Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Yesterday, 12:52 PM   #1186
itchynads
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 475
Default

Bit of an update after some testing during the weekend.

My Flare-X kit seems happy at 3466MHz 16-16-16-36.

Stress tested for 4 hours on Asus Realbench (16GB)

9943 C6H BIOS.

Still won't run at stock 3200@14
__________________
Desktop Intel Core i7-5820K @ 4.5/ MSI X99A Gaming 7/ 64GB (16GB x 4) Corsair Vengeance / Corsair H115i/ EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB SC GAMING ACX 2.0+
Benching Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9GHz 1.38 Vcore / Asus C6H (BIOS 0082) /Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) 3000C15 @ 2997C16 DDR4 Hynix)/Fractal Define C ATX Case/eVGA SuperNova G3 650W PSU
itchynads is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old Yesterday, 1:11 PM   #1187
TaroT
Member
 
TaroT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hazelbrook nsw 2779
Posts: 8,391
Default

Editing: 92086
Time: 57.8585

Encoding: 177934
Time: 29.9436

OpenCL: 135382
KSamples/sec: 24932

Heavy Multitasking: 151193
Time: 50.4784


System Score: 139148



----------------------------
__________________
AMD R7 1800X@stock:corsair H110 cooler: ASUS X370 crosshair 6(Baymax)Corsair 3200 ddr4 @2133(for now)R9 Fury X 1100/500:
TaroT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 1:14 PM   #1188
Sgt Bilko
Member
 
Sgt Bilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canberra(ish) 2581
Posts: 587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratzz View Post
I so wanted Ryzen to be the giant killer I thought it would be. Nearly pulled the trigger several times.
I think I'll wait until they get it sorted now, or Ryzen 9 comes along and turns out to be great, or maybe Naples.

Hmmm a dual socket Naples, theres a thought. 64c/128t with a gazillion GB of RAM and insane number of PCIE lanes...

So my 7700K/C17-3733 XMP.. crippled by restarting, hitting F5 for 'optimized defaults' and then restarting with no further changes, so stock clocks on the CPU and ram @ C15-2133.

I know, of course this is only one bench and Ryzen performs much better on other benches than this, but seriously? F5 defaults vs the best some of you guys can do?

1M 8.079 2M 18.182
SuperPI only uses one core.

I think even WoW uses more than one core
__________________
AMD Community Manager
Sgt Bilko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 1:30 PM   #1189
Court Jester
Member
 
Court Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt Bilko View Post
SuperPI only uses one core.

I think even WoW uses more than one core
wow uses all cores

not just wow

played a bit of Mass Effect yesterday as well and loading times were noticeably longer.


frame rates once in the game are about the same as what it was ( I game @ 4k )

I just ordered my bracket for my water block so Ill get it under water soon and hopefully at 4ghz to do a fair comparison.

On the bright side I currently have an All AMD system.
__________________
Many suscessful trades over the past 11 years
------------------------------------------------
Current system: i7 3820 @ 4.6ghz
Court Jester is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 1:32 PM   #1190
TaroT
Member
 
TaroT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hazelbrook nsw 2779
Posts: 8,391
Default

try the 9945 bios that is what i am using and you may scrape something better :0 also look at the overclock.net link above start at page like 1600 and get reading
so many memory so many different results
that flarex is the one i was looking at might hold off now and wait a bit.

also there is a memory hole people seem to hit between 3200 and 3300 but that really depend son the ram i think.

i still think i have a weak chip imc wise but without having access to sexy ram or another chip bit hard to nail down.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X@stock:corsair H110 cooler: ASUS X370 crosshair 6(Baymax)Corsair 3200 ddr4 @2133(for now)R9 Fury X 1100/500:
TaroT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 1:40 PM   #1191
Sgt Bilko
Member
 
Sgt Bilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canberra(ish) 2581
Posts: 587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Court Jester View Post
wow uses all cores

not just wow

played a bit of Mass Effect yesterday as well and loading times were noticeably longer.


frame rates once in the game are about the same as what it was ( I game @ 4k )

I just ordered my bracket for my water block so Ill get it under water soon and hopefully at 4ghz to do a fair comparison.

On the bright side I currently have an All AMD system.
Does it?

Never played it tbh, MMOs aren't my thing

I used to have a 6700k/7700k system before my 1700X and personally I like Ryzen more, I can do so much more with it just because of the thread count.

Loading times are roughly the same for me from what I can tell (never measured them), Windows boots in around the same time but Games and Applications are smoother for me on Ryzen.

Just my 2c on it anyway
__________________
AMD Community Manager
Sgt Bilko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 2:14 PM   #1192
TaroT
Member
 
TaroT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hazelbrook nsw 2779
Posts: 8,391
Default

its all about the feels
just did a quick run on d3 at 4k and more than happy with it, the 6700k would drop under a hundred and get a big mob and it would cry hitch and shudder...this...no issues smooth as butter regardless of what i had running behind.

slow load times could be the memory still being off the boil or sometimes drivers for the hard drive.
my drives seem fine and bench the same as the intel did both ssd and mechanical.

the big test for me still awaits....ark survival...shiver...mind the fury x never had a good run with it so i,m not expecting any miracles
__________________
AMD R7 1800X@stock:corsair H110 cooler: ASUS X370 crosshair 6(Baymax)Corsair 3200 ddr4 @2133(for now)R9 Fury X 1100/500:
TaroT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 3:10 PM   #1193
Court Jester
Member
 
Court Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaroT View Post
its all about the feels
just did a quick run on d3 at 4k and more than happy with it, the 6700k would drop under a hundred and get a big mob and it would cry hitch and shudder...this...no issues smooth as butter regardless of what i had running behind.

slow load times could be the memory still being off the boil or sometimes drivers for the hard drive.
my drives seem fine and bench the same as the intel did both ssd and mechanical.

the big test for me still awaits....ark survival...shiver...mind the fury x never had a good run with it so i,m not expecting any miracles

I still have not really tried to tune it.

Im at 3.77ghz with ram at 2700mhz CAS#15 at the moment once I can fit my water block ill start to seriously overclock.

im @ 3.77ghz @ 1.3125v LLC 2 which is about 1.32v under load on stock heatsink.

temps are getting up there under full load so thats where I will leave it. I don't know what this is like comparison wise but I have a good feeling about this chip maybe getting past 4ghz.
__________________
Many suscessful trades over the past 11 years
------------------------------------------------
Current system: i7 3820 @ 4.6ghz
Court Jester is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 1:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!