Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29th March 2011, 12:49 AM   #1
Draxx Thread Starter
Member
 
Draxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Bendigo
Posts: 942
Default NOS Amiga CD32 unboxing!!!

As per my post in The Amiga thread, I've finally gotten around to unboxing my NOS Amiga CD32 games console. That's right I've managed to leave it untouched in the box for nearly 4 months! LOL

This CD32 was one of 24 that were advertised for sale on AmiBay. I understand that they were discovered in a warehouse in the Phillipines and were purchased and shipped to Belgium.

I purchased mine for 135€ plus 170€ shipping via FedEx! All up about $420 was what it set me back

Anyway, without further ado, here are the pics...

First up is the front of the box, a little beaten from its long journey from Belgium, but not a big issue.


Then the back of the box..


Then the internal packaging..


Open Sesame!


The manuals and Oscar/Diggers CD that shipped with the CD32


Close up of the manuals..


The CD32 itself lurking beneath, in its plastic bag!


European PSU, A/V cables and gamepad..


There's the controller - these weren't all that good and would wear out quickly..


It's out of it's bag now!


The rear ports - Power switch, power socket, RF-out, S-Video, Composite and Audio ports..


The whole kit out of the box..


Close up of the included Diggers/Oscar CD..


Close up of the power supply specs..


Bottom of CD32 console..


Serial number and other details..


Build date - nearly 18 years young!


Before this unit was shipped to me, I requested that the seller open the box and test it for me, and he did a great job of putting everything back as it was.

I have not yet fired this one up - that will happen in the next few days. In the meantime I've been trying to get a couple of extra's working on my used CD32 - a Paravision SX-1 addon module and a DCE SX32 Mk1addon module.

Both of these enable the CD32 to function as a complete Amiga 1200, when connected up with a hard drive, keyboard and floppy. I believe my problems are power related, so I'm converting a standard ATX power supply first to test this. I also have a spare CD32 mainboard on its own, so I'll test the modded PSU on that to save the complete unit... (Should I do a separate worklog on that, or just post it in this thread?)

Stay tuned...

EDIT: Additional photos and for sale thread!
Here are the photos that the seller had posted of all the CD32's in their boxes! And here's the sale thread itself on AmiBay
__________________
My Cars
My Daily: 1998 Ford Fairlane Ghia NL in Navy Blue
Wife's Daily: 2008 Ford Falcon FG XR6 Sedan in Nitro Blue

Last edited by Draxx; 11th March 2017 at 11:45 PM.
Draxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 11:10 AM   #2
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 50,479
Default

did it still have "new console" smell?
__________________
this is who we are.
power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 11:16 AM   #3
Draxx Thread Starter
Member
 
Draxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Bendigo
Posts: 942
Default

Certainly did! As you can see in the photos, it still has the protective plastic over the logo and the window of the CD drive.

I'll try to get a video of it running when I eventually plug it in...
__________________
My Cars
My Daily: 1998 Ford Fairlane Ghia NL in Navy Blue
Wife's Daily: 2008 Ford Falcon FG XR6 Sedan in Nitro Blue
Draxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 11:20 AM   #4
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 50,479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Draxx View Post
Certainly did! As you can see in the photos, it still has the protective plastic over the logo and the window of the CD drive.

I'll try to get a video of it running when I eventually plug it in...
I'd be keeping it in the box after the official running it.

I mean an example like that 18 years old.... it's sacrilege to do anything but store it.
__________________
this is who we are.
power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 11:23 AM   #5
Draxx Thread Starter
Member
 
Draxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Bendigo
Posts: 942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by power View Post
I'd be keeping it in the box after the official running it.

I mean an example like that 18 years old.... it's sacrilege to do anything but store it.
While I do agree with that, it's also sacrilege to spend over $400 on a console to not play it - it's like buying a GTHO and never driving it!

