Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Overclocking & Hardware

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th April 2007, 2:03 PM   #31
toe2toe
Member
 
toe2toe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,168
Default

You could do with an extra GB of ram for your laptop Tobes.

My PC is in my sig.
__________________
DESKTOP: Intel NUC6i7KYK RAM: 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2400MHz HDD: Samsung 950 Pro 512GB Screen: ASUS PA328Q
SERVER: Fit-PC2i 2GHz RAM: 2GB HDD: WD 1TB + USB 1TB
CHROMEBOX: ASUS M075U RAM: 16GB Crucial MEDIA: Nvidia Shield Pro Android TV
toe2toe is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 13th April 2007, 2:04 PM   #32
jarryd98
Member
 
jarryd98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,934
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toe2toe View Post
You could do with an extra GB of ram for your laptop Tobes.

My PC is in my sig.

Whole system Upgrade for you buddy, especially with Vista here now. Keep the Monitor/case/psu/hdd's though.
But if you wanted to be cheeky you could get a 7600gt Agp (or if you got the cash, an x1950pro), a 3200+ cpu (if you can track one down for sktA), and another gb of ram.
Here's mine:

CPU: A64 3200+ @2.35Ghz
Ram: 1x 1gb Generic Crap ddr400
Mobo: Asus A8n Sli Deluxe
GFX: X1950pro
HDD: 250gb Sata2, 120gb ide.
Keyboard: M$ Ergo 4000
Mouse: M$ Laser Pro 6000
Other crap: 1x Sony dvd rom, 1x Netgear Wg311v3 Wifi card.

What does I needs People!

Jarryd98.
__________________

"When you're racing, it's life, anything that happens before or after, is just waiting." - Michael Delaney (Steve McQueen), 'Le Mans'.

Last edited by jarryd98; 13th April 2007 at 2:09 PM.
jarryd98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 2:15 PM   #33
FB008
Member
 
FB008's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Uncanny Valley
Posts: 9,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jarryd98 View Post
Whole system Upgrade for you buddy, especially with Vista here now. Keep the Monitor/case/psu/hdd's though.
But if you wanted to be cheeky you could get a 7600gt Agp (or if you got the cash, an x1950pro), a 3200+ cpu (if you can track one down for sktA), and another gb of ram.
Here's mine:

CPU: A64 3200+ @2.35Ghz
Ram: 1x 1gb Generic Crap ddr400
Mobo: Asus A8n Sli Deluxe
GFX: X1950pro
HDD: 250gb Sata2, 120gb ide.
Keyboard: M$ Ergo 4000
Mouse: M$ Laser Pro 6000
Other crap: 1x Sony dvd rom, 1x Netgear Wg311v3 Wifi card.

What does I needs People!

Jarryd98.
probably get some better ram, an extra gig won't hurt it.
and a dvd burner of sorts should be good, they're cheap as these days

My system:
abit an8 fatality
amd s939 opteron 165 @ 2.6 GHz
2x1gig tram xtreem ddr500
albatron 7900gt super hi extreme
2x 320 gig seagate, 1x 250gig seagate
leadtek dtv2000 digital tv tuner card
asus dvd-rw
onboard sound
hiper 580w type-r psu
lian-li pc-v1000+ black
logitech x230 speakers
logitech g5 mouse / g15 keyboard
dell 2405 screen

on windows xp professional (vista hater here)

not upgrading for a while, spending money on more important things but criticise my system anyway

edit: @ SLATYE - yeah that was gonna be my next upgrade actually, just to wait for the next nvidia refresh of the 8 series
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agg
urrrrgghhhthlskjtgb;snbs

Last edited by FB008; 13th April 2007 at 2:32 PM.
FB008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 2:20 PM   #34
SLATYE
SLATYE, not SLAYTE
 
SLATYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 26,787
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FB008 View Post
not upgrading for a while, spending money on more important things but criticise my system anyway
I think the next thing you'll need to upgrade is the video card - but that won't be for a long time (definitely wait until all the DX10 mid-range cards come out and then get their first update).

My PC:

Pentium-D 805
Gigabyte 8I865GMK-775
1GB DDR400 RAM @ DDR266
Radeon 9800 Pro
Pioneer DVD-116S
LG GSA-4163B DVDRW
3.5" + 5.25" FDD
17" CMV LCD
19" CRT
CoolerMaster CM Stacker STC-T01
Antec SP2.0 500w

I suspect that the response to this will be "upgrade everything except the case".
__________________
Supermicro X8DAE | 2x Xeon L5640 | 24GB ECC/registered DDR3-1333 | 256GB Intel 740 SSD
SLATYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 2:33 PM   #35
kr0nic
Member
 
kr0nic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 983
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLATYE View Post
I think the next thing you'll need to upgrade is the video card - but that won't be for a long time (definitely wait until all the DX10 mid-range cards come out and then get their first update).

