Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Troubleshooting Help

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 31st July 2002, 7:46 PM   #1
looktall Thread Starter
Working Class Hero
 
looktall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: brabham.wa.au
Posts: 22,703
Default Troubles? heres a procedure list

Troubles? heres a procedure list
Lets make a list of Common problems and the most likely reasons, and how to fix.

WHENEVER INSTALLING NEW HARDWARE MAKE SURE POWER CABLE TO POWERSUPPLY IS DISCONNECTED, EVEN WHEN ATX POWERSUPPLY IS OFF THE 5V STANDBY RAIL IS STILL ACTIVE.

||| CAN'T INSTALL WINDOWS

Problem: various errors during windows installation

1. Check for faulty ram.
2. Check for damaged installtion media.
3. Check for faulty power supply.
4. Check for faulty optical drive.

||| HARD DRIVE NOT DETECTED

Problem: hard drive cannot be detected

1. PCI bus out of specification, can cause problems
2. Power cable faulty or not plugged in
3. IDC cable in incorrectly or faulty CHECK BOTH ENDS
4. Master/Secondary conflict, disconnect all other devices on chain.
5. Check jumper settings. Some drives have a "single drive" setting, and won't work properly as a "slave" or "master" if they are the only drive in the chain.
6. As a last resort, ie.won't work at all after everything has been tried and warranty is no longer valid (not if it's a new HDD), try the freezer method (freeze the hdd in freezer then try again)


||| NEW CPU NOT WORKING
Problem: Damnit, cpu wont work.

1. Cpu incompatible with board
2. Chipped core(only for coppermine/athlon/durons)
3. Socket arm not down
4. BIOS may need reset
5. Fan failier protection may cause motherboard to shut down if there's no power draw on the cpu fan socket, make sure fan is plugged in if this applies to your board.


||| NEW MOTHERBOARD WONT POWER UP
Problem: mobo wont post.

1. Check if grounded properly and there's no shorts
2. Remove all unrequired hardware(soundcard, ide cables etc)
3. Make sure ATX cable is plugged in
4. Make sure your ram and CPU is compatible with this board
5. Dont forget to plug in the atx power button
6. Check bios reset pins
7. Check keyboard wakeup jumper(serious)
8. Check for correct CPU jumper settings. (If Applicable)


||| CONSTANT CRASHES IN WINDOWS
Problem: BSODS etc
1. Check VIA 4in1 drivers(if applic.)
2. Set cpu back to stock
3. Set ram back to stock
4. Apply SB live+via patch(if applic.)
5. Remove all hardware one at a time until problem disapears.


||| CONSTANT RESETS WHILE UNDER LOAD
Problem: resets under load

1. Check powersupply handling capability, test rails with a multimetre NOT ONBOARD VOLTAGE MONITORING
2. Not enough voltage for overclock
3. Overclocked too far
4. videocard,cpu overheating
5. faulty wiring or possible shorting
6. Check All capacitors around the mosFETs supplying power to the cpu, especially if you have an abit/epox board

||| Burns failing
Problem: burning errors

1. Check power(SERIOUS) possible faulty molex plug
2. Enable burn proof
3. remove burner drivers from control panel
4. update your burner software(nero imho causes least problems)
5. Has it happened since installing windows XP? check compatibility.
6. Update firmware
7. make sure DMA is ENABLED IN CONTROL PANEL
8. Put device on seperate chain
9. Make sure PCI bus is relatively in spec(no more than 37mhz)
10. Buy a CD-ROM Lens cleaner, the laser maybe dirty


||| CPU @ XX DEGREES. TOO HOT?

1. Check the fan is functioning
2. Have you applied thermal paste?
3. Apply thermal paste only VERY thinly (almost translucent)
4. Heatsink seated properly?
4a. Socket arm down all the way?
4b. Heatsink collar correct way?
4c. Heatsink not tilted?
5. CPU voltage and speed correct
6. System cooling?

If you system is not unstable, there really is no problem unless you wish to start tweaking
Remember - too hot is a variable thing: What's hot for an Intel CPU may be normal operating temp for an AMD.


||| LAN NOT COMMUNICATING

1. Both computers on same subnet (eg. 192.168.0.X)
2. Using straight-through cables on switch/hub?
3. using cross-over cables for direct?
4. Cable broken?
5. Network hardware functioning (hub, switch, NIC)
6. Ping each other?
6a. Ping but don't see - do you have access permissions
7. you are using a non-internet IP address (192.168.0.x, 10.x.x.x)
8. Plug and play operating systems set to yes in the bios
can cause lan failures


||| SKIPPING MUSIC WHILE PLAYING GAMES/OTHER ACTIVITIES
Problem: mp3s are skipping while im playing games

1. Switch to Waveout in winamp
2. Increase buffer length
3. Increase priority of mp3 playback
4. Increase block size


||| SYSTEM RANDOMLY REBOOTS
1. if using XP or 2K, check to see if the automatically reboot on error function is turned off. (right click on my computer-->properties-->advanced-->start up and recovery[settings]-->system failure-->untick automatically restart)
also appropriate for XP and 2K restarting instead of shutting down.
2. check for faulty ram (You can use http://www.goldmemory.cz/ to test it)
3. check for faulty power supply.


||| ERROR MESSAGE: "There was a problem installing this hardware :Hardware Name.
An error occurred during the installation of this device.
The data is invalid."

