Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Memory

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 1st February 2017, 1:55 PM   #1
Lostnewb Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 151
Default X99 memory speed

If using an I7-5xxxK cpu, is there a ram speed cap? That is, is it worth getting 3200MHz instead of 2133MHz for the older type cpu?

I realise faster ram is better, but just not sure how it works.
__________________
i7-980x @ 2.93GHz, X58-UDR3, 12Gb G-Skill 1600 3 x 4Gb, GTX780, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, Lots of mechanical drives
I7-5820k @ 4.40GHz, Asus x99 Deluxe, 32 GB DDR4 3000Mhz, Samsung 960 Evo, 1TB WD Black, GTX 980ti, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Custom loop
I7-4770k @ 4.0GHz, Gigabyte MB, 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, GTX780
Lostnewb is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 1st February 2017, 3:42 PM   #2
Perko
Member
 
Perko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NW Tasmania
Posts: 1,745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lostnewb View Post
If using an I7-5xxxK cpu, is there a ram speed cap? That is, is it worth getting 3200MHz instead of 2133MHz for the older type cpu?

I realise faster ram is better, but just not sure how it works.
I run 3000, there shouldn't be a cap as such, some of the lower end 1151 H/B chipsets will only run the base 2133, but they're a fair way from X99.

As for whether it's worth it... you're on an overclocking forum.
__________________
Main: Phanteks Enthoo Primo/Enermax Platimax 850/MSI X99A SLI Plus/i7-5820k @ 4.4GHz/Noctua NH-D15/Corsair Vengeance 3000MHz Low Profile/Galax GTX 1080 EXOC/ASUS Xonar STU + Beyer T70/Samsung 950 Pro 512GB + 1TB Caviar Black/Win 10 Pro/Cherry Compuregister - MX Clears/Mionix Naos 3200/X-Star DP2710 Glossy
Notebook: ASUS ROG G53SW w/ Win 10 + Ubuntu 16.04
Perko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2017, 5:01 PM   #3
Lostnewb Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 151
Default

Sweet, wasn't sure how this worked. And I haven't run stock speeds in.. 5 years now .

Thanks bud
__________________
i7-980x @ 2.93GHz, X58-UDR3, 12Gb G-Skill 1600 3 x 4Gb, GTX780, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, Lots of mechanical drives
I7-5820k @ 4.40GHz, Asus x99 Deluxe, 32 GB DDR4 3000Mhz, Samsung 960 Evo, 1TB WD Black, GTX 980ti, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Custom loop
I7-4770k @ 4.0GHz, Gigabyte MB, 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, GTX780
Lostnewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2017, 7:00 PM   #4
Perko
Member
 
Perko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NW Tasmania
Posts: 1,745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lostnewb View Post
Sweet, wasn't sure how this worked. And I haven't run stock speeds in.. 5 years now .

Thanks bud
No worries, it's pretty much the same concept as the different DDR3 "speeds" that you've probably come across before, the board will default to the standard 2133MHz and whatever the base timings are for DDR4, and then you overclock it to where you want it, or where it's rated.

Just watch it if you use the XMP profile on the RAM, I've found that pretty hit and miss with the few of X99 boards and RAM combos that I've used, including mine. The main thing to watch, is that even though they will go to the correct frequency and timings, they sometimes will leave the voltage on 1.2v, whereas my Corsair Vengeance LPX DIMMs, for example, are rated for those settings at 1.35v. I had similar issues with the 1600MHz profiles under Lynnfield before they went to the low power stuff.
__________________
Main: Phanteks Enthoo Primo/Enermax Platimax 850/MSI X99A SLI Plus/i7-5820k @ 4.4GHz/Noctua NH-D15/Corsair Vengeance 3000MHz Low Profile/Galax GTX 1080 EXOC/ASUS Xonar STU + Beyer T70/Samsung 950 Pro 512GB + 1TB Caviar Black/Win 10 Pro/Cherry Compuregister - MX Clears/Mionix Naos 3200/X-Star DP2710 Glossy
Notebook: ASUS ROG G53SW w/ Win 10 + Ubuntu 16.04
Perko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2017, 3:42 PM   #5
im late
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canning Vale WA 6155
Posts: 902
Default

On X99:

"ram speed cap" (as you put it) is determined by:

- The strength of your IMC <-- silicon lottery that one
- The type of ram ICs <-- not easy to find and info not released for public knowledge, Sammy B-die tends to give great results on X99
- How well your board/bios version likes your ram <-- luck of the draw there I am afraid
- You experience/ability to overclock on X99 <-- that is a given right?? not just turning on XMP...haha...BTW...XMP......

