Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Overclocking & Hardware

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th April 2007, 10:31 AM   #16
s3kemo
Member
 
s3kemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: in a house
Posts: 5,889
Default

the_rick: pretty easy - more storage space and/or X-Fi sound card.

My system (be gentle!):

Dell Dimension 4500
Pentium 4 Northwood 2.8GHz (533MHz FSB)
768MB DDR-266
20GB (boot drive)
80GB (storage drive)
Pioneer DVDRW
Lite-On CDRW
128MB Radeon 9200
SB Live Value!
Logitech Z-560
MS Keyboard and Intellimouse Optical
Dell 15" LCD

Shit, forgot to add that it's my 'everything PC'. I game (BF2, TOCA3) but obviously can't play games I wish I could run, but can't. I listen to music, watch DVDs, surf the net and occasionally do assignments for uni. Heh.
__________________
48 Successful Trades: bAbY_RoG3R, red_marine, NuMatthu, z3[n], jtsmorris, ShaneBrooks, JeffK, DigiTal, orbisfactor, Rickster x3, krayzia2, other ed, foreva, Lowy, siamak, BananaMan, karsa, FoxMan, Howard, MiniDisc, jboles, jimboh2k, Datsun1600, neilz, gmturner, T-Bones, NforSa, phat_s14, Drewcarey, inspectr, kathshan x3, MultiSlayer, tuapui, sizzaone, j00cy, evo800v, Skidoo, Goth, zha50, wast3gat3, Herman, Zenskas, mookie3three, Psycronic, 180degrees, Garido

Last edited by s3kemo; 13th April 2007 at 10:45 AM.
s3kemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 10:41 AM   #17
Bar182
Member
 
Bar182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hawthorn
Posts: 1,346
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sealish View Post
Don't know much about laptop upgradibility so for your Family PC - More storage space! Regardless of what you do on it, you can always use more HDD's - a couple of 320Gb's would go down well as replacements.

E6400 @ 3.2
Scythe Ninja
Gigabyte DS3P 3.3
2Gb Kingston 667 @ 800
ASUS 8800GTS 640Mb
80Gb (Vista be here)
320Gb (XP install and other crap)
120Gb IDE (just cause it wasn't being used)
Pioneer 212
Pioneer 110D
OCZ Gamestream 700w
MX5000 bluetooth kb/mouse
Chi Mei 22" LCD
Creative 2.1 something speakers (no space for 5.1 in my room)

It's all packed into a Cooler Master Centurion which feels lacking in space with all that so my next upgrade was set to be a new case or a second 22" LCD. What does the next poser think?

Dual 22" screens
Antec Nine hundred case
New room (So you can get 5.1 )
More hard drives (You can never have enough hard drives )

My system:

A64 3000+ skt754 w/ stock HSF
K8NS-Pro motherboard
200Gb Seagate SATA
500Gb WD SATA
Gainward 6600GT
Geil DDR500 DDR1 ram
TT Tsunami Dream case
No Speakers
24" Dell LCD Monitor
Crap mouse and Keyboard (MX-700 died)

Dont play games anymore, basically for watching/encoding movies, internet, work.

I need a shitload of upgrades! too bad all my money is going to my htpc and probably a media server
Bar182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 10:42 AM   #18
Display Name
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s3kemo View Post
the_rick: pretty easy - more storage space and/or X-Fi sound card.

My system (be gentle!):

Dell Dimension 4500
Pentium 4 Northwood 2.8GHz (533MHz FSB)
768MB DDR-266
20GB (boot drive)
80GB (storage drive)
Pioneer DVDRW
Lite-On CDRW
128MB Radeon 9200
SB Live Value!
Logitech Z-560
MS Keyboard and Intellimouse Optical
Dell 15" LCD
ooh, tough one... pretty much depends on your usage though (i'll assume you don't game)... i'll resist the urge to tell you to upgrade cpu/mobo/graphics

my suggestion: up the ram is always good, and 15" is quite small and lcd's are real cheap these days (if i were you i'd go 19").

now, my system:

E6300 @ stock, with Big Typhoon
P5W DH Deluxe
160Gb HDD
2x512mb DDR2 OCZ RAM
7600GS
17" CRT

Now I'd add what I use it for - games (mainly only been cs, but would like to get into more current games), application work (general word, internet, music etc...).

