Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > PC Games > MMOs

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th July 2009, 8:32 AM   #136
gizmo_melb
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bojo View Post
Basically the core of UT3 stands for my triple head to be cheating, and rediculous (100 deg) fov limits ensue.

Basically, not an upgrade, but a downgrade to play the fucking game

EDIT:

Of course it's possible for game devs to go against the EPIC's grain, but it never happens.
huh? any chance of deciphering that to English please?
gizmo_melb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 8:35 AM   #137
SpudBoy
Member
 
SpudBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Under the Bed.
Posts: 5,243
Default

*as an anti cheating measure, the UT3 engine limits FOV to 100 degrees.


basically making a 3 monitor setup useless for it (as you would require >100deg or it would look wierd)
__________________
Samsung XE700T1A :: i7 MacBook-Pro 2010 :: i7 2600k :: 16Gb ripjaws :: P67A-UD7 :: 4GB GTX680 FTW :: Xonar Essence STX :: Dell 2709W :: G9/G13/G19/Z4 :: Spectre/Marauder
Quote:
Life isn't fair, but the root password helps.
SpudBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 9:00 AM   #138
yoink
Member
 
yoink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,385
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpudBoy View Post
*as an anti cheating measure, the UT3 engine limits FOV to 100 degrees.


basically making a 3 monitor setup useless for it (as you would require >100deg or it would look wierd)
Bugger, I was hoping for this as well
Is there any of the Mech games that can do 3 monitors?
__________________
Over 200 trades and counting!

BatteryFree Mouse! Where is your avatar? Fake Memory Cards Paxjs vobiscum!
yoink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 9:07 AM   #139
$3@N
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Forever A Pwn
Posts: 5,985
Default

Never played MW but have always being interested in the series.. would be alot of fun.

Finally might find a use for my joystick
$3@N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 9:14 AM   #140
SpudBoy
Member
 
SpudBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Under the Bed.
Posts: 5,243
Default

speaking of joysticks..

what joysticks are vista compatable, and have forced feedback?

havent used one on my pc other then my 360 controller since my SW3DPro.
__________________
Samsung XE700T1A :: i7 MacBook-Pro 2010 :: i7 2600k :: 16Gb ripjaws :: P67A-UD7 :: 4GB GTX680 FTW :: Xonar Essence STX :: Dell 2709W :: G9/G13/G19/Z4 :: Spectre/Marauder
Quote:
Life isn't fair, but the root password helps.
SpudBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 9:39 AM   #141
zebu
Member
 
zebu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Albury
Posts: 889
Default

well this weekend is mechwarrior 3 weekend for me

i think i just took a critical hit to my gyro
zebu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 11:28 AM   #142
samus
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Baulkham Hills, Sydney.
Posts: 971
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpudBoy View Post
speaking of joysticks..

what joysticks are vista compatable, and have forced feedback?

havent used one on my pc other then my 360 controller since my SW3DPro.
Ive got my M$ ForceFeedback 2 Pro. That seems to run OK.
__________________
"...fate it seems, is not without a sense of irony." Morpheus

OCAU Mercedes Benz Club Member #2
samus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 2:07 PM   #143
SpudBoy
Member
 
SpudBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Under the Bed.
Posts: 5,243
Default

ok.. rephrase..


what joysticks 'that are still available'
__________________
Samsung XE700T1A :: i7 MacBook-Pro 2010 :: i7 2600k :: 16Gb ripjaws :: P67A-UD7 :: 4GB GTX680 FTW :: Xonar Essence STX :: Dell 2709W :: G9/G13/G19/Z4 :: Spectre/Marauder
Quote:
Life isn't fair, but the root password helps.
SpudBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 2:28 PM   #144
XWarX
Member
 
XWarX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zebu View Post
well this weekend is mechwarrior 3 weekend for me

i think i just took a critical hit to my gyro

Good luck with that, anything above windows 98 has problems with running it correctly.
__________________
Lian Li PC-351R, I7 4770, Gigabyte Sniper M5, GTX 670. Sandisk Extreme II 240GB
Nas : Synology Rackstation RS-412+
Server : 1U Supermicro Intel D2500HN
XWarX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 3:17 PM   #145
samus
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Baulkham Hills, Sydney.
Posts: 971
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpudBoy View Post
ok.. rephrase..


what joysticks 'that are still available'
Im not sure on that mate, i found this with a google there in Sydney:

http://www.gameswarehouse.com.au/lon...p?gameid=12929

but no stock.

