Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Troubleshooting Help

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th March 2017, 9:41 AM   #1
walker_2003 Thread Starter
Member
 
walker_2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 8,154
Default Printer hacked (Stackoverflow)

https://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/0...0000_printers/

Customers printer was hacked, I blocked port 9100 and changed admin password on printer and they are still getting spammed prints asking for bitcoins.. I think is copy cats out there using Stackoverflow's method..

Perhaps ill try ports 631 and 515..

Anything else to do? Dont have printer details on me, I think its a Ricoh MPC model.
__________________
WTB/WTT: BenQ XL2420G |Steam | Battlelog | I <3 G-Sync
My Rig:i7-3960X@4.5 GHZ | ASUS ROG RIVF | 16 GIG 1866MHZ | EVGA 1080ti | 120 GIG INTEL 520 | WIN 10 PRO | D5 & XSPC W/C | 800D | PG279Q ROG Swift G-Sync 2k @ 165hz
walker_2003 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 6th March 2017, 10:27 AM   #2
connico
Member
 
connico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by walker_2003 View Post
https://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/0...0000_printers/

Customers printer was hacked, I blocked port 9100 and changed admin password on printer and they are still getting spammed prints asking for bitcoins.. I think is copy cats out there using Stackoverflow's method..

Perhaps ill try ports 631 and 515..

Anything else to do? Dont have printer details on me, I think its a Ricoh MPC model.
Umm why is the printer internet facing?
__________________
www.shoepolish.net.au
connico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 12:05 PM   #3
walker_2003 Thread Starter
Member
 
walker_2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 8,154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by connico View Post
Umm why is the printer internet facing?
Well it was just installed by Ricoh guys into a router to share amongst the lan, but that router is also fed internet via a cisqo modem/router. Its a bit of a messy setup, but I didnt set it up.

So maybe just block all external connections to the internal IP of the printer should resolve issue. Dunno why I didnt think of this earlier haha

edit: Ahh was so I could remotely support them via teamviewer on server and dial into printers local site to troubleshoot, but might just disable it and have to support on site.
__________________
WTB/WTT: BenQ XL2420G |Steam | Battlelog | I <3 G-Sync
My Rig:i7-3960X@4.5 GHZ | ASUS ROG RIVF | 16 GIG 1866MHZ | EVGA 1080ti | 120 GIG INTEL 520 | WIN 10 PRO | D5 & XSPC W/C | 800D | PG279Q ROG Swift G-Sync 2k @ 165hz

Last edited by walker_2003; 6th March 2017 at 12:08 PM.
walker_2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 12:35 PM   #4
connico
Member
 
connico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by walker_2003 View Post
Well it was just installed by Ricoh guys into a router to share amongst the lan, but that router is also fed internet via a cisqo modem/router. Its a bit of a messy setup, but I didnt set it up.

So maybe just block all external connections to the internal IP of the printer should resolve issue. Dunno why I didnt think of this earlier haha

edit: Ahh was so I could remotely support them via teamviewer on server and dial into printers local site to troubleshoot, but might just disable it and have to support on site.
The printer doesn't need to be internet facing mate. If you need to get into the printer, just team-viewer into a server and bring up the printer WebUI

Suggest you review the printer and see if the firmware has been changed...

Regards
__________________
www.shoepolish.net.au
connico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 3:45 PM   #5
walker_2003 Thread Starter
Member
 
walker_2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 8,154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by connico View Post
The printer doesn't need to be internet facing mate. If you need to get into the printer, just team-viewer into a server and bring up the printer WebUI

Suggest you review the printer and see if the firmware has been changed...

Regards
true that, i been lazy lol.. ill fix it up tonight.
__________________
WTB/WTT: BenQ XL2420G |Steam | Battlelog | I <3 G-Sync
My Rig:i7-3960X@4.5 GHZ | ASUS ROG RIVF | 16 GIG 1866MHZ | EVGA 1080ti | 120 GIG INTEL 520 | WIN 10 PRO | D5 & XSPC W/C | 800D | PG279Q ROG Swift G-Sync 2k @ 165hz
walker_2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!