon ASUS!
I just edited my response on OCN asking them about it, if there is I'll link it back here.

Ok

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS
Prime boards will get updates soon - the new AGESA code will be implemented.
__________________
AMD Community Manager

Comments are my own unless stated otherwise.

Last edited by Sgt Bilko; 17th March 2017 at 10:37 PM.
Sgt Bilko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2017, 10:49 PM   #122
Sgt Bilko
Member
 
Sgt Bilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canberra(ish) 2581
Posts: 773
Default

MSI Smart Tool Direct Link: http://download.msi.com/uti_exe/Smart_Tool.zip

Allows you to create a bootable Win 7 USB with the NVMe driver and USB drivers.

I can't test it atm but I assume it'd work on all AM4 boards.
__________________
AMD Community Manager

Comments are my own unless stated otherwise.
Sgt Bilko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2017, 6:02 AM   #123
TaroT
Member
 
TaroT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hazelbrook nsw 2779
Posts: 8,566
Default

Quote:
I've gotten two reports of boards not working after this (different POST code though), so I pulled the BIOSes until I can confirm this. CMOS clear is not helping? If not then you can revert to 0902 using USB BIOS Flashback.
considering what it is doing 1t/2t is about it i will wait
__________________
AMD Threadripper 1950X@stock:corsair H115i cooler: Asrock Taichi X399Gskilll Flarex 3200 ddr4 @3200 cas14XFX Vega 64 8 gig
TaroT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2017, 6:34 AM   #124
Sgt Bilko
Member
 
Sgt Bilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canberra(ish) 2581
Posts: 773
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaroT View Post
considering what it is doing 1t/2t is about it i will wait
Good idea.
__________________
AMD Community Manager

Comments are my own unless stated otherwise.
Sgt Bilko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2017, 8:46 AM   #125
mAJORD Thread Starter
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt Bilko View Post
I just edited my response on OCN asking them about it, if there is I'll link it back here.

Ok

Nice one! Thanks
__________________
On the Bench: Ryzen 7 1700 - ASUS Prime X370 Pro - 16GB Corsair Vengance DDR4-3200
Main:
Ryzen 7 1800x - Crosshair VI Hero - 16GB G.SKill DDR4-3333 - ASUS 1080Ti FE - Custom water - Be-Quiet Silent Base
Ryzen OC / Owners Thread
mAJORD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2017, 8:48 AM   #126
Sgt Bilko
Member
 
Sgt Bilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canberra(ish) 2581
Posts: 773
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mAJORD View Post
Nice one! Thanks
Never hurts to ask the question
__________________
AMD Community Manager

Comments are my own unless stated otherwise.
Sgt Bilko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2017, 3:39 PM   #127
YoMasteR
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 19
Default

Will CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 v5.39 work at 3200 for the Asus Crosshair VI?

On the QVL its CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 v4.31 ... but when I bought it from the store v5.39 was what i got.

I notice that AMD has said the v5.39 is one of their recommended here
http://www.guru3d.com/news_story/amd...rformance.html.

Just want to see if I should open the box or not

I got a Noctua D15 cooler so had to get this ram so it can fit... if the ram isn't likely to work then maybe I need to change cooler....
YoMasteR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2017, 10:52 PM   #128
mAJORD Thread Starter
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,754
Default

They are B die Samsung's, so chances are yes.
__________________
On the Bench: Ryzen 7 1700 - ASUS Prime X370 Pro - 16GB Corsair Vengance DDR4-3200
Main:
Ryzen 7 1800x - Crosshair VI Hero - 16GB G.SKill DDR4-3333 - ASUS 1080Ti FE - Custom water - Be-Quiet Silent Base
Ryzen OC / Owners Thread
mAJORD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2017, 12:10 AM   #129
Sgt Bilko
Member
 
Sgt Bilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canberra(ish) 2581
Posts: 773
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mAJORD View Post
They are B die Samsung's, so chances are yes.
Are they?

Most 3200c16 kits I know of are Hynix but there is a chance they are B Die
__________________
AMD Community Manager

Comments are my own unless stated otherwise.
Sgt Bilko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2017, 7:10 AM   #130
FatBoy
Member
 
FatBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt Bilko View Post
Are they?

Most 3200c16 kits I know of are Hynix but there is a chance they are B Die
I thought the 4 meant Samsung and 5 Hynix. I could be wrong tho.
FatBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2017, 9:19 AM   #131
TaroT
Member
 
TaroT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hazelbrook nsw 2779
Posts: 8,566
Default

i,m not really up on *what* memory ahs one chip without tearing it apart...is there a programme that will tell you or a database i can go have a squizzy at?
my corsairs are v4.34 and seem ok but nothing super sexy so far.
__________________
AMD Threadripper 1950X@stock:corsair H115i cooler: Asrock Taichi X399Gskilll Flarex 3200 ddr4 @3200 cas14XFX Vega 64 8 gig
TaroT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2017, 9:27 AM   #132
wraith.50
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaroT View Post
i,m not really up on *what* memory ahs one chip without tearing it apart...is there a programme that will tell you or a database i can go have a squizzy at?
my corsairs are v4.34 and seem ok but nothing super sexy so far.
Version 4 in Corsair is Samsung. 4.31 is b die, as should 4.34 be as well.

You can check using the following program by having it read your spd.

http://www.softnology.biz/files.html
wraith.50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2017, 9:44 AM   #133
sammy_b0i
Member
 
sammy_b0i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ACT 2914
Posts: 3,210
Default

Tried that program on my sticks and got "Manufacturer: Undefined" and "Part Number: Undetermined" which isn't helpful at all. Lol.
__________________
Optiplex 990 SFF - i7-2600, 16GB DDR3, Galax GTX1050Ti LP O/C 4GB, 480GB OCZ Trion150, 250GB Kingston HyperX Savage, BL3200PT
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommodmc View Post
OCAU is a breeding ground for hyper-moralistic 13 year olds who've never stepped out of the computer room in their entire life. Young liberals, young labor, people who will grow old and die before they ever think about pulling their head out.
sammy_b0i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2017, 9:50 AM   #134
wraith.50
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammy_b0i View Post
Tried that program on my sticks and got "Manufacturer: Undefined" and "Part Number: Undetermined" which isn't helpful at all. Lol.
Maybe it doesn't have full support for Amd boards yet and can't read the spd completely
I've only used it on Intel boards and has worked fine.

Try running it using Run as administrator as sometimes that makes it work completely on certain setups.

Last edited by wraith.50; 19th March 2017 at 9:55 AM.
wraith.50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2017, 10:44 AM   #135
TaroT
Member
 
TaroT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hazelbrook nsw 2779
Posts: 8,566
Default

nah same for me admin or no unknown.

i,ll keep looking thanks anyway
__________________
AMD Threadripper 1950X@stock:corsair H115i cooler: Asrock Taichi X399Gskilll Flarex 3200 ddr4 @3200 cas14XFX Vega 64 8 gig
TaroT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 1:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!