Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > PC Games > MMOs

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th August 2010, 4:33 AM   #31
DarknRahl Thread Starter
Member
 
DarknRahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Morisset
Posts: 625
Default

Yeah I had trouble with the ping until I discovered auto aim. It means hitting turrets more often than you would like but it makes the game very playable. When you have an immobilized opponent you can switch to manual with no big penalty. There is no strafing in this game obviously and many tanks are quite sluggish so I really haven't felt disadvantaged playing with a 460 ping.

If you are playing at the moment then the connection is shit because they are farting around with servers at the moment. It's unplayable for me at the moment. Has been going on for a couple of days and will go on a couple more. Hopefully at the end of it there will be a new server in the US which means pings of 190-260.

Apparently the Russian beta group are now playing version 1.0.

One other thing, make sure you look at the tech tree and figure out what you want to go for. I'm going for the Panther and am currently on a Mk III/IV and almost have a Leopard light tank, those things look so fun to play. Don't go down a route where you are going for too many things. There's not enough money to go round for more than a Tier 1/2 back up tank for recruit games plus a Tier 3/4 and whatever your primary tank is.

Save your gold to upgrade to premium for a day, week or whatever. 50% more credits and experience and be sure to transfer your old crew to you new tank!

This is a really helpful thread:

http://forum.worldoftanks.com/index....now-about-wot/
__________________
Dorris: Phenom x4 955 BE @ 3.5Ghz, Gigabyte/Sapphire 5850 Crossfire, 4Gb Corsair DDR2 1066, Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4, Silverstone Strider 750 silver edition, ASUS VW222 22" 2ms, Windaz 7 64bit.
DarknRahl is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 17th August 2010, 6:35 AM   #32
DarknRahl Thread Starter
Member
 
DarknRahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Morisset
Posts: 625
Default

Seems the worst of the lag from the server upgrades has passed.

Also bought my first day of premium and it makes a really big difference. Once you get a tier 5 tank it is reaally slow going to save up experience and money for the next level. Premium really speeds it up.
__________________
Dorris: Phenom x4 955 BE @ 3.5Ghz, Gigabyte/Sapphire 5850 Crossfire, 4Gb Corsair DDR2 1066, Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4, Silverstone Strider 750 silver edition, ASUS VW222 22" 2ms, Windaz 7 64bit.
DarknRahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2010, 12:34 PM   #33
DarknRahl Thread Starter
Member
 
DarknRahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Morisset
Posts: 625
Default

The latest patch has been out for a few days. Loads of free gold and all your experience back so you can get the tank you want.

The main difference is the match making system combined with everyone having way too much experience and gold to spend with not all the tech trees for all the countries available. It basically means you will be involved in battles with ludicrous amounts of super heavies at times. Although if you are on lower tier tanks these battles are still meant to be fairly well rounded.

The game is now playing on a US server so the ping has dropped down around 150-200ms for us Australian folk. The US tanks will be released soon as well.

Edit: This is sad, I've been replying to my own thread three times in a row. Internet shame.
__________________
Dorris: Phenom x4 955 BE @ 3.5Ghz, Gigabyte/Sapphire 5850 Crossfire, 4Gb Corsair DDR2 1066, Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4, Silverstone Strider 750 silver edition, ASUS VW222 22" 2ms, Windaz 7 64bit.
DarknRahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2010, 7:16 PM   #34
Hamba
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tas
Posts: 261
Default

Since the move to the US servers this game has been a lot more fun imo

From tassy it's about 250ms ping v.playable compared to 400ms rubber banding tanks of before.

Loving all the free gold, but there are to many people in super heavy tanks now (cause everyone got free gold).

Got myself a maxed out leopard, working my way up the Soviet SPG tree.

The inclusion of 3 player squads is also pretty cool, if your on Voice coms and can coordinate = rape.
__________________
Hamba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2010, 10:21 PM   #35
Moochin_Bastard
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Stafford, Brisbane (4053)
Posts: 448
Default

this game is fantasic i love it, have been playing it for like 3 days straight lol.
Just about to get my Panzer IV then ppl is gonna die
__________________
My PC - ASrock X99X Killer/3.1, i7 5820k @ 4.2Ghz, G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8gb 2400Mhz DDR4, Asus GTX 1080 Strix, OCZ 1250W, Fractal Design Define XL, Acer Predator XB271HU, Dell U2711.

Media Server - Gigabyte Z77X-UD5h WB, i7 2700k, G.Skill Ripjaws 2x4gb 2133Mhz DDR3, Gigabyte GTX 780 , Antec 1000W PSU, Antec P193 case, Samsung 55".
Moochin_Bastard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2010, 7:36 PM   #36
Oncogene_01
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 67
Default

Would love to join the fellow OCAU'ers but the registration is closed and you need an invite code to join the beta.

Can anyone help
pm me details if you can.

Dean
__________________
CPU: I5 -2500k @ 4.3, RAM: 8 GIG , VIDEO: Powercolour 5870 1G - running EYEFINITY 3 x 24in Acer monitors, Asrock
Oncogene_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2010, 12:27 PM   #37
DavyG
Member
 
DavyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moochin_Bastard View Post
this game is fantasic i love it, have been playing it for like 3 days straight lol.
Just about to get my Panzer IV then ppl is gonna die
You'll go alright against a Tiger I, their armor can be penetrated by a T34.
DavyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2010, 3:16 PM   #38
DarknRahl Thread Starter
Member
 
DarknRahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Morisset
Posts: 625
Default

I don't know any invite codes unfortunately.