Problem: Blue Screen When Trying To Install Hardware And/Or Drivers:
FIX:
To fix this problem, go to Start, Run... and type "regedit" without the quotes, to run the Registry Editor. Navigate your way down to:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\
ENUM\PCI

and you will see a number of keys in the form of "VEN_xxxx", where xxxx are strings like "1102&DEV_0004&SUBSYS_00011103&REV_04". Under each of these folders will be another folder with a long numerical name. Open each folder and look for the "DeviceDesc" which matches the hardware you are trying to install.

Right Click on the "VEN_xxxx" for that device and select 'Permissions' and then tick "Allow" for "Full Control". Close Regedit and then continue with the installation of your device. You should not need to reboot after you close regedit but some people have found that they do.


||| RECOVERING FROM A BAD BIOS FLASH
Problem: System will not boot following a bios flash:

With AMI BIOS you can use the "Quick Flash" Method that is described in a file in AMIFLASH.ZIP. If you use this method, hold the magic keys DOWN with one hand and switch the PC ON with the other hand - just don't release the keys). Continue holding the keys DOWN until the FDD starts reading the floppy (you can give up after 5 minutes if nothing happens). This method won't work if the boot block is erased. Find AMIFLASH.ZIP at:
http://www.ami.com/support/downloada...ip&InpDrvID=90

Other Options:
Modern motherboards have a boot-block BIOS. This is small area of the BIOS that doesn't get overwritten when you flash a BIOS. The boot-block BIOS only has support for the floppy drive. If you have a PCI video card you won't see anything on the screen because the boot-block BIOS only supports an ISA videocard, although the procedure will still run.

Award: At boot-up, the boot-block BIOS will look for and execute an AUTOEXEC.BAT file on a bootable diskette. Copy an Award flasher & the correct BIOS *.bin file onto a floppy and execute it automaticly by putting awdflash *.bin in the AUTOEXEC.BAT file.

AMI: The AMI boot-block BIOS will look for a AMIBOOT.ROM file on a diskette. Copy and rename the correct BIOS file on the floppy and power up the PC. The floppy doesn't need to be bootable. You will see the PC read the floppy, after about 4 minutes you will hear 4 beeps, this means the transfer is done. Reboot the PC and modify the CMOS for your configuration.
.........



i have combined all the posts to make it more coherent. thank you to everyone who posted information and especially dezbin for kicking the whole thing off. (sorry i can't list you all. there's just too many. )

this is a work in progress, but it will only progress if we get more posts. please don't be afraid to make a post with some good troubleshooting tips and/or tools. and of course if there are any mistakes, or better methods, post in this thread and they'll be edited.

Last edited by looktall; 14th November 2004 at 3:05 PM.
looktall is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 12th August 2002, 7:17 PM   #2
dezbin
Member
 
dezbin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: living in a constant state of depression which is my fucked up life. :(
Posts: 886
Default

by request from a person from the forums could you add this as another possible reason (reset while under load)

6. Check All capacitors around the mosFETs supplying power to the cpu, especially if you have an abit/epox board
__________________
Recognize, fool.
dezbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2002, 7:41 PM   #3
looktall Thread Starter
Working Class Hero
 
looktall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: brabham.wa.au
Posts: 22,703
Default

done.
looktall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2002, 5:07 PM   #4
GRObFURSt
Member
 
GRObFURSt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,245
Default

you legend. Everyone who builds comps should have this on their pin board.
__________________

Q9400 @ 3.4ghz w/ Zalman CNPS9700 LED- EP45-UD3R - 9800GT @ 790/1015 - 4GB XMS2 800 13487 06marks Vista HP 64
GRObFURSt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2002, 1:22 AM   #5
looktall Thread Starter
Working Class Hero
 
looktall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: brabham.wa.au
Posts: 22,703
Default

while i am in fact a legend () i only wish i could take the credit for this.
as it says right at the bottom of the post, it was originally started by dezbin with contributions from lots of people.
if i had've had my thinking cap on when i re-did it, i would have left it as dezbins post, rather than changing it to mine.

it just seemed easier at the time. lol (when in reality it's the same )
looktall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2002, 8:50 AM   #6
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 123,780
Default

On cd and associated problems: Problem with EasyCD creator and similar programs re the removal of upper and lower filters which was a common fix for many cd related buring problems experienced. Wasnt mentioned in the list above but is a known issue with XP and 3rd party burning software.

