Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Overclocking & Hardware

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th April 2007, 8:08 PM   #91
Tobes1990
Member
 
Tobes1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Posts: 3,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haillion View Post
I have the system in my sig, so would a core 2 6420 and 4Gb ram be a good upgrade?
I'd go a DX10 card before a new CPU. 4gb of ram = Only useful in Vista.

Maybe a bigger PSU?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by flareau View Post
if you really want to multi-task, piss on your tooth brush - thus also saving water.
OCAU Metal Club - Member #9999 | last.fm | Buy my Car!
Good People/Traders: nikloas, Lichey, vanlan2010, Simonk83, Demonic2005, dudemachine, sml_nail, NetGX, Thrawn, anark1, ozdealer, master phi, tzortst
Tobes1990 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 16th April 2007, 8:29 PM   #92
R3xx
(Banned or Deleted)
 
R3xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,453
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobes1990 View Post
I'd go a DX10 card before a new CPU. 4gb of ram = Only useful in Vista.

Maybe a bigger PSU?
No way, that GFX card is already borderline being bottlenecked by that CPU. Go the CPU first and 4GB is not yet required and if u do upgrade to 4GB you will have to go a 64-bit OS as well which brings driver issues.
R3xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2007, 8:35 PM   #93
Rofl_Copter
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria (3106)
Posts: 272
Default

^ should move to an 8800 video card
Rofl_Copter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2007, 10:20 PM   #94
Shinanigans
Member
 
Shinanigans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central Coast
Posts: 4,833
Default

Cool idea for a thread

I can't comment on the above persons rig, coz there is none

Mine...

E6600 + Tuniq 120
Gigabyte 965P-DS3
2x 1024mb Corsair V.S. DDR2 667
Asus 7950GT 512mb + VF900
1x 320GB Seagate 16mb
1x 250GB WD 8mb
1x Pioneer DVR111D
Antec 900
Silverstone ST60F
Chimei 22"
G7
__________________
i7 6700K /w U12S :: MSI Gaming M5 Z170A :: 32GB Corsair Vengeance :: Gigabyte GTX 970 G1 :: Corsair Obsidian 750D /w AX760 :: 2x Samsung S24D590 :: 3x SSD, 2x HDD
Win7 Performance | 4870CF Performance | P182 vs 900
Shinanigans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 12:37 AM   #95
nmav0709
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Default

+1 for cool thread idea.

Pretty sweet system Shinanigans... buuuuuuut if I had to nitpick - it would be:

a) some faster ram as it would give you a better overclock out of the 6600
b) squeeze a raptor in there
c) watercooling (just for the wank factor :P)

My system specs:

E6400@3.2GHz
2gig Gskill DDR2 (of HZ spec D9 Microns)
1X150gig Raptor
1X400gig Western Digital
Asus P5B Deluxe Wifi
Gigabyte 7900GT@600GPU/800mem +VF900
500W Seasonic M12 Modular
16X Pioneer DVD/RW
22" Acer widescreen
Creative 5.1
3X Nexus 120mm fans.

All gear is cooled by a complete Swiftech Apex 220 watercooling system squeezed entirely into a Lian Li V600B minitower (yes - even the 220mm Radiator which I've roof mounted internally!).

Cheers.
nmav0709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 12:44 AM   #96
Tobes1990
Member
 
Tobes1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Posts: 3,136
Default

8900 when they come out.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by flareau View Post
if you really want to multi-task, piss on your tooth brush - thus also saving water.
OCAU Metal Club - Member #9999 | last.fm | Buy my Car!
Good People/Traders: nikloas, Lichey, vanlan2010, Simonk83, Demonic2005, dudemachine, sml_nail, NetGX, Thrawn, anark1, ozdealer, master phi, tzortst
Tobes1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 2:46 AM   #97
Rofl_Copter
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria (3106)
Posts: 272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shinanigans View Post
Cool idea for a thread

I can't comment on the above persons rig, coz there is none
errrr....notice my sig by any chance?
Rofl_Copter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 4:07 AM   #98
Akimbo
Member
 
Akimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Perth W.A.
Posts: 1,673
Default

Quote:
Hmmm, that's a tough one. I would say faster cpu and definitely upgrade that older video card. The rest is of course fine apart from perhaps going to a 30" monitor
Yes, Yes, and Yes. Q6600 (power/heat efficient), R600 (when it arrives, or even if it does......) Samsung 30" LCD or the LED 30" model, but that might cost heaps for the LED model. Im also planning a 150G Raptor or Solid state drive at a later date. BAH! if it wasnt for a big clump of bills amounting to $1400 this month, id have a couple of those things allready....GRRRRRRR
__________________
Lian Li D8000, Philips BDM4065UC, Samsung S32D850T, 2x 2443BW+, 2x S24C650, Bravia 46" LCD, MSI Godlike, 5960X @ 4.5Ghz, 16GB Kingston 3200Mhz CM Nepton 280L, 3-Way SLi EVGA 4GB GTX680, 3x SSD's + 18 HD's = 24TB , 10TB RAID-5 EX-503, 1xBDRW 1xDVDRW, AX1200i, Logitech Z906 5.1, Sennheiser HD558, CyberPower 2200ELCD, K800 + T650 + MX + F710, Epson Workforce 840, Netgear D6300, Acer Aspire 4741G, iPad III, Galaxy Note 4.
Akimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 12:37 PM   #99
Shinanigans
Member
 
Shinanigans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central Coast
Posts: 4,833
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rofl_Copter View Post
errrr....notice my sig by any chance?
ooer! I shoulda checked to see if you'd already been done!

Quote:
C2D E6600@3.6ghz - TT Big Typhoon with 95CFM TT smartfan - 2GB OCZ Gold @ddr2-800 - Nvidia 640m 8800GTS@630/990 - Asus P5B Deluxe + WiFi- 320gb+200gb SATA hdds - Dvico FusionHDTV Plus - 24" Dell 2405FPW - Logitech Z-2300 at the front, Pioneer hifi at the back - ThermalTake Tsunami case with blue neon - 3DMark '06 - 10824
I'd take a guess at your next upgrade being either an 8800GTX or 8900**. You've got your CPU cranked and decent RAM. Depending on whether you're 64bit or not, you could throw in another 2GB of RAM if you're on Vista
__________________
i7 6700K /w U12S :: MSI Gaming M5 Z170A :: 32GB Corsair Vengeance :: Gigabyte GTX 970 G1 :: Corsair Obsidian 750D /w AX760 :: 2x Samsung S24D590 :: 3x SSD, 2x HDD
Win7 Performance | 4870CF Performance | P182 vs 900
Shinanigans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 12:41 PM   #100
neon_87
RIP
 
neon_87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,757
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nmav0709 View Post
My system specs:

E6400@3.2GHz
2gig Gskill DDR2 (of HZ spec D9 Microns)
1X150gig Raptor
1X400gig Western Digital
Asus P5B Deluxe Wifi
Gigabyte 7900GT@600GPU/800mem +VF900
500W Seasonic M12 Modular
16X Pioneer DVD/RW
22" Acer widescreen
Creative 5.1
3X Nexus 120mm fans.

All gear is cooled by a complete Swiftech Apex 220 watercooling system squeezed entirely into a Lian Li V600B minitower (yes - even the 220mm Radiator which I've roof mounted internally!).

Cheers.
Nice rig. I'd dump an 8800GTS in there next

My rig:

AMD X2 4400+
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
PALIT 7900GT 512MB
2GB OCZ DDR400
Coolermaster Stacker STC-T01 Silver w/ Window
Silverstone ST60F
Creative Audigy 2 ZS
WD800JB
WD2500JB
WD2000JB
WD2000JD x4
ST3320620AS
WD5000KS
WD5000AAKS x2
Pioneer 111D
Samsung 215TW 21" Widescreen
Logitech G15
Razer Copperhead
Logitech Z-640

Does the job
neon_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 4:54 PM   #101
evan2002
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mudgeeraba
Posts: 43
Default

