Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Overclocking & Hardware

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15th April 2007, 2:40 PM   #76
SLi_dog
Member
 
SLi_dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NT
Posts: 2,283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beavy View Post
I'd put in a better processor or overclock your existing one for a bit more grunt!

X2 3600+
2GB DDR2 667
7600GT SLI
2*250GB WD SATA 2 RAID0
320GB SG SATA2
Antec 450W in Sonata II
19" Wide Polyview
I'd get an E4400 and an P5N-E SLI after the 22nd for a performance boost

E6600
P5NE-SLI
2GB GeIL PC6400 Ultra Cas4
BFG 8800GTX OC
Tuniq Tower 120
Tt 750W ToughPower
WD Raptor 74GB
17" Optima LCD ()
SLi_dog is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 15th April 2007, 5:03 PM   #77
somebloke
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 217
Default

more cores!!

CPU: X2 3800+ @ 2.75GHz (275 * 10)
RAM: 1Gb (2x 512Mb) Generic PC3200, 229MHz @ 2.5-3-3-8
MOBO: DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra D
Vid: Gigabyte (passive cooled) 6600GT 256MB (Core 550MHz, RAM 1.07GHz)
HDD: 2x WD1600JS (RAID0)
Sound: Onboard w/ z-5500D
Monitor: BenQ 17something... (the one with speakers, not that i use 'em)

Mainly used for folding (team 24), light gaming and watching all those linux ISO's

Last edited by somebloke; 15th April 2007 at 11:44 PM. Reason: Forgot some stuff.. ooooops
somebloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2007, 11:35 PM   #78
pugsley
Member
 
pugsley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North of Brisvegas!
Posts: 7,596
Default

Possibly a graphics upgrade or ram depending o the amount (You didnt specify)

Mobo: Asus A8n32 SLI Deluxe
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 4200+ X2 sitting at 2.47 atm
RAM: 2X 1gig OCZ PC4000 Gold GX XTC
Graphics: XFX 7800GTX 256mb 490MHz
Audio: Creative XFI Platinum
Storage: Western Digital 320gb 7200RPM
PSU: TT 520W Power Station
Monitor: Benq 20" Widescreen 8ms|
__________________
You are about to be Assimilated resistance is futile... LAN IndexF@H
All Hail the MEATSMITH!

Quote:
Originally Posted by damn duck View Post
Why is it so easy to get "rational" people to fight one another over the most meaningless shit?
pugsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2007, 1:05 AM   #79
mr_mordred2095 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,811
Default

OMG what have I created lol.
mr_mordred2095 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2007, 2:02 AM   #80
AssM@N
Member
 
AssM@N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NSW
Posts: 2,447
Default

you need more storage space, prob go for raid1?

Mobo: some Asus crap, i forgt
CPU: AMD Athlon thunderbird 1ghz
RAM: 2x256mb DDR
Graphics: gf2mx
Audio: onboard
Storage: 20gig seagate
PSU: yumcha crap
Monitor: 17'' samsung
__________________
my GF is hot because I overclocked her
AssM@N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2007, 10:10 AM   #81
Damn_Good
Member
 
Damn_Good's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,649
Default

If you need to run anything more than Word 6.0 on Win 98 id say a new system altogether.

My Rig=
x2 4200+
Asus A8N-Sli Premium
2gb Geil ddr400
LW 7800Gt Extreme
2x 74gb raptors, 4 x WD 400gb
Audigy 2, Pioneer DV-112
v1100+ w/ Antec TP550w
Gives about 4k in 3dmark06, but i play CoH, BF2, AOE3 on max settings
Damn_Good is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2007, 10:29 AM   #82
fredhoon
Member
 
fredhoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,005
Default

Unless you wanted to play newer games on max, there is nothing much that can be done to your system. Short term grab an 8800GTS to squeeze a few extra frames, Long term is an overhaul to C2D. Nice system, the X2's still kick along fine for me.

My System:

x2 3800+ @ 2.5GHz 1:1 (crap mem controller)
2G DDR 500MHz BHZ
DFI etc... SLI-DR Expert
8800GTS 320MB
2x 36G Raptor, 1x 120G Seagate (i have a server for storage)
Antec TC 550W, Pioneer DVR-111D
WC - 120.2 & Apodgee

It kicks along, can't run NWN2 at full prettiness though (dynamic lights 4+ sources, crazy shadows, lots of AA/AF) which shits me, may be CPU limited?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by NSanity View Post
Does your Agile Full Stack Token Ring Dev role include your research into ideas that were stupid 30 years ago and are still stupid today?
Go soothingly on the grease mud as there lurks a skid demon.
fredhoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2007, 11:36 AM   #83
R3xx
(Banned or Deleted)
 
R3xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,453
Default

Fred: Definitely CPU limited. Recommend CPU, board and RAM upgrade if you wanna play games with full eye candy. The GFX card is nice but is being bottlenecked by the CPU.