LInk to MS: http://support.microsoft.com/default...;en-us;Q314060

Another tip people recommend to disable WinXP built in burning support by disabling the "IMAPI CD-Burning COM Service" (it can conflict with 3rd party burning apps like Nero, Easy etc).
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2002, 8:29 PM   #7
jcady81
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mel, Australia
Posts: 106
Default Re: Troubles? heres a procedure list

Quote:
6. As a last resort, ie.won't work at all after everything has been tried and warranty is no longer valid (not if it's a new HDD), try the freezer method (freeze the hdd in freezer then try again)
lol does this actually work?
jcady81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2002, 7:17 PM   #8
Grim-Reaper
Member
 
Grim-Reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,135
Default

For networking...

If you can ping, but not view, or sometimes not even ping, check to make sure the duplex settings are the same, or not set too high for the hub/other device your connecting to. Sometimes even the Auto setting isn't that good, so try setting the computers at 10, then slowly move your way up until you find the highest setting that works...

and don't rely on network neighbourhood to view other machines...use the run under the start menu.
__________________
Desktop Specs: Intel i7 860 | Gigabyte P55A-UD3R | 4GB G. Skill DDR3 1600MHz | Corsair HX-650 PSU | Antec P183
Fileserver Specs: Intel Q9550| Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3 | 8GB G. Skill NT DDR800 5-5-5-15 | 1x 500GB, 4x 500GB RAID0 | 2x 1Gb Intel CT NIC's
Grim-Reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2002, 8:52 AM   #9
greatant
Member
 
greatant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 748
Default

I think this would also be something useful to add:

If nothing seems to be working, turn the computer off (or leave it off if it wont turn on ) and take a 10-20 minute break away from the computer. This should ease alot of frustration, and when you come back you might remember something you haven't tried yet.
greatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2002, 9:09 PM   #10
Adam76
Member
 
Adam76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: BrisVegas
Posts: 236
Default Medal of Honor

and for the lengendary game, Hedal of Honor...

Too fix un-installing and re-installing problem...
delete this file from the registry...

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Window
s\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\{0DEA94ED-915A-4834-A87E-388D012C8E02}


Cheers!
Adam
__________________
Attitude is everything
Adam76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2003, 11:13 AM   #11
Casper1612
Member
 
Casper1612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ex Brissie, Now Melbourne!
Posts: 193
Default CD Burning

Another issue that will cause coasters when burning is if you run Webshots. When burning a CD turn webshot OFF. If the screen changes part way through a burn the software (Nero for example) may freeze.

Cheers,
__________________
Casper1612



"Australia...you're standing in it!"

PC#1|AMD T'Bred 1800+|Radeon8500 275/275|Epox 8RDA+|80 Gig Seagate V|XP Pro|256 DDR400|CRRW|DVD|Fluffy Dice...
PC#2|AMD T'Bird 1330|GeForce2 GTS|ECS K7S5A MoBo|30 Gig Seagate |512MB PC133|Some 1.44 thingy!
Casper1612 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2003, 9:12 PM   #12
nwatts
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NSW
Posts: 4,531
Default

common prob

http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=64
nwatts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2003, 9:44 AM   #13
rachmaninov
Member
 
rachmaninov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 166
Default Constant crashes section

Perhaps an additional bit to go in here on setting RAM back to stock. I _declocked_ my PC2700 RAM which previously was at stock just to see if it would make a difference and lo and behold - no more crashes. I think out of all my experiences in building my system, this one has been the most illuminating since it revealed that what I thought might be a software or driver problem was actually a hardware issue which it would seem shouldn't exist.

My suggestion therefore would be 3. Set ram back to stock or if already at stock, try underclocking ram.
rachmaninov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2003, 1:48 PM   #14
Hovo
Member
 
Hovo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 15
Default

And before considering istalling Nero for your burning software, Ask your self do I want to use any other buring software?

Because there has been reports of Nero conflicting with every other burning program including when the program has been unistalled.
Hovo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2003, 4:32 PM   #15
greatant
Member
 
greatant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hovo
And before considering istalling Nero for your burning software, Ask your self do I want to use any other buring software?

Because there has been reports of Nero conflicting with every other burning program including when the program has been unistalled.
You sure you don't mean Ezy CD Creator?
I've got Nero plus a few others installed and I have no problems whatsoever.
However, Ezy CD Creator has been reported to conflict with Nero and others.
greatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!