I would say your next upgrade would be to dx10 graphics..

my rig:
6600 C2D
8800GTS 640MB
Gigabyte 965P-DS3P
2GB DDR800 ADATA
22" Samsung LCD
Lian Li PC60+
Logitech Z5400
Logitech G15
Razer Copperhead
WD 250GB + WD 120GB
Pioneer 16x DVD Burner (dunno what model)
evan2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 5:41 PM   #102
spikes
Member
 
spikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,731
Default

all stock speeds my XBX can't overclock

Intel C2D E6300
Intel D975XBX
PQI Turbo PC4200 3-3-3-8
Seagate 160GB SATA II (storage)
2x Western Digital 200GB SATA II (storage
XFX 8800GTX @ stock
Samsung 18x DL DVD burner

WC"ing info:

Swiftech Storm rev1
EK FC8800GTX
BIX2
Laing DDC with petra's
Swiftech MCRES res
spikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 6:51 PM   #103
oohms
Member
 
oohms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne 3030
Posts: 2,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spikes View Post
all stock speeds my XBX can't overclock

Intel C2D E6300
Intel D975XBX
PQI Turbo PC4200 3-3-3-8
Seagate 160GB SATA II (storage)
2x Western Digital 200GB SATA II (storage
XFX 8800GTX @ stock
Samsung 18x DL DVD burner

WC"ing info:

Swiftech Storm rev1
EK FC8800GTX
BIX2
Laing DDC with petra's
Swiftech MCRES res
A mobo that can overclock, like the abit quad GT or the dfi infinity 965 (when its available here)
oohms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 7:25 PM   #104
Un_OC
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,507
Default

Spikes will have trouble overclocking with that ram.. 4200.. at that speed you have to overclock the ram as you overclock the CPU.. so i'd also add better ram...

oohms, for your rig, i'd say more ram... another 2gb wouldn't hurt... and if you do multimedia stuff, a e6420 wouldn't hurt either... or an e6600


You didn't mention your screen either.. but if it's smaller than a 22" Widescreen, i'd upgrade to a 22" WideScreen....

my rig: (2nd time to comment on it)...
Intel Celeron 1.5ghz
256mb of ddr (1 stick)
nVidia GeForce 420 16mb of graphics....
20GB HDD
CD/DVD reader (not burner.. and it'll only accept some CD's and DVD's)...
__________________
System
Desktop - 965P-DS3 | e6320 | 2GB PC6400 A-DATA | Asus 7900GS | Seagate 7200.10 320gb | ASUS DVD burner lightscribe | CM Extreme 430w | 22" Chimei Widescreen LCD | Logitech MX Revolution | G11 | Logitech X-230 2.1 speakers | Vista Home Premium
Un_OC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 7:33 PM   #105
-KoMoD0-
Member
 
-KoMoD0-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Western Sydney
Posts: 9,031
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Un_OC View Post
my rig: (2nd time to comment on it)...
Intel Celeron 1.5ghz
256mb of ddr (1 stick)
nVidia GeForce 420 16mb of graphics....
20GB HDD
CD/DVD reader (not burner.. and it'll only accept some CD's and DVD's)...
Perfect web or file server specs
Getsome more ram and a few pci ide cards then your set for fileserving goodness

CPU: Sempr0n 2800 @2.4ghz
Ram: 2gb DDR 400
Mobo: Gigabyte K8NS
HDD1: 200gb IDE (WD)
HDD2: 200gb IDE (samsung)
HDD3: 320gb SATA (seagate)
HDD4: 300gb SATA (seagate)
Gfx: 6800gs agp (unlocked yay)
Sound: Audigy 2 zs
Optical: LG 18x dvd burner
Case: Antec Sonata 2
PSU: 450w Antec
Monitor: 19" chimei WS
Spkr: Logitech z640

old but i see no need to upgrade, does everything i want with no trouble (crysis may change that though)

Last edited by -KoMoD0-; 19th April 2007 at 7:40 PM.
-KoMoD0- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
computer, upgrade

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 3:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!