My PC:

Pentium-D 805
Gigabyte 8I865GMK-775
1GB DDR400 RAM @ DDR266
Radeon 9800 Pro
Pioneer DVD-116S
LG GSA-4163B DVDRW
3.5" + 5.25" FDD
17" CMV LCD
19" CRT
CoolerMaster CM Stacker STC-T01
Antec SP2.0 500w

I suspect that the response to this will be "upgrade everything except the case".
Upgrade everything except the ........ oh

Would of been a nice system when it was built i would imagine.

My crapper....

C2D e6300 @ 3.2 Ghz
1 G Viesta DDR2 800 (getting another gig when i can afford it)
Gigabyte GA-965P - DS3 Rev 3.3 (remindeds me i need to update my sig)
Sony DVD-RW
3 x Barracuda HDD's
Sparkle 8800 GTS
Antec Trupower 500

Installing WC gear when it arrives (hope its at home when i get there)
__________________
C2D Q6600 G0 @ 3.5Ghz|Gigabyte P35 DS3p|2 GB G.Skill DDR2 800 HZ| Sparkle 8800 GTS | To many HDD's to list....| Silverstone 800W PS

Successful Trades - sammy_b0i, Reetzy
OCAU Extreme Cooling Club H2O Member

Last edited by kr0nic; 13th April 2007 at 2:37 PM.
kr0nic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 2:44 PM   #36
Taceo Corpus
Member
 
Taceo Corpus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Posts: 3,246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kr0nic View Post
Upgrade everything except the ........ oh

Would of been a nice system when it was built i would imagine.

My crapper....

C2D e6300 @ 3.2 Ghz
1 G Viesta DDR2 800 (getting another gig when i can afford it)
Gigabyte GA-965P - DS3 Rev 3.3 (remindeds me i need to update my sig)
Sony DVD-RW
3 x Barracuda HDD's
Sparkle 8800 GTS
Antec Trupower 500

Installing WC gear when it arrives (hope its at home when i get there)
Next upgrade will be the RAM for you.

My system:

P4 3.2 Prescott @ stock.
1GB RAM (Corsair CM2X512-5400C4 kit)
LG Super Multi DVD-RW
DFI Infinity 975X/G
1x Seagate 250GB SATA2 HDD
2x Hiatchi Deskstar 80GB SATA HDDs
Sparkle 8800GTS
Antec Smartpower 2.0 (550W)
Benq 17" FP71G
__________________
Travel & Photo Blog: http://www.dfcowell.net RSS
Taceo Corpus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 2:47 PM   #37
WaLLLY
Member
 
WaLLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Campbelltown
Posts: 7,078
Default

Bigger Monitor would be pretty handy dfcowell.

My System in sig.
__________________
PC: Intel Q6600 | Gigabyte P35-DS3P | EVGA GTX280 SC| 4.0gb 800mhz | Coolermaster 690 /w | 226BW LCD | TOTAL 7.0 TB
Trades: Sureshot, Mr Sti, spawn154, karnage112, Will S, Bastard Child, Coil

| www.hachiroku.com.au | HR Army | 日本語出血パンダ! |
WaLLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 2:54 PM   #38
wwwww
Member
 
wwwww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaLLLY View Post
Bigger Monitor would be pretty handy dfcowell.

My System in sig.
Get an X2, more memory, love the vid card...:P

Wwwww's Entertainment PC
Asus all-in-one AMD 690G chipset board
AMD AM2 X2 4200 LV
4x Micron 256MB
Leadtek 7800GTX
Antec Fusion case with stock PSU
Dell Perc5 SAS Controller
2x36GB 10k 2.5" Drives RAID1 (boot)
2x80GB 7.2k 2.5" Drives RAID1 (apps)
4x320GB 7.2k 3.5" Drives RAID5 (storage)
30" Dell
Hiper Calvier Keybd
Razor blue mouse

Wwwww's Mini-Server
Asus all-in-one nForce 6100 chipset board
AMD AM2 X2 5600
4xMicron Fatbody D9 512MB ECC
Antec Aria with stock PSU
2x2GB Gigabyte I-rams in RAID1 (database/webspace)
2x74GB Raptors in RAID1 (boot)
__________________
wPrime 2.10 | Super PI 1.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSanity View Post
This is literally the worst advice on the internet, ever.
wwwww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 3:10 PM   #39
Leaf_Killer
Member
 
Leaf_Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 548
Default

E6300 B2 @ 3.23ghz
2gb of G.Skill NT 667mhz (budget ram from when the prices were high last year)
965P-DS3 rev 1.0
Dieing Palit 7900GS
160gb sata2
40gb ide
Thermaltake ToughPower 850W (got it for $120 3months old)
15" Philips LCD

EDIT: wwwww you should upgrade the videocard in your entertainment pc if you game at all.