But, since I have an already used one, and a spare motherboard for one, I think it will live in it's box for quite some time
__________________
My Cars
My Daily: 1998 Ford Fairlane Ghia NL in Navy Blue
Wife's Daily: 2008 Ford Falcon FG XR6 Sedan in Nitro Blue
Draxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 11:38 AM   #6
mshagg
Politburo
 
mshagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 23,088
Default

Im actually drooling a little bit here, you'll have to excuse me.
mshagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 12:35 PM   #7
@rt
Member
 
@rt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,293
Default

Nice one, I've owned two of these at different times of my life, loved Pinball Illusions.
Good luck finding a second controller
__________________
https://www.youtube.com/user/ArtyFart
Pic 16F877A. 10 MHz, 8Kb RAM.
@rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 12:53 PM   #8
Kow
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Redlands, Bris QLD
Posts: 4,764
Default

haha i have a CD 32 sitting in my cupboard, with HDD extention ! I just lost the controller so ..... yeh .. it just sits there.
Kow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 2:35 PM   #9
Draxx Thread Starter
Member
 
Draxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Bendigo
Posts: 942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by @rt View Post
Nice one, I've owned two of these at different times of my life, loved Pinball Illusions.
Good luck finding a second controller
Got that covered already - bought one I found on ebay before I even got hold of a CD32

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kow View Post
haha i have a CD 32 sitting in my cupboard, with HDD extention ! I just lost the controller so ..... yeh .. it just sits there.
Sega Master System/Mega drive controllers work well on the CD32, so get it out of that cupboard right now - Also, if your expansion has a battery, make sure it's not leaking, otherwise it will end up dead eventually.... If it is leaking, remove it and replace with either an Nimh or coin type battery with diode....
__________________
My Cars
My Daily: 1998 Ford Fairlane Ghia NL in Navy Blue
Wife's Daily: 2008 Ford Falcon FG XR6 Sedan in Nitro Blue
Draxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 5:47 PM   #10
breech
Member
 
breech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Syd
Posts: 1,780
Default

Ah I'm jealous. I backed out of buying the last one because of damage to the packaging but I will be happy with picking up a used one eventually.
breech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 10:15 AM   #11
adz
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,022
Default

Awesome

Never had the pleasure of owning a CD32, though I always used to play Pinball Fantasies on one at good old Maxwells in Abbotsford. I've heard rumours that there is a warehouse in India chock full of NOS A1200's and CD32's.
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 11:14 AM   #12
@rt
Member
 
@rt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,293
Default

Sorry to stray a little OT but Pinball Fantasies and Pinball Dreams are both available on the iphone,
and they are very true to the originals bar a little more colour.

Re the CD32, I know you probably don't want to mod yours, but it is possible to
get a real (Amiga Style) analogue RGB output from the edge of the PCB at the
back of the unit,
I think on the old Amiga (500, etc) it was a 23 pin D connector.
Worked a charm with the original 1084S monitors.
__________________
https://www.youtube.com/user/ArtyFart
Pic 16F877A. 10 MHz, 8Kb RAM.
@rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 1:36 PM   #13
Draxx Thread Starter
Member
 
Draxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Bendigo
Posts: 942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by @rt View Post
Re the CD32, I know you probably don't want to mod yours, but it is possible to
get a real (Amiga Style) analogue RGB output from the edge of the PCB at the
back of the unit,
I think on the old Amiga (500, etc) it was a 23 pin D connector.
Worked a charm with the original 1084S monitors.
Yeah, I was reading up on that last night - I'm not going to mod mine, and actually I dont need to anyway, due to having the SX1 and SX32 expansions, both of which have the 23pin output already.
__________________
My Cars
My Daily: 1998 Ford Fairlane Ghia NL in Navy Blue
Wife's Daily: 2008 Ford Falcon FG XR6 Sedan in Nitro Blue
Draxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 1:55 PM   #14
syxx
Member
 
syxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Everton Hills , Brisbane
Posts: 1,994
Default

this is amazing
__________________
AMD Phenom II 940 Black Edition, Thermaltake Big Typhoon VX Cooler, Asus M4N78-Pro, Gainward 896mb GTX 275, 8192mb PC-1066 Corsair Dominator, Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum PRO, BenQ GL2450 LED 24" WS LCD, Corsair HX620 PSU, Microsoft Reclusa Keyboard, Microsoft Habu Mouse, Coolermaster RC 690 Case
syxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 2:03 PM   #15
Wolfje
Member
 
Wolfje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 921
Default

Does anyone else think that it kinda has the same dimensions and similar design to a PS3?

Looks real similar to me.
Wolfje is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 1:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!