Budget: $400 (maybe stretchable to $500)

Cheers
__________________
Successfully traded with: Fido, Tooki, Boozey, Kreepa, jbpov, Dr1fty, Marv3lo, Azmere, Sats, Cyphaer, Sunset, ozdavo, asidfreak, MATTATHOME, N3Tman, FalconGT, silver6, SCG, fyrestorm, ic0nic (again), Elder, person, Aequitas, dukeman, hellbug, Ken-f, astina, Infest, MegaBaz, clag, ic0nic, MrvNDMrtN, cpumod, azeroth, poison, jagong, knassy, slimeball, Heist, BurntToast, timace, Peter2000, Lemmingski, Dezza Bot... + more! Recently: ocyrion, willy88, GrantG, nisstrust, arc25, 1800-gumby, Valtelino
Display Name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 10:52 AM   #19
Ghoatman
Member
 
Ghoatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sunshine Coast, 4558
Posts: 1,832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Display Name View Post
ooh, tough one... pretty much depends on your usage though (i'll assume you don't game)... i'll resist the urge to tell you to upgrade cpu/mobo/graphics

my suggestion: up the ram is always good, and 15" is quite small and lcd's are real cheap these days (if i were you i'd go 19").

now, my system:

E6300 @ stock, with Big Typhoon
P5W DH Deluxe
160Gb HDD
2x512mb DDR2 OCZ RAM
7600GS
17" CRT

Now I'd add what I use it for - games (mainly only been cs, but would like to get into more current games), application work (general word, internet, music etc...).

Budget: $400 (maybe stretchable to $500)

Cheers
Upgrade to a second hand card off here, and upgrade to 2GB RAM.
Should be able to sell the 7600 and 2x512MB to get a bit more cash together.

My system:

Opteron 165 - 2.4ghz
DFI SLI-DR Expert
2GB G.Skill
7800GT
X-Fi Xtreme Music
Silverstone ST65ZF 650W
2x250GB WD SATA2
2x120 Seagate SATA1
1x320GB WD SATA2 16MB
Dell 2407 A02
G15/G7

Video card upgrade methinks. Resolution of the 24" doesn't go well with a 7800GT.
Ghoatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 10:53 AM   #20
Namheul
Member
 
Namheul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Victoria
Posts: 1,683
Default

Looks pretty damn nice to me.

Mine:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Dual Core
Gigabyte M61VME-V2
512Mb DDR2
80Gb + 120Gb + 250Gb
Onboard Geforce 6100
Chimei 22" LCD
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agg
riiiiight. at times like this I wish vbulletin had a "ban everyone who posted in this thread" function.
Namheul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 10:57 AM   #21
Tobes1990
Member
 
Tobes1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Posts: 3,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Namheul View Post
Looks pretty damn nice to me.

Mine:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Dual Core
Gigabyte M61VME-V2
512Mb DDR2
80Gb + 120Gb + 250Gb
Onboard Geforce 6100
Chimei 22" LCD
I will assume you dont game. More RAM.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by flareau View Post
if you really want to multi-task, piss on your tooth brush - thus also saving water.
OCAU Metal Club - Member #9999 | last.fm | Buy my Car!
Good People/Traders: nikloas, Lichey, vanlan2010, Simonk83, Demonic2005, dudemachine, sml_nail, NetGX, Thrawn, anark1, ozdealer, master phi, tzortst
Tobes1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 11:07 AM   #22
tuchan
Member
 
tuchan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 615
Default

Unsure of your system Tobes1990 sorry

Gigabyte 965P DQ6\Abit Aw9-D MAX\Asus Commando
E6600 @ 4000MHz http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=179839
Phase
Buffalo Firestix PC8000- 2 x 1 gig sticks
75 gig Raptors- Raid 0
XFX 8800GTS 640mb
TT Toughpower 750W
X-FI Platinum
tuchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 11:14 AM   #23
protecon
Member
 
protecon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 1,038
Default

Not much to upgrade there - maybe a better quality soundcard?