Sig is out of date...

- Xeon 3060 at 3GHz
- Scythe Infinity
- Asus P5W64-WS Pro
- 2GB G.Skill PC6400 HZ
- XFX 7950GT at 650/1600
- 74GB Raptor (16MB cache)
- WD4000AAKS
- X-Fi Extreme Music
- Antec Neo HE 500W
- Antec Solo Case
- Chimei CMV-221DB
- Saitek Eclipse Keyboard and Logitech G7 mouse

Would like to run some games better at 1680x1050, definitely need a new GFX card I reckon. Runs everything else just fine.
R3xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2007, 12:39 PM   #84
toe2toe
Member
 
toe2toe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by R3xx View Post
Fred: Definitely CPU limited. Recommend CPU, board and RAM upgrade if you wanna play games with full eye candy. The GFX card is nice but is being bottlenecked by the CPU.

Sig is out of date...

- Xeon 3060 at 3GHz
- Scythe Infinity
- Asus P5W64-WS Pro
- 2GB G.Skill PC6400 HZ
- XFX 7950GT at 650/1600
- 74GB Raptor (16MB cache)
- WD4000AAKS
- X-Fi Extreme Music
- Antec Neo HE 500W
- Antec Solo Case
- Chimei CMV-221DB
- Saitek Eclipse Keyboard and Logitech G7 mouse

Would like to run some games better at 1680x1050, definitely need a new GFX card I reckon. Runs everything else just fine.
Get yourself an 8900 or one of the new ATI cards when they come out, should give you decent frames.

I've already posted in the thread before but I've overclocked my pc (in sig) a bit more since then. Lets see if the answer changes.
__________________
DESKTOP: Intel NUC6i7KYK RAM: 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2400MHz HDD: Samsung 950 Pro 512GB Screen: ASUS PA328Q
SERVER: Fit-PC2i 2GHz RAM: 2GB HDD: WD 1TB + USB 1TB
CHROMEBOX: ASUS M075U RAM: 16GB Crucial MEDIA: Nvidia Shield Pro Android TV
toe2toe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2007, 1:01 PM   #85
ShaneHm2
Member
 
ShaneHm2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toe2toe View Post
Get yourself an 8900 or one of the new ATI cards when they come out, should give you decent frames.

I've already posted in the thread before but I've overclocked my pc (in sig) a bit more since then. Lets see if the answer changes.
not sure if this is ur current rig in ur sig:
My beast (needs an upgrade I know!) - CPU: AXP 2100+@2013MHz (11x183) Mobo: Abit NF7-S v2.0
RAM: 1GB Corsair DDR400 Graphics: Leadtek GF4 Ti4200 Storage: WD 120GB Screen: Dell 2007WFP
Case: Antec Sonata II PSU: Antec SP 450W Optical: Lite-On DVD-RW, Pioneer slot-loading DVD-ROM

then upgrade ur graphics card

my rig:
CPU: Amd Athlon 3500+ AM2
Motherboard: Gigabyte M55PLUS-S3G
RAM: 2 x 512MB DDR-2 PC4300
GFX: 512MB 7600GS gigabyte cooled by a Zalman vf700-alcu
HD's: 320GB Seagate SATA and 120GB wd sata in a external case via usb 2.0
optical: lg dual layer dvd burner
monitor: 19" LCD samsung 940N
other: shit mouse and keyboard and dialup modem for backup net
case and psu: coolermaster rc-532 and 380w coolermaster psu from it
__________________
[Logitech 'G' Owners Club Member #120]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merudo View Post
my retard ex girlfriend fell for this, because they gave her a six month subscription to marie claire.

What a fucking idiot.
ShaneHm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2007, 1:14 PM   #86
xosfear
Member
 
xosfear's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 829
Default

^ i'd put more ram in. best thing i ever did was upgrade to 2gb.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AssM@N View Post
you need more storage space, prob go for raid1?