If you can get to 3200 quad channel with tight timings at 1.35v at 100 base clock stable then you are doing very well for X99.

i7-6xxxx has reported to produce higher mem clocks than previous gen.

Proof in the pudding is submitted results on hwbot.org.

EDIT: Oh forgot to state, 16GB kits will be less stress on the IMC than 32GB or higher, more volt changes required to get higher capacity stable...that being said...sometimes easy...all about points listed above.
__________________
i7-6800K | Asus Rampage V Extreme | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 3733 | 2 x Samsung SM841 256GB Striped | 2 x Gigabyte Titan X | EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2 | Corsair 450D

Xeon E5-2609 V4 | MSI X99S SLI Plus | 4GB Geil 2400 C16 | Intel 600P Series 256GB | 2 x WD Red 3TB Mirrored | Asus GT 710 | EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 | Jonsbo G3 HTPC

Last edited by im late; 2nd February 2017 at 3:45 PM.
im late is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2017, 12:36 AM   #6
Lostnewb Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by im late View Post
On X99:

"ram speed cap" (as you put it) is determined by:

- The strength of your IMC <-- silicon lottery that one
- The type of ram ICs <-- not easy to find and info not released for public knowledge, Sammy B-die tends to give great results on X99
- How well your board/bios version likes your ram <-- luck of the draw there I am afraid
- You experience/ability to overclock on X99 <-- that is a given right?? not just turning on XMP...haha...BTW...XMP......

If you can get to 3200 quad channel with tight timings at 1.35v at 100 base clock stable then you are doing very well for X99.

i7-6xxxx has reported to produce higher mem clocks than previous gen.

Proof in the pudding is submitted results on hwbot.org.

EDIT: Oh forgot to state, 16GB kits will be less stress on the IMC than 32GB or higher, more volt changes required to get higher capacity stable...that being said...sometimes easy...all about points listed above.
Sorry to be dense, but to ask the question:

If I'm after 32GB mem, does that mean I should be looking at a pair of 16GB (4x4GB) kits at 1.2V to be able to run it at 3000MHz reliably using either a 5820k or 5930k (whichever comes up for sale first)? Or will it still be the same stress on the IMC as a single 32GB kit? Board I'm using is a asus x99 deluxe.

I'm not going for extreme OC, just a nice stable one.
__________________
i7-980x @ 2.93GHz, X58-UDR3, 12Gb G-Skill 1600 3 x 4Gb, GTX780, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, Lots of mechanical drives
I7-5820k @ 4.40GHz, Asus x99 Deluxe, 32 GB DDR4 3000Mhz, Samsung 960 Evo, 1TB WD Black, GTX 980ti, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Custom loop
I7-4770k @ 4.0GHz, Gigabyte MB, 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, GTX780
Lostnewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2017, 7:51 AM   #7
dasa2
Member
 
dasa2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern VIC
Posts: 541
Default

i believe 8x4g would be harder on it than 4x8g
__________________
6700k@4.7ghz 1.38v - Z170 Gene - 2x8g 3866c16-16 1.425v - GTX 1070 SC
Swiftech Apogee Drive II\EK VGA HF - 200mm Phobya - Silverstone TJ08-EW
dasa2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2017, 11:32 AM   #8
im late
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canning Vale WA 6155
Posts: 902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lostnewb View Post
Sorry to be dense, but to ask the question:

If I'm after 32GB mem, does that mean I should be looking at a pair of 16GB (4x4GB) kits at 1.2V to be able to run it at 3000MHz reliably using either a 5820k or 5930k (whichever comes up for sale first)? Or will it still be the same stress on the IMC as a single 32GB kit? Board I'm using is a asus x99 deluxe.

I'm not going for extreme OC, just a nice stable one.
If you want a 32GB kit and want less chance of incompatibility then check out the memory QVL list of your board.

This is pretty much the only qualified kit that is rated for 3000 and available for sale new.

No need to buy 2 x 16GB kits. As poster stated above, the more physical memory sticks you have, the harder it will be on the CPU's IMC.