Main Rig;

Dual AMD Opteron 265 Dual Core
Tyan K8SE
Sparkle 7800GT
4GB Corsair PC3200 ECC REG

Used primarily for crunching (encoding, streaming etc) and server duties.
protecon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 11:14 AM   #24
unixyk
Member
 
unixyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuchan View Post
Unsure of your system Tobes1990 sorry

Gigabyte 965P DQ6\Abit Aw9-D MAX\Asus Commando
E6600 @ 4000MHz http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=179839
Phase
Buffalo Firestix PC8000- 2 x 1 gig sticks
75 gig Raptors- Raid 0
XFX 8800GTS 640mb
TT Toughpower 750W
X-FI Platinum
Pretty impressive actually. Only 150 odd gigs of storage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by protecon View Post
Not much to upgrade there - maybe a better quality soundcard?

Main Rig;

Dual AMD Opteron 265 Dual Core
Tyan K8SE
Sparkle 7800GT
4GB Corsair PC3200 ECC REG

Used primarily for crunching (encoding, streaming etc) and server duties.
Not too bad for what you use it for either!

Mine:

Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego @ 2.53GHz (Undervolted, can go to 3GHz)
DFI NF4 Ultra-D /w SLi Mod
Storm G4, Dual Radiical Rad, MCP655, passive watercooling.
Team Xtreem 1GB (2 X 512) UTT BH5 @ 230MHz (Can do 250~)
2 X 120GB Seagate .7 SATA in Raid 0
Leadtek 7800GTX @ Stock
Coolermaster 650W PSU
X-Fi XtremeMusic
Logitech Z5500's
__________________
Successful Trades: Too many to list...
unixyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 11:29 AM   #25
aZn.ov.Darkness
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unixyk View Post
Mine:

Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego @ 2.53GHz (Undervolted, can go to 3GHz)
DFI NF4 Ultra-D /w SLi Mod
Storm G4, Dual Radiical Rad, MCP655, passive watercooling.
Team Xtreem 1GB (2 X 512) UTT BH5 @ 230MHz (Can do 250~)
2 X 120GB Seagate .7 SATA in Raid 0
Leadtek 7800GTX @ Stock
Coolermaster 650W PSU
X-Fi XtremeMusic
Logitech Z5500's
hmm....Not much to improve on there really. However perhaps another 1GB of RAM, and better soundcard. Maybe a look at AM2 or C2D as well.

Mine;
Intel E6600 at 3.2Ghz
Asus P5B Deluxe
Zalman CNPS9700 LED
1GB Kingston Value DDR2 667Mhz RAM
edit: 320GB SATA-II Seagate + 80GB SATA Seagate
Asus X300SE ~4400Mhz Core, 200Mhz Memory~
Silverstone 560W Zeus PSU
Pioneer A-103 Amp (shit I know) with Wharfedale's.

Last edited by aZn.ov.Darkness; 13th April 2007 at 12:14 PM.
aZn.ov.Darkness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 11:35 AM   #26
gamb[it]
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 179
Default

^more storage space, better video.^

Since everyone seems to be posting high end machines, here is my HTPC - what can i upgrade WITHOUT changing the motherboard?
- I don't game on it.

