Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd November 2011, 1:54 PM   #136
dirkmirk
Member
 
dirkmirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Shoalhaven - Gods Country
Posts: 3,443
Default

The bottom connection which looks like the an s-video port is actually a proprietry vga port, thats why i asked, I found a review somewhere where the guy had a 486sx25 and it played vcds fine with the card, I want to try one with my 386.
dirkmirk is online now   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 2nd November 2011, 3:02 PM   #137
DonutKing
Member
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tweed/Gold Coast
Posts: 1,024
Default

There's nothing that look like s-video on mine, only the stereo jack and the VGA d-sub port. It's a reelmagic CD not the the original version.
DonutKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2011, 4:33 PM   #138
grommet80
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lismore NSW
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonutKing View Post
nope lol.

I wonder if it uses the VESA feature connector instead of an external passthrough cable?
According to the helpful Dell support doc, that's exactly what you need to do.
grommet80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2011, 4:49 PM   #139
DonutKing
Member
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tweed/Gold Coast
Posts: 1,024
Default

Awesome ! I wonder if dell has drivers and software for it somewhere....

EDIT: Haven't managed to find a driver. But I pulled the small daughterboard off and found this....





A yamaha OPL chip??? strange... this must be an integrated sound card as well....

Last edited by DonutKing; 2nd November 2011 at 5:26 PM.
DonutKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2011, 7:13 PM   #140
flugle
Member
 
flugle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Posts: 848
Default

Not quite retro, but retro related



flugle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2011, 1:57 PM   #141
frizzl
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,071
Default

Finally got myself a copy of Super Mario All Stars + Super Mario World

I didn't realise that this was released as one cartridge
__________________
4790K, Asus Maximus Hero VII, 2x8GB Corsair Dom 1600, 1080GTX, Acer XB271HU, Enthoo Primo, 2 x RX480 in push/pull.
frizzl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2011, 1:05 AM   #142
mAJORD
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,617
Default

Found this on the side of the road..



Never had a Tandy, so hope I can get it running (haven't tried yet!) it's all Dirt /stains on it so should clean up with some work.. Got a keyboard and mouse with it but of some unknown brand.




Also grabbed this on Ebay for my PS/2 , brand new condition!
mAJORD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2011, 10:07 AM   #143
breech
Member
 
breech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Syd
Posts: 1,755
Default

Ah i wish i still had my model 30 ps/2. Make sure you play scorched earth on it, it runs at the correct speed :P
breech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2011, 10:16 PM   #144
mAJORD
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,617
Default

hehe will do!

I don't think i've even tried to boot the model 30, only the 70 that I know runs.

Also.. Tandy up and running fine!, now just to clean it all up.

Th PSU and mobo are surpsingly dust free. Only the CMOS battery had leaked a little.





mAJORD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2011, 11:25 PM   #145
Mau1wurf1977
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,706
Default

Very nice!

Main highlight is the Tandy 3-Voice speaker

If you fire up classics like Maniac Mansion, Space Quest or Monkey Island you will hear improved sound compared to the PC speaker.
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2011, 11:42 PM   #146
mAJORD
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,617
Default

ahh cool!, didn't know about the speaker bonus, but also seems to support 16 colour CGA mode.

There's a Tandy colour (CGA) monitor on ebay i'm eyeing off that would go nicely with it . They want $59 for but it's in sydney pickup only
mAJORD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2011, 6:43 PM   #147
Cannula
Member
 
Cannula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lisarow 2250
Posts: 1,634
Default

My Nv1 arrived today from eBay. Just need to finish sourcing software for it and some Sega Saturn controllers.
More thank likely I'll put it in one of my Pentium 233MMX boxes with a Voodoo 1, my RAP-10 and my AEW64 Gold.
Crappy camera photos soz.

Click to view full size!


Click to view full size!
__________________
OCAU Diablo 3:Reaper Of Souls - Cannula#6861
| 486 | NexGen P90 | Pentium MMX 233 | Pentium Pro 200 | K6-2+ 550 | Celeron 300A | Pentium III 850 | Pentium III-S 1.4 | Dual Pentium III-S 1.4 | Pentium M 730 |
Hoarding; not a sickness, a way of life.
Cannula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2011, 7:00 PM   #148
Daft_Munt
Member
 
Daft_Munt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hobart, Hodge Podge Land
Posts: 6,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cannula View Post
My Nv1 arrived today from eBay. Just need to finish sourcing software for it and some Sega Saturn controllers.
Looks at Saturn controllers and laughs (sorry attached to a Saturn). A local shop had a few last time I was there.
Daft_Munt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2011, 8:52 PM   #149
Zzapped
Member
 
Zzapped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Madora Bay
Posts: 12,327
Default

Just brought myself a SNES off Ebay, inc 3 games and cables etc for the princely sum of $41.00 , now all I have to do is find Zelda and im set
__________________
Seti 50,000 Club Seti 100WU per Day Club
Got Flickr ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agg
another great contribution from zzapped .
Zzapped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2011, 11:26 PM   #150
DonutKing
Member
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tweed/Gold Coast
Posts: 1,024
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mAJORD View Post
hehe will do!

I don't think i've even tried to boot the model 30, only the 70 that I know runs.

Also.. Tandy up and running fine!, now just to clean it all up.

Th PSU and mobo are surpsingly dust free. Only the CMOS battery had leaked a little.
Very nice! I don't suppose you have a spare monochrome monitor do you ? I have an IBM 5150 but it feels like some sort of sacrilege to stick a VGA card in it :P
DonutKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!