Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > PC Games > MMOs

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd September 2010, 10:01 PM   #106
Warpy
Member
 
Warpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 3,937
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phonik View Post
keep trying warpy, I got that message then an hour later I had the accept terms of beta page up and had my key.

I think its just a message to slow people slamming the servers.
Ok, I will keep trying... still cant get in
__________________

Warpy is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 3rd September 2010, 12:48 AM   #107
Silent Remorse
GAMING OVERLORD
 
Silent Remorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,114
Default

Spent 3.5hrs downloading patch files to be met with the servers going down without any explanation at all.

SE fucking suck at MMORPGs.
__________________
Admin for Swap and Shop, PC Games, MMORPGs, Lifestyle and Pets/Animals. PM me with any problems. | Over 65 successful trades since 2000!
Silent Remorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2010, 2:11 AM   #108
AussiePokerGod
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 601
Default

this aint real good for an open beta launch, whole point is for stress test to see how it handles, i can't imagine MILLIONs of people applying so if it can't handle it already gonna suck come launch day lol

jury out on this one for me still have to wait till i try beta.

hope it opens up again soon.
AussiePokerGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2010, 3:12 AM   #109
AussiePokerGod
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nosrulz View Post
Still cant get a beta key. Ive been looking forward to this too.

For anyone finding the downloads slow through the updater you can go into

C:\Users\[Username]\My Documents\My Games\FINAL FANTASY XIV\downloads\ffxiv-beta\d96437e6 (not sure if this is universal?)\metainfo

There you will find the torrent files for the updates which you can download with a torrent client of your choice (uTorrent of course ).

Once finished put the downloaded files into

C:\Users\[Username]\My Documents\My Games\FINAL FANTASY XIV\downloads\ffxiv-beta\d96437e6 (not sure if this is universal?)\patch

and then run the application. It will find the files and install them.

I hope this helps someone.

thanks bud worked for me, i think the location is universal.

i also had bca2a8ae
AussiePokerGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2010, 4:01 AM   #110
Nosrulz
Member
 
Nosrulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 936
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AussiePokerGod View Post
thanks bud worked for me, i think the location is universal.

i also had bca2a8ae
No problem. Yeah I also had that folder. Thanks for the info.
__________________
Intel i7 2700k | Asus P8Z77-V PRO | 16GB DDR3 | 2 x HD5850 | 2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120GB | Corsair HX-650 | Fractal Define R2
Nosrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2010, 4:28 AM   #111
AussiePokerGod
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 601
Default

yeah the big 4gb file is still downloading slow, tons of seeds and peers but swarm speed is slow and im maxing out at 300kb/s when im on 21mb/s lol
AussiePokerGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2010, 6:45 AM   #112
flinchy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northlakes
Posts: 6,263
Default

i keep getting server congestion error.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaper View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taceo Corpus View Post
BRB - building a Faraday Cage.
Thinly veiled "I'm wrapping myself in chicken wire".
flinchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2010, 6:50 AM   #113
AussiePokerGod
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 601
Default

stupid freaking app overwrote all my downloaded files following your guide Nosrulz and started to download them all over again.

put em in the proper folder and all but no go.grrr.
AussiePokerGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2010, 7:31 AM   #114
billme
Member
 
billme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,070
Default

Well I tried all last night at random times when I got on the PC - I can't even get a download to start! Going out tonight, hopefully before I do I can get it started.

Anyone actually playing it yet? What server have you chosen if you do?
__________________

WTB: Games - PC/PS1/PS2/PS3 - RPG/Action & others!
WTB: 775 CPU, Small SSD, PCI/E card, DDR2
billme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2010, 8:34 AM   #115
Warpy
Member
 
Warpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 3,937
Default

I cant even get into the beta page now... Server error! Last night it worked but applications were on hold it said.
__________________

Warpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2010, 8:43 AM   #116
Nosrulz
Member
 
Nosrulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 936
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AussiePokerGod View Post
stupid freaking app overwrote all my downloaded files following your guide Nosrulz and started to download them all over again.

put em in the proper folder and all but no go.grrr.
That's strange. It worked for me and many other people.

Quote:
Originally Posted by billme View Post
Well I tried all last night at random times when I got on the PC - I can't even get a download to start! Going out tonight, hopefully before I do I can get it started.

Anyone actually playing it yet? What server have you chosen if you do?
I'm playing. Well... I managed to login and create a character, haven't done anything in game yet. I picked the world at the top of the list.
__________________
Intel i7 2700k | Asus P8Z77-V PRO | 16GB DDR3 | 2 x HD5850 | 2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120GB | Corsair HX-650 | Fractal Define R2
Nosrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2010, 8:44 AM   #117
sYnical-X
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 179
Default

I've been playing about 2pm yesterday and its been a blast. Was lucky to get a key, register it, and log in in amongst the DOS attacks on the servers

had already predownloaded the client so no issue there, was a hefty run on utorrent though.

A few of the aussie linkshells have chosen Gysahl as the unofficial oceanic server so that would be where I'd be rolling your character.

Servers under went maintenance at 12 midnight yesterday so thats probably why you couldnt get in at that time. Came back up at about 3-4am according to what I read from someone in our company.

And omg the graphics, so pretty, but so the destroyer of worlds, grinds my i7 5870 rig into the ground with high detail 1920x1200 with aa & ambient occlusion.
__________________

Current Status: Me is in troubles
sYnical-X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2010, 8:47 AM   #118
sYnical-X
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AussiePokerGod View Post
this aint real good for an open beta launch, whole point is for stress test to see how it handles, i can't imagine MILLIONs of people applying so if it can't handle it already gonna suck come launch day lol

jury out on this one for me still have to wait till i try beta.

hope it opens up again soon.
well it was a world wide beta launch, so you got all the japanese (which would be the majority of the fanbase), and everyone else hammering the servers. it was epic, if you managed to log in, you stay logged in else you would be back spamming refresh for the login page agin.
__________________

Current Status: Me is in troubles
sYnical-X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2010, 9:20 AM   #119
Warpy
Member
 
Warpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 3,937
Default

Soo annoying I cant get into the BETA to get a damn key
__________________

Warpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2010, 10:49 AM   #120
Nosrulz
Member
 
Nosrulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 936
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sYnical-X View Post
And omg the graphics, so pretty, but so the destroyer of worlds, grinds my i7 5870 rig into the ground with high detail 1920x1200 with aa & ambient occlusion.
I've been trying a few different things and its the AO that hammers FPS. Maybe a bug? Or just poorly implemented. With everything max except AO off @ 1920x1080 with 2xAA it only takes ~40-60% GPU usage on my 5850 to run 60fps. Soon as I turn on AO on it hits 100% usage and managed ~20-30fps.
__________________
Intel i7 2700k | Asus P8Z77-V PRO | 16GB DDR3 | 2 x HD5850 | 2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120GB | Corsair HX-650 | Fractal Define R2
Nosrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!