Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Troubleshooting Help

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th March 2017, 7:36 PM   #1
Moarkill Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 636
Default PITA RYZEN UPGRADE

Hey guys, so my 2500k dies forcing me to upgrade. Fresh install with a 1700 on a b350 Tomohawk from msi...Constantly freezing, slow keyboard response..Taking forever to open a file or to run a search..What a pain..I have downloaded chipset drivers and when I go to extract I just get a corrupt file error using winrar..Downloaded gtx780ti drivers 3 times. Each time I either get a "7zip"error or a "no compatible hardware found" error.

Has anyone else experienced this?
__________________
Core I5-2500k, AsRock Fatal1ty Pro Z68 , G-Skill Phoenix 128GB SSD boot, 2tb Storage, 8gigs Corsair Vengeance 1600 DDR3 , Sapphire 6970, Silverstone Strider 850Watt PSU, White Corsair 800D. .
Moarkill is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 17th March 2017, 7:49 PM   #2
mAJORD
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,679
Default

could be unstable RAM or a storage issue

Post details on these, including RAM clock.

also run memtest86
__________________
On the Bench: Ryzen 7 1700 - ASUS Prime X370 Pro - 16GB Corsair Vengance DDR4-3200
Main:
Ryzen 7 1800x - Crosshair VI Hero - 16GB G.SKill DDR4-3333 - ASUS 1080Ti FE - Custom water - Be-Quiet Silent Base
Ryzen OC / Owners Thread
mAJORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2017, 7:53 PM   #3
mr_mordred2095
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,811
Default

Should have bought Intel
mr_mordred2095 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2017, 7:54 PM   #4
terrastrife
Member
 
terrastrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ADL/SA The Monopoly State
Posts: 18,076
Default

Leave ram at 2133
terrastrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2017, 8:07 PM   #5
Moarkill Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 636
Default

Ram is 2400 running at 2133. Corsair CMK8Gx4M1A2400C14. I even tried lowering it. Same issues. I can only get part way through downloading a driver before I crash.
__________________
Core I5-2500k, AsRock Fatal1ty Pro Z68 , G-Skill Phoenix 128GB SSD boot, 2tb Storage, 8gigs Corsair Vengeance 1600 DDR3 , Sapphire 6970, Silverstone Strider 850Watt PSU, White Corsair 800D. .

Last edited by Moarkill; 17th March 2017 at 8:16 PM.
Moarkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2017, 8:23 PM   #6
Moarkill Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 636
Default

lol...literally the biggest pain in the ass build I have ever done...
__________________
Core I5-2500k, AsRock Fatal1ty Pro Z68 , G-Skill Phoenix 128GB SSD boot, 2tb Storage, 8gigs Corsair Vengeance 1600 DDR3 , Sapphire 6970, Silverstone Strider 850Watt PSU, White Corsair 800D. .
Moarkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2017, 8:46 PM   #7
Moarkill Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 636
Default

AFter finally crawling through shutdowns to download nvidia driver and bios flash (5 hours) I finally managed to get it to detect my gpu and install drivers..I doubt this will fix anything but fingers crossed.......nope watchdog timeout bsod halfway through install......Im taking this gear back and going intel.
__________________
Core I5-2500k, AsRock Fatal1ty Pro Z68 , G-Skill Phoenix 128GB SSD boot, 2tb Storage, 8gigs Corsair Vengeance 1600 DDR3 , Sapphire 6970, Silverstone Strider 850Watt PSU, White Corsair 800D. .
Moarkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2017, 9:35 PM   #8
shane41
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: In the sticks NSW
Posts: 5,212
Default

Don't give up matey. Do some screenshots with a camera in the bios.
These guys may spot a setting that's out
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoprint View Post
There is a group of us that get incredibly erect over such hardware. Maybe post in the retro section?
Haha ...........might be a bit rude that picture.
shane41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2017, 9:56 PM   #9
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 50,075
Default

Sounds like faulty ram run a memtest.
__________________
this is who we are.
power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2017, 10:02 PM   #10
Moarkill Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 636
Default

I would love to run mum test but I can keep the pc running long enough to download again. I will keep going with it. Been a crap 6 hours. Oh how quickly excitement can turn . ...bad. I will just take the ramp back tomorrow if umart is open.
__________________
Core I5-2500k, AsRock Fatal1ty Pro Z68 , G-Skill Phoenix 128GB SSD boot, 2tb Storage, 8gigs Corsair Vengeance 1600 DDR3 , Sapphire 6970, Silverstone Strider 850Watt PSU, White Corsair 800D. .
Moarkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2017, 10:17 PM   #11
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 50,075
Default

Yeah sounds like return time you shouldn't have to fuck around with ram speeds etc just to get the thing running those days are long behind us.
__________________
this is who we are.
power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2017, 10:18 PM   #12
argent
Member
 
argent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: fullarton.adl.sa.au:5063
Posts: 2,100
Default

Seems your not the only one with an issue specifically with the B350 Tomahawk.... mate of mine in Brissie also bought the same mobo - while he's not having an unstable system, his RAM is just not running at proper speed and his boot up time is ridiculously slow for a PC of this era. Had a helluva lot of problems as well getting his USB3.0 card to work too...
__________________
a r g e n t
MAVEN: Shuttle SZ77R5 i7 3770K G.Skill Ripjaws 16Gb DDR3 Samsung 250Gb 840 EVO WD 250Gb 7200RPM Gigabyte 1070 ITX
argent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2017, 10:20 PM   #13
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 50,075
Default

If you want to keep that board try selecting some ram from the vendors compatibility list.
__________________
this is who we are.
power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2017, 10:33 PM   #14
mAJORD
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,679
Default

Yes the Tomahawk has a stupidly slow boot time for no particular reason. I'd assume next BIOS release will fix it.

I've had no trouble whatsoever running up to DDR4 2933

As power said though, particularly on such a new 'immature' platform, RAM from the QVL list is your best bet. Even trawling other manufacturers QVL as a second resort.

for 2133 or 2400 though pretty much anything would be fine. So that's unlikely the issue. I think one of the three is genuinely faulty. If Umart want to take it all back then fair enough, otherwise they'll want to swap each in/out till they find the culprit
__________________
On the Bench: Ryzen 7 1700 - ASUS Prime X370 Pro - 16GB Corsair Vengance DDR4-3200
Main:
Ryzen 7 1800x - Crosshair VI Hero - 16GB G.SKill DDR4-3333 - ASUS 1080Ti FE - Custom water - Be-Quiet Silent Base
Ryzen OC / Owners Thread
mAJORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2017, 10:58 PM   #15
Moarkill Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 636
Default

Ok so i have flashed a bios update and am now reinstalling windows. It runs fine through the entire install process. Just cant handle the os environment. I will be returning the ram in the morning for something directly from the list. the single 8gig stick i purchased is the same as the ones in th 2x8 kit that is on the list of supported memory. Hopefully thats all it is. They are out of mobos and cpus.
__________________
Core I5-2500k, AsRock Fatal1ty Pro Z68 , G-Skill Phoenix 128GB SSD boot, 2tb Storage, 8gigs Corsair Vengeance 1600 DDR3 , Sapphire 6970, Silverstone Strider 850Watt PSU, White Corsair 800D. .
Moarkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 3:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!