I've almost got my Panther fully upgraded and have a tricked out DB, Hummel, Stug and Pz 38(H).

Hummel and Stug are the two best money makers I have. The Hummel makes around 30k-50k clear a match and the Stug usually makes 20k-35k.

I've added DavyGT to my contacts, for anyone else playing my name is 'DarknRahl' we should try and platoon up at some stage. I think there's a bit of a disparity in tanks though at the moment so platoons may not be so useful.
__________________
Dorris: Phenom x4 955 BE @ 3.5Ghz, Gigabyte/Sapphire 5850 Crossfire, 4Gb Corsair DDR2 1066, Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4, Silverstone Strider 750 silver edition, ASUS VW222 22" 2ms, Windaz 7 64bit.
DarknRahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2010, 10:26 PM   #39
DavyG
Member
 
DavyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarknRahl View Post
I don't know any invite codes unfortunately.

I've almost got my Panther fully upgraded and have a tricked out DB, Hummel, Stug and Pz 38(H).

Hummel and Stug are the two best money makers I have. The Hummel makes around 30k-50k clear a match and the Stug usually makes 20k-35k.

I've added DavyGT to my contacts, for anyone else playing my name is 'DarknRahl' we should try and platoon up at some stage. I think there's a bit of a disparity in tanks though at the moment so platoons may not be so useful.
Gamespot are giving away codes, just need to make an account with them.

A platoon only supports up to 3 tankers and the leader needs to have a premium account.

EDIT: Worked my way up to an IS, switched back to my original path for the T44 pre-wipe and started working on getting a King Tiger/Hummel/Panther.
The BT-2 is the most fun tank to drive.

Last edited by DavyG; 23rd September 2010 at 10:32 PM.
DavyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2010, 10:34 AM   #40
Oncogene_01
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 67
Default

thanks to all
. got in. nik is Oncogene .

a few problems initially. no invert mouse
had to track down preferences.xml (under win 7 it is hidden)
tweaked a lot of the graphic settings

Looks good - running HIGH (modified no grass layer) @ 5760 x 1080 and get 30 - 60 fps. Smoke is a real fps killer.

also
geeze those low tier (free) tanks suck . just got tier 2 and improving
say hello to 40mm T26.
__________________
CPU: I5 -2500k @ 4.3, RAM: 8 GIG , VIDEO: Powercolour 5870 1G - running EYEFINITY 3 x 24in Acer monitors, Asrock
Oncogene_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2010, 11:57 AM   #41
DarknRahl Thread Starter
Member
 
DarknRahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Morisset
Posts: 625
Default

Your best bet is saving up for premium, will really speed the upgrade process along. Look at the tech tree and stick at the tank you are going for.

Yeah I was a bit disappointed at no control customization but got used to it pretty quick.
__________________
Dorris: Phenom x4 955 BE @ 3.5Ghz, Gigabyte/Sapphire 5850 Crossfire, 4Gb Corsair DDR2 1066, Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4, Silverstone Strider 750 silver edition, ASUS VW222 22" 2ms, Windaz 7 64bit.
DarknRahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2010, 2:10 AM   #42
DarknRahl Thread Starter
Member
 
DarknRahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Morisset
Posts: 625
Default

I've had to uninstall WoT due to having to pass statistics this semester. I'll be back once exams are over. If I didn't I' wouldn't get any work done.
__________________
Dorris: Phenom x4 955 BE @ 3.5Ghz, Gigabyte/Sapphire 5850 Crossfire, 4Gb Corsair DDR2 1066, Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4, Silverstone Strider 750 silver edition, ASUS VW222 22" 2ms, Windaz 7 64bit.
DarknRahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2010, 4:20 PM   #43
Hamba
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tas
Posts: 261
Default

Shatterd Crystal are still giving away keys if people wanted to try this game, register at shattered crystal and purchase the key for $0

http://www.shatteredcrystal.com/inde...world_of_tanks

You get a free premium tank with the beta key as well.
__________________
Hamba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2010, 10:51 PM   #44
irR4tiOn4L
Member
 
irR4tiOn4L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Carlingford, Sydney
Posts: 3,066
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitler View Post
Anyone recommend a good tank game? I need a fix now...
Not strictly a tank game or sim but I find the tank combat in Men of War is great. Scaled down distances to be fun but wonderful approximation of penetration and armor.
__________________
Originally posted by John Guerrero Never try to argue with an idiot, they'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience

Originally posted by Irish Proverb When you are right, no one remembers. When you are wrong, no one forgets.

Originally posted by Ben Franklin Once people realise they can vote themselves money, that will herald the end of the republic
irR4tiOn4L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2010, 2:24 PM   #45
excrament
Member
 
excrament's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 152
Default

hamba what premium tank you get ?
i like the game but the amount of time to get out of the light tank and into a heavy is long
i just want a tiger II :[
excrament is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!