Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Troubleshooting Help

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th April 2017, 2:44 PM   #16
cvidler
Member
 
cvidler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Canberra
Posts: 10,377
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by im late View Post
Unfortunately this tends to be a free "get out of jail card" for vendors.

If your ram is not on the QVL list, then they may turn you away.
People bag it (cause they don't understand it), but it's entirely fair. You can't expect any manufacturer to support absolutely every combination of every device that can plug into a motherboard.

If you want it to absolutely work, buy from the QVL (or buy a HP/Dell/etc*). If you're willing to risk it, buy what you want - knowing you're on your own if it doesn't work.


*and it why their prices are higher, because they have tested everything they sell will work together, and have drivers for it all.
__________________
We might eviscerate your arguments, but we won't hurt you. Honest! - Lucifers Mentor
⠠⠵
[#]
cvidler is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 24th April 2017, 4:46 PM   #17
bananabryan Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualNinja View Post
To clarify have you tried both sticks in single channel mode and both worked?
Thanks for responses everyone. In reference to this, I've tried both sticks in single channel BY THEMSELVES and they work. Once you try put in more than one stick in either single or dual channel the computer won't boot up at all. I just get a DRAM LED warning light.
bananabryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2017, 5:19 PM   #18
Xenon
Shīrāzī
 
Xenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Perth, 6009
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bananabryan View Post
Thanks for responses everyone. In reference to this, I've tried both sticks in single channel BY THEMSELVES and they work. Once you try put in more than one stick in either single or dual channel the computer won't boot up at all. I just get a DRAM LED warning light.
Try re-seating your CPU, and check to ensure you haven't bent any pins.
Xenon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2017, 10:02 PM   #19
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 5,580
Default

Install each RAM module and then boot into the OS using CPU-Z review the SPD and take note of the Part Number of each stick (take a screenshot and save to desktop to compare them both) - do they match?


Click to view full size!


Review the timing tables - do they match?

Being a budget kit you may find they have not been binned correctly.

I suspect you are going to need to manually set the voltages and timings of one stick and save in the BIOS and then add the other.
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768
Bold Eagle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 1:46 AM   #20
havabeer
Member
 
havabeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,406
Default

Only other thing to do is take the ram to a mates PC and install them, if it doesn't work you know the ram is stuffed, if it works fine you know your Mobo isn't great
__________________
Current rig: CPU i7 5960X - Mobo MSI x99 pro carbon - GPU 2x Titan X (pascal) - Ram 16gig DDR4 2666 G*skill - Case Custom little devil V8 - Monitor Phillips 40" 4k
Cooling - Custom water loop - 360 rad x 2 - 480 x 1 - acrylic hard tube
havabeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!