Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > PC Games

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Today, 4:04 PM   #136
Arctic_Silver08
Member
 
Arctic_Silver08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aokman View Post
I dont understand how anyone with a high end setup is having issues... Im using a single Titan XP with a 6700K and never had any FPS dips.
because the game isn't optimized... It's not very pretty and yet only yields 70fps? I get more on BF1 which is way better graphically lol.
__________________
DELL XPS 13 9350 | i7-6560u | 8GB 1866MHz | 256GB PCIe SSD | 13.3 inch QHD+
i7 7700K | GA-Z270X-Gaming 5 | G.Skill 32GB 3000Mhz Trident Z RGB | Samsung 950 Pro Series 512GB M.2 | GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Arctic_Silver08 is online now   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old Today, 4:22 PM   #137
aokman
Member
 
aokman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 11,855
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arctic_Silver08 View Post
because the game isn't optimized... It's not very pretty and yet only yields 70fps? I get more on BF1 which is way better graphically lol.
LOL BF1 is not remotely comparable when it comes to map sizes etc, there is a lot more going on in this game with persistent items etc compared to relatively simple point and shoot games.

Nothing says the engine they are using is even ideal for the what they are doing with it but ARMA was equally as demanding and much easier to hack
__________________

#neverstopchasing - weatheradventures.net
aokman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 4:27 PM   #138
Arctic_Silver08
Member
 
Arctic_Silver08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aokman View Post
I dont understand how anyone with a high end setup is having issues... Im using a single Titan XP with a 6700K and never had any FPS dips.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aokman View Post
LOL BF1 is not remotely comparable when it comes to map sizes etc, there is a lot more going on in this game with persistent items etc compared to relatively simple point and shoot games.

Nothing says the engine they are using is even ideal for the what they are doing with it but ARMA was equally as demanding and much easier to hack

You said you don't get how anyone is having issues with a high end set up.

I'll put it as simply as I can in 3 words.

Lack of Optimization.



BF1 might have been a bad example, so how's GTA5 then?
__________________
DELL XPS 13 9350 | i7-6560u | 8GB 1866MHz | 256GB PCIe SSD | 13.3 inch QHD+
i7 7700K | GA-Z270X-Gaming 5 | G.Skill 32GB 3000Mhz Trident Z RGB | Samsung 950 Pro Series 512GB M.2 | GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Arctic_Silver08 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 4:31 PM   #139
aokman
Member
 
aokman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 11,855
Default

Then why am I not having issues? I just just jump in and play, I can understand people having issues with medium and lower end setups but high end should be fine.
__________________

#neverstopchasing - weatheradventures.net
aokman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 4:38 PM   #140
m0n4g3
Member
 
m0n4g3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 3,218
Default

I'm not having any MAJOR issues on my end either. 4k with screen scale down to 85, everything low, except for textures and view distance on ultra. 120+fps on the regular.

My only issue with the game atm... is lag is hardcore bad when playing in WA.

Quite a few times i'm having to empty entire clips of the pump action shotty into people as it registers as a hit on my end (eg blood splatters and shit), and on the server end, not a hit (eg hitting team mate accidentally, and they survived with NO damage what so ever, purely down to lag).
__________________
i7-5930k @ 4.0ghz with EK Supreme-HF | Asus X99 Sabertooth TUF | 2x 980TI SLI with EK CU Blocks | 16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4-3000 | 256gb Samsung 840pro | Xigmatek Elysium | Danger Den Monsoon D5 Dual Res bay, Koolance PMP-450 Pump | 2x XSPC RX360 Rads with 3xScythe Slipstream 1900rpm each | 3/8" Danger Den Black UV tubing | Red Monsoon Compression fittings
m0n4g3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 4:40 PM   #141
walker_2003
Member
 
walker_2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 7,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChinoPD View Post
PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds | Titan X Pascal | 3440x1440 | Acer Predator x34 | 60FPS

movie

He's got a 6950K though.
would run better with 7700k.. tempted to go from 3960x to 7700k (or the next refresh) seems 6 cores will never matter in gaming, all per-core perf.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aokman View Post
Then why am I not having issues? I just just jump in and play, I can understand people having issues with medium and lower end setups but high end should be fine.
You 60hz? that's probably why, game is fine for 60fps and thereabouts, seems people with 100hz+ are biggest complainers (inc me)
__________________
WTB/WTT: BenQ XL2420G |Steam | Battlelog | I <3 G-Sync
My Rig:i7-3960X@4.5 GHZ | ASUS ROG RIVF | 16 GIG 1866MHZ | EVGA 1080ti | 120 GIG INTEL 520 | WIN 10 PRO | D5 & XSPC W/C | 800D | PG279Q ROG Swift G-Sync 2k @ 165hz
walker_2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 4:41 PM   #142
aokman
Member
 
aokman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 11,855
Default

I am running everything on ULTRA on mine at 2560x1440

The game definately likes CPU usage but mine runs at 4.7ghz
__________________

#neverstopchasing - weatheradventures.net
aokman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 4:47 PM   #143
Arctic_Silver08
Member
 
Arctic_Silver08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aokman View Post
Then why am I not having issues? I just just jump in and play, I can understand people having issues with medium and lower end setups but high end should be fine.
No idea, maybe it favors different hardware/drivers/whatever - but if a game is lagging on a 7700k and a 1080Ti in my case (On a fresh install, latest drivers) then it probably suggests the game has flaws. Especially if i'm not the only one experiencing hiccups as these.

- Note: When I say lagging, I don't mean continuous shit frames, I can run this at 4k Ultra Maxxed out and still not drop a sweat until certain points where it will drop for a sec or two.
__________________
DELL XPS 13 9350 | i7-6560u | 8GB 1866MHz | 256GB PCIe SSD | 13.3 inch QHD+
i7 7700K | GA-Z270X-Gaming 5 | G.Skill 32GB 3000Mhz Trident Z RGB | Samsung 950 Pro Series 512GB M.2 | GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Arctic_Silver08 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 5:07 PM   #144
^catalyst
Member
 
^catalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 11,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arctic_Silver08 View Post
No idea, maybe it favors different hardware/drivers/whatever - but if a game is lagging on a 7700k and a 1080Ti in my case (On a fresh install, latest drivers) then it probably suggests the game has flaws. Especially if i'm not the only one experiencing hiccups as these.

- Note: When I say lagging, I don't mean continuous shit frames, I can run this at 4k Ultra Maxxed out and still not drop a sweat until certain points where it will drop for a sec or two.
This, the devs have already mentioned that game has inconsistent performance. For some people its been 100% fine from day one. Other users not so much.

The latest patch was primarily targeted at improving minimum FPS on lower-end hardware; this had a nice side-effect of making the game less 'stuttery' which I presume was related to asset load.

Also, don't spend too much time arguing with aokman, he's not real good with the logic and reasoning.
^catalyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 6:18 PM   #145
aokman
Member
 
aokman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 11,855
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by walker_2003 View Post
would run better with 7700k.. tempted to go from 3960x to 7700k (or the next refresh) seems 6 cores will never matter in gaming, all per-core perf.



You 60hz? that's probably why, game is fine for 60fps and thereabouts, seems people with 100hz+ are biggest complainers (inc me)
Yup 60hz, never noticed any slow downs except for the usual game lag which is the biggest problem. Everything is clunky from throwing grenades to getting in dam cars.
__________________

#neverstopchasing - weatheradventures.net
aokman is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!