Mobo: some Asus crap, i forgt
CPU: AMD Athlon thunderbird 1ghz
RAM: 2x256mb DDR
Graphics: gf2mx
Audio: onboard
Storage: 20gig seagate
PSU: yumcha crap
Monitor: 17'' samsung
wait, thats your main rig, when you have all those pc's in your sig ?


my pc:
Pentium D 3Ghz
2gb Generic 533mhz DDR2
320gb Seagate 7200
Asus EN7900GT 256mb
Yum Cha 600w PSU
__________________
Nunc est bibendum

Last edited by xosfear; 16th April 2007 at 1:19 PM.
xosfear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2007, 1:27 PM   #87
ggya
Member
 
ggya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 392
Default

@ ShaneHm2: A decent budget rig, but you'd definitely need a new video card if you want to experience the goodness of today's games

@ xosfear: For my needs, that rig would be good for me. Not sure what games you're playing, but either way that should last you a while

E6600 cooled by a Scythe Ninja Plus Rev. B
ASUS P5B
1GB 533mhz Corsair Valueselect
250GB Seagate
X1950 Pro 512MB cooled by a Thermalright HR-03
Antec TPII 480W
Samsung 940BW 19 inch LCD
G11 Keyboard and G5 Mouse
Coolermaster Mystique 632
ggya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2007, 1:30 PM   #88
ShaneHm2
Member
 
ShaneHm2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ggya View Post
@ ShaneHm2: A decent budget rig, but you'd definitely need a new video card if you want to experience the goodness of today's games

@ xosfear: For my needs, that rig would be good for me. Not sure what games you're playing, but either way that should last you a while

E6600 cooled by a Scythe Ninja Plus Rev. B
ASUS P5B
1GB 533mhz Corsair Valueselect
250GB Seagate
X1950 Pro 512MB cooled by a Thermalright HR-03
Antec TPII 480W
Samsung 940BW 19 inch LCD
G11 Keyboard and G5 Mouse
Coolermaster Mystique 632
well pending finances probably and another gb of ram and a dual core cpu upgrade and a 320mb 8800gts ? what u reckon ?
__________________
[Logitech 'G' Owners Club Member #120]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merudo View Post
my retard ex girlfriend fell for this, because they gave her a six month subscription to marie claire.

What a fucking idiot.
ShaneHm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2007, 1:42 PM   #89
Crash Dummy
Member
 
Crash Dummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Posts: 1,731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ggya View Post
@ ShaneHm2: A decent budget rig, but you'd definitely need a new video card if you want to experience the goodness of today's games

@ xosfear: For my needs, that rig would be good for me. Not sure what games you're playing, but either way that should last you a while

E6600 cooled by a Scythe Ninja Plus Rev. B
ASUS P5B
1GB 533mhz Corsair Valueselect
250GB Seagate
X1950 Pro 512MB cooled by a Thermalright HR-03
Antec TPII 480W
Samsung 940BW 19 inch LCD
G11 Keyboard and G5 Mouse
Coolermaster Mystique 632
On a budget I'd suggest grab another 1GB of RAM and maybe a hard drive if you need it. Apart from that I can't fault anything.

My system (here we go) LAUGH IT UP!

AthlonXP 2600+ @ 2300Mhz (200Mhz FSB)
Abit NF7-S rev 2.0
1GB total of Corsair XMS3200 as the slowest stick. The other stick is a XMS3500C2 (BH-5 BABY WOO!!!)
Geforce 6800GS 512MB (256bit) GDDR3 450Mhz core clock, 1Ghz memclk
2x Seagate Baracuda 7200.8 PATA 200GB drives, Seagate 200GB SATA, Samsung 400GB SATAII. 1TB total
Liteon 18x DVD writer. Sorry I can't remember the product code.
Old school Lite-on 16x DVD-ROM
460w Zalman silent power supply

System is still watercooled in a different case from what is in the PCDB but still uses the same cooling hardware.
One thing I'd really like to mention to all here now also is that this is by far the most stable, quiet and versatile system I've ever had. I've been using this for what must be bang on 3 years now and to be honest yes I know it's old but it is far from the old days of computing where a 3 year old system is fit for the bin.
Crash Dummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2007, 4:39 PM   #90
AssM@N
Member
 
AssM@N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NSW
Posts: 2,447
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damn_Good View Post
If you need to run anything more than Word 6.0 on Win 98 id say a new system altogether.
geez thanks for the kind comment

i think its still good though, i still run cs and other games!! and im running win XP!!!
__________________
my GF is hot because I overclocked her
AssM@N is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
computer, upgrade

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!