This on ebay though:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Microsoft-Sid...3%3A1|294%3A50

I don't know how much it will go for but I paid i think it was around $300 for mine back in 2000. Joysticks seem to have fallen to the wheels and pads of today.
__________________
"...fate it seems, is not without a sense of irony." Morpheus

OCAU Mercedes Benz Club Member #2
samus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 3:21 PM   #146
SpudBoy
Member
 
SpudBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Under the Bed.
Posts: 5,243
Default

yep.. pickup only in nsw is awesome..



lol


nar seriously.. as much as i would love a FFBPro2, i would very much prefer a new one.

and i must also say, my hands have never really fit logitech's molding on their range of joysticks.

edit: mebbe my google-fu is failing me... but it looks like there are NO force feedback joysticks available any more... wtf?
__________________
Samsung XE700T1A :: i7 MacBook-Pro 2010 :: i7 2600k :: 16Gb ripjaws :: P67A-UD7 :: 4GB GTX680 FTW :: Xonar Essence STX :: Dell 2709W :: G9/G13/G19/Z4 :: Spectre/Marauder
Quote:
Life isn't fair, but the root password helps.

Last edited by SpudBoy; 14th July 2009 at 3:36 PM.
SpudBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 3:37 PM   #147
Kryten59
Member
 
Kryten59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 448
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpudBoy View Post
ok.. rephrase..


what joysticks 'that are still available'

I just checked this myself as i plan to take advantage of the free MW4 release that's coming. Logitech appear to have 2 available, as does eBay for around $50aus.
http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/ga...icks/&cl=au,en

I remember playing the first MW in the 90's and never played them again because my computer was about 5 years behind the 8 ball Keen to get back into it!
Kryten59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 3:39 PM   #148
SpudBoy
Member
 
SpudBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Under the Bed.
Posts: 5,243
Default

yeah.. i know logitech have 2.

but neither are FFB.. - kinda wanted, as i could never afford one when i was a kid.. i was increadibly lucky to get the 3DPro as it was.
__________________
Samsung XE700T1A :: i7 MacBook-Pro 2010 :: i7 2600k :: 16Gb ripjaws :: P67A-UD7 :: 4GB GTX680 FTW :: Xonar Essence STX :: Dell 2709W :: G9/G13/G19/Z4 :: Spectre/Marauder
Quote:
Life isn't fair, but the root password helps.
SpudBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2009, 8:09 AM   #149
Rubberband Thread Starter
Member
 
Rubberband's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Doreen
Posts: 6,174
Default

New in-game screenies:

http://ve3d.ign.com/articles/news/49...or-Screenshots


Click to view full size!



Click to view full size!



Click to view full size!



Click to view full size!



Click to view full size!
__________________
CLIKK.com.au - Digital Marketing Melbourne: Websites, Facebook and AdWords Marketing.
Feel free to drop me a PM if you want help or free advice
Rubberband is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2009, 9:55 AM   #150
Kryten59
Member
 
Kryten59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 448
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpudBoy View Post
yeah.. i know logitech have 2.

but neither are FFB.. - kinda wanted, as i could never afford one when i was a kid.. i was increadibly lucky to get the 3DPro as it was.
I also found this yesterday:
http://www.flightsimstore.com/produc...roducts_id=296

Saitek FFB joystick, from aussie seller too. I'm guess you're best bet would be to follow flight sim nuts as they'd be the main customer base for joysticks and such these days.
Kryten59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
mech4, mechwarrior, mercenaries, mwomercs

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 7:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!