Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > Other CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th February 2013, 12:22 PM   #1366
sabretooth
Overdue for a new title
 
sabretooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: QLD
Posts: 8,241
Default

I used a two-part putty epoxy thing which seems to have done the trick. It's Selleys Knead-It. You cut a thin slice off, mix it together, apply and within 10min it's dry. So I put something in the slot, put the knead-it on top making sure that it attaches to the three sides, and let it dry.

I'm actually glad it wasn't just me - I don't even recall when mine broke or how but I'm glad I'm not the only one. I guess it's just a design flaw.

Though if I had a couple of Pis I would probably just desolder the existing holder and solder a physically compatible one of these in its place - as that one doesn't line up with the original holes, but encloses the card.

Last edited by sabretooth; 18th February 2013 at 12:25 PM.
sabretooth is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 19th February 2013, 9:41 PM   #1367
schnappy
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: 3124
Posts: 671
Default

Anyone had issues with Arch and openssh?
I've it enabled with systemctl, but on boot it starts/stops about 8 times. I can log in locally, systemctl start sshd and it works 100%. systemctl status after booting gives an error with exit status 255.

Can't find any info on this It's painful not being able to reboot remotely.
schnappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2013, 12:05 AM   #1368
Davo1111
Member
 
Davo1111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,022
Default

Permanently corrupted my sd card with my rpi. fml
Davo1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2013, 11:37 AM   #1369
Wolfje
Member
 
Wolfje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 919
Default

I had the same issue with mine. I went and got one of those pre-installed Raspbian jobs from E14 and it only lasted a couple of days.
Wolfje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2013, 11:53 AM   #1370
pantner
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 2,104
Default

overclocked at all?
__________________
Intel i7 860, Gigabyte PA55-UD5, 2x4GB DDR3, 300GB Velociraptor, 2x2TB Seagate SATA in RAID 0, NVIDIA GTX580, Pioneer DVD burner, Silverstone OP850W, ASUS 23" LCD, Acer 23" LCD, Microsoft X6, Microsoft Intellimouse, Noctua NH-D14
pantner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2013, 12:27 PM   #1371
Wolfje
Member
 
Wolfje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 919
Default

I think I had it at 1GHz, yeah.
Wolfje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2013, 1:01 PM   #1372
pantner
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 2,104
Default

well there's your problem...

if you want to overclock a decent amount, boot of USB.
__________________
Intel i7 860, Gigabyte PA55-UD5, 2x4GB DDR3, 300GB Velociraptor, 2x2TB Seagate SATA in RAID 0, NVIDIA GTX580, Pioneer DVD burner, Silverstone OP850W, ASUS 23" LCD, Acer 23" LCD, Microsoft X6, Microsoft Intellimouse, Noctua NH-D14
pantner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2013, 1:38 PM   #1373
theSeekerr
Member
 
theSeekerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Prospect SA
Posts: 2,399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pantner View Post
well there's your problem...

if you want to overclock a decent amount, boot of USB.
Or rather, boot off SD, but have your root filesystem on USB.

I've been running my Raspi off an NFS share, that works nicely too.
__________________
Lucis+Umbra Blog - Photography by c.j. kerr
theSeekerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2013, 11:12 PM   #1374
Pugs
Member
 
Pugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Redwood Park, SA
Posts: 8,874
Default

small update I've used the 2 mouting holes to mount mine upside down under a TV stand for our 22" TV in the kitchen
__________________
PC Gamer, Licenced Cabler,MilsimCosplayer
My Becoming a Cabler & Tool Thread
To The Cloud...!!
Pugs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 3:01 PM   #1375
Hyo-Ri
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 209
Default

Thinking of getting a RPi

Although do you think it is a decent solution to a HTPC just to stream movies off a harddrive connceted to a wireless router? aka. Netgear Readyshare DLNA.

I use a HTPC i3, 8gb RAM, SSD, USB WiFi card currently and it works flawlessly but I gave it away. Would the RPi be able to achieve the same playback? 99% of videos are 720p 264x codec that my iphone cannot handle but nexus 7 can.

Also how much am I looking at spending, it seems to add up to $120-130 for the RPi, enclosure, WiFi, SD card, power cables etc.

Or should I just buy a cheap laptop/another HTPC for this purpose.
Hyo-Ri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 3:48 PM   #1376
pantner
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 2,104
Default

(one of) mine is used for exactly that, streaming MKV/AVIs off my FileServer.

Running off a Ipad charger with a sandisk extreme pro SD card (looking into NFS booting) with a cheap case off ebay.

Only unknown (for me) is the wireless, i have set wireless up on one of my Pi's, but never streamed video over it (this is for a dev box, only used for a terminal connection)
__________________
Intel i7 860, Gigabyte PA55-UD5, 2x4GB DDR3, 300GB Velociraptor, 2x2TB Seagate SATA in RAID 0, NVIDIA GTX580, Pioneer DVD burner, Silverstone OP850W, ASUS 23" LCD, Acer 23" LCD, Microsoft X6, Microsoft Intellimouse, Noctua NH-D14
pantner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 4:51 PM   #1377
Hyo-Ri
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 209
Default

Oh okay, I can just play it through a portable 2.5'' external hdd, hopefully the charger can handle it since it will be USB powered.

So is playback fine? No problems like my HTPC?

Furthermore, what OS/software etc. do you use for playback?

I use VLC for everything on my HTPC

raspbian/xmbc etc?

I think i'd prefer this over the HTPC if possible since it looks far more silent and a lot less power consuming.
Hyo-Ri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 6:04 PM   #1378
pantner
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 2,104
Default

using RaspBmc on mine. no glitches or anything...even on 1080p MKVs.

However, i will say, i'm using HDMI and offloading the sound processing to my Pioneer AV Reciever. This frees up CPU time to handle the video.

If you are using normal stereo out then it might not work as well.

Also becareful with overclocking, it can help but you can corrupt your SD card if you overclock too much!

Bus powered HDDs are tricky from my understanding. The USB Ports on the Pi can't output much... Better off using a power HDD, a Thumbdrive or a Powered USB Hub.
__________________
Intel i7 860, Gigabyte PA55-UD5, 2x4GB DDR3, 300GB Velociraptor, 2x2TB Seagate SATA in RAID 0, NVIDIA GTX580, Pioneer DVD burner, Silverstone OP850W, ASUS 23" LCD, Acer 23" LCD, Microsoft X6, Microsoft Intellimouse, Noctua NH-D14
pantner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 6:30 PM   #1379
Hyo-Ri
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 209
Default

Oh okay, thanks a bunch

I was just planning on following this guide: http://lifehacker.com/5976912/a-begi...e-raspberry-pi

I was thinking of just getting the $150 WiFi package from here: http://www.buyraspberrypi.com.au/buy...ustralia-only/

But yeh that's pretty much it.

So should be straight forward install, connect harddrive and watch 720p videos through HDMI connected to my TV.
Hyo-Ri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 7:06 PM   #1380
pantner
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 2,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyo-Ri View Post
I was thinking of just getting the $150 WiFi package from here: http://www.buyraspberrypi.com.au/buy...ustralia-only/
you can get it cheaper if you shop around and buy yourself.
__________________
Intel i7 860, Gigabyte PA55-UD5, 2x4GB DDR3, 300GB Velociraptor, 2x2TB Seagate SATA in RAID 0, NVIDIA GTX580, Pioneer DVD burner, Silverstone OP850W, ASUS 23" LCD, Acer 23" LCD, Microsoft X6, Microsoft Intellimouse, Noctua NH-D14
pantner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
arm, linux, pocketpc, ubuntu, usb

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 8:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!