PIII 1Ghz (max speed for board)
512MB sd-ram (max capacity for board)
FX-5900xt 128mb VIVO passive
80GB + 320GB HDD's
Chaintech AV-710 7.1 soundcard
200W amp + 2xDSE bookshelp speakers
Proview 19" WS LCD
Logitec cordless KB+Mouse
108MBps wireless networked
gamb[it] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 11:38 AM   #27
theFish
Member
 
theFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 226
Default

Lol, CPU and RAM are maxed out, and it's not for gaming so don't bother with gfx card... I don't know, set up RAID on an expansion slot controller?


My gaming-uni rig:

E6300 @ 2.4ghz
Gigabyte 965P-S3
2gb Hynix DDR2-533 @ 686
Palit 7900GS @ 600/720
2x200 Seagate Sata RAID-0
2x250 Seagate SataII
Logitech Z-2300 2.1 speakers
Samsung 730BF and 913B
__________________
Thousands of dollars in Trades: curlygal, jughead13, CrippledKilla, acraig, schmoove, Lukey, kogi, Rex, Daggy, lethoso, jigoddard, CrazyDez, 2zzpowa
PC: i5 750 | GA-P55A-DS3 | Gigabyte GTX460 | 2x2GB Patriot DDR3-1333 | 2x Samsung 226BW | Logitech Z-2300 | Sennheiser HD25-1 II
theFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 11:40 AM   #28
konvulse
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Melbourne, 3204
Posts: 132
Default

Better speakers to 5.1

my specs in like.. a week:

AMD x2 3600 AM2 Dual core
1gb DDR2 533 Kingston ram
Nvidia 6800GS DDR3
180GB IDE hard drive
15GB backup
Harman/Kardon 4 speakers
/shrug 15" lcd. [hides in a hole]
Logitech G15
Logitech MX518
Razer Mantis Control Mouse Pad
__________________
Main Specs: e2160 @ 3.2Ghz (Scythe Kama + AS5) l P965-DS3P l 2GB Corsair Twinx C5DHX l 8600GTS l Antec Neo 480W l Audigy ZS2

Last edited by konvulse; 13th April 2007 at 11:42 AM.
konvulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 11:46 AM   #29
Sureshot
Member
 
Sureshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by konvulse View Post
Better speakers to 5.1

my specs in like.. a week:

AMD x2 3600 AM2 Dual core
1gb DDR2 533 Kingston ram
Nvidia 6800GS DDR3
180GB IDE hard drive
15GB backup
Harman/Kardon 4 speakers
/shrug 15" lcd. [hides in a hole]
I'd add a second Gb of RAM. The other option is at least a 19 inch LCD.

Now my machine:

AMD X2 4600+ Socket 939 CPU
2Gb Corsair 250Mhz DDR Ram
nVidia 8800GTS GPU
Abit AN8-SLI Motherboard (Soon to be replaced with Fatal1ty board)
1.5Tb of storage over 6 drives
Sony stereo system for PC speakers
Dell 24 inch 2405FPW monitor
Logitech G15 keyboard
Logitech MX500 mouse
Antec P180 case
DVD-Rom and DVDRW drives
__________________
Intel I5 2500K 4.2Ghz | Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3-B3 | ATi R9 290x | 2 X Corsair Series 3 120GB SSD
16 GB RAM |Silverstone Raven RV01 | Triple Eyefinity Dell 2405FPW | Logitech G15
Sureshot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 12:55 PM   #30
Tobes1990
Member
 
Tobes1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Posts: 3,136
Default

G5 mouse and 4gb of ram are the only real improvements there, maybe SLI.

I know what i need for mine, just helping others.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by flareau View Post
if you really want to multi-task, piss on your tooth brush - thus also saving water.
OCAU Metal Club - Member #9999 | last.fm | Buy my Car!
Good People/Traders: nikloas, Lichey, vanlan2010, Simonk83, Demonic2005, dudemachine, sml_nail, NetGX, Thrawn, anark1, ozdealer, master phi, tzortst
Tobes1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
computer, upgrade

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 5:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!