Last edited by Leaf_Killer; 13th April 2007 at 3:13 PM.
Leaf_Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 3:16 PM   #40
MatterHorn
(Taking a Break)
 
MatterHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leaf_Killer View Post
E6300 B2 @ 3.23ghz
2gb of G.Skill NT 667mhz (budget ram from when the prices were high last year)
965P-DS3 rev 1.0
Dieing Palit 7900GS
160gb sata2
40gb ide
Thermaltake ToughPower 850W (got it for $120 3months old)
15" Philips LCD

EDIT: wwwww you should upgrade the videocard in your entertainment pc if you game at all.
Um, I'd probably go for a faster video card, larger monitor, and possibly more HDD space (if you need the extra space).

Onto my PC:

- E6600 @ 3.6Ghz (Thermalright Sl-128)
- 6GB PC6400 Ram
- Asus Striker Extreme motherboard
- Areca 1220 PCI-E raid card
- 12 x 320GB seagate SATA
- Enermax 1000w PSU
- 2 x 8800GTX
- XFI Extreme Music
- Dell 24"
- Pioneer DVD writer
- Windows XP & Vista Ultimate 64bit
- CM Stacker 810


Last edited by MatterHorn; 13th April 2007 at 3:24 PM.
MatterHorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 3:20 PM   #41
stussy
Member
 
stussy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,216
Default

Sorry can't comment on wwwww's as it looks quite good, but I'm not an expert. Although, I would consider upgrading the ram to 4*512MB sticks depending on what you constitute as 'entertainment'.

But could someone rate my laptop, and perhaps recommend if I need an upgrade:

Toshiba A100
1.66Ghz Intel Pro Duo
2*512MB Hynix So-Dimm DDR2 PC-(dual-channel) 667mhz PC5300 RAM
Nvidia Geforce 7300 128MB on-board, 128MB shared video card
15.4" widescreen screen with Trubrite display

Perhaps there are some settings I should play around with?
stussy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 3:39 PM   #42
wwwww
Member
 
wwwww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,180
Default

Oh it's just for TV, DVDs, etc - I don't really game - only reason I have the 7800GTX in there is 'cause the onboard chipset artifacts at high resolutions.
__________________
wPrime 2.10 | Super PI 1.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSanity View Post
This is literally the worst advice on the internet, ever.
wwwww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 3:41 PM   #43
CommanderEl
Member
 
CommanderEl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 186
Default

MatterHorn, all you need to do is drop a Quad Core in that beast and you are laughing. I wouldnt suspsect an upgrade of any sort would give you a massive performance boost in gaming, for folding, quad core would own.


stussy, ditch the 2x 512 sticks of ram and chuck in 2x1gb sticks.
Laptops are pretty wanky for performance, but for gaming, yours doesn't seem too bad. 1 thing i would love to see more of is 7200rpm disks in mid range laptops. Having 5400rpm sucks ass (using laptop for work). So maybe upgrade what you can (ram + disks) for now.

My rig is in sig.
__________________
| Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.01GHZ | Synthe Ninja | Asus P5K | Gainward 8800GT Golden Sample @ 650/1900 | Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5 | 2 x WD WD3200JS | 2 x WD WD5000AAKS | Digidesign MBox2 | Ultrasone DJ1-Pro Headphones | ASUS Lightscribe SATA | Corsair HX 620W | Lian Li v1000+ Black | Dell 3007 WFP HC | Dell 2407 WFP | Logitech G15 | Logitech G5 | Steelseries 5L |
CommanderEl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 3:44 PM   #44
FFC
Member
 
FFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,759
Default

PC is in sig.

My next upgrade I will pretty much need to do everything, motherboard, CPU, RAM, GFX Card. Girlfriend will either get my current or it will be turned into a HTPC.

As for the above laptop, it looks a bit dated, im not really sure. I know nothing about current laptop specs.
FFC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 3:45 PM   #45
Modafroman
Member
 
Modafroman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,040
Default

Next upgrade ffc would probably be C2D/new graphics card

Next logical upgrade for me is new graphics card/lcd screen.
__________________
Audio: Westone W30 | Hifiman HE-400i | MrSpeakers Mad Dog Pro | Meier Audio Corda Classic + DACCORD Stack | Photo: 5D Mk3 | X100S+TC+WC | 17-40mm/24-105mm/70-200mm f4L | Σ 50mm f1.4 | \o/CHAIR RAVER \o/
PC: i7 6850K | Asus X99-D-II | 32GB GSkill Trident Z | EVGA GTX1080 FTW | Custom Loop - EK Supremacy Evo+EK-FC1080-FTW+360mm+280mm Rads | Samsung 950 Pro 512GB | Samsung 830 Pro 256GB | 3x3TB RAID0 | Corsair 750D | Corsair AX860i | Dell U2713H+U2311H |
Modafroman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
computer, upgrade

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 5:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!