You don't need to only use ram that is on the QVL list, however be warned that some kits may not work well with your board, or even worse not even post (I had a Gigabyte SOC Champion board once that would not post with a particular corsair kit i had).

Regarding X99 memory OC, most platforms can get to 2400 ~ 2666 without too much fuss and run stable, after that, the factors listed above in my first post can come into play.
__________________
i7-6800K | Asus Rampage V Extreme | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 3733 | 2 x Samsung SM841 256GB Striped | 2 x Gigabyte Titan X | EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2 | Corsair 450D

Xeon E5-2609 V4 | MSI X99S SLI Plus | 4GB Geil 2400 C16 | Intel 600P Series 256GB | 2 x WD Red 3TB Mirrored | Asus GT 710 | EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 | Jonsbo G3 HTPC
im late is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2017, 1:45 PM   #9
Lostnewb Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by im late View Post
If you want a 32GB kit and want less chance of incompatibility then check out the memory QVL list of your board.

This is pretty much the only qualified kit that is rated for 3000 and available for sale new.

No need to buy 2 x 16GB kits. As poster stated above, the more physical memory sticks you have, the harder it will be on the CPU's IMC.

You don't need to only use ram that is on the QVL list, however be warned that some kits may not work well with your board, or even worse not even post (I had a Gigabyte SOC Champion board once that would not post with a particular corsair kit i had).

Regarding X99 memory OC, most platforms can get to 2400 ~ 2666 without too much fuss and run stable, after that, the factors listed above in my first post can come into play.
Good stuff, ordered that kit (got to come from USA though).

Just got to get a cpu now then I'm golden.

Thanks for the advice
__________________
i7-980x @ 2.93GHz, X58-UDR3, 12Gb G-Skill 1600 3 x 4Gb, GTX780, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, Lots of mechanical drives
I7-5820k @ 4.40GHz, Asus x99 Deluxe, 32 GB DDR4 3000Mhz, Samsung 960 Evo, 1TB WD Black, GTX 980ti, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Custom loop
I7-4770k @ 4.0GHz, Gigabyte MB, 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, GTX780

Last edited by Lostnewb; 3rd February 2017 at 1:47 PM. Reason: courtesy...
Lostnewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2017, 1:55 PM   #10
im late
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canning Vale WA 6155
Posts: 902
Default

Now I suggest you do not use XMP, instead manually enter the primary times and set base clock to 100.

set voltage for the rams to 1.35v. 1.2v will not be enough to get to 3000 (from my personal experience over the years).

some IMCs are weak, and using a higher strap pf 125 will get it to work to 3000.

There no certainties..but trail and error should get you there.
__________________
i7-6800K | Asus Rampage V Extreme | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 3733 | 2 x Samsung SM841 256GB Striped | 2 x Gigabyte Titan X | EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2 | Corsair 450D

Xeon E5-2609 V4 | MSI X99S SLI Plus | 4GB Geil 2400 C16 | Intel 600P Series 256GB | 2 x WD Red 3TB Mirrored | Asus GT 710 | EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 | Jonsbo G3 HTPC
im late is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2017, 7:20 PM   #11
dasa2
Member
 
dasa2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern VIC
Posts: 541
Default

i dont have x99 but i have seen mentioned a few times that 3200 is easier to get working at 100 strap than 3000?
__________________
6700k@4.7ghz 1.38v - Z170 Gene - 2x8g 3866c16-16 1.425v - GTX 1070 SC
Swiftech Apogee Drive II\EK VGA HF - 200mm Phobya - Silverstone TJ08-EW
dasa2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2017, 6:26 PM   #12
terrastrife
Member
 
terrastrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ADL/SA The Monopoly State
Posts: 17,971
Default

I have one of the worst boards for memory speed (X99E ITC/AC) and I run 2x 16GB 3200MHz just fine at XMP (1.35v and 1.05v changed to 1.1v).
Check for firmware updates, they're almost always going to be RAM compatibility updates in them
On your QVL, go with the brand that has the most 3000/3200MHz confirmed modules.
terrastrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2017, 10:16 PM   #13
i7Baby
Member
 
i7Baby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 239
Default

Also see - http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...s,4155.html#p2 - for a bit more info on RAM.

And you can work the other way too - go to the website for the ram you're considering and see if your mobo is listed as tested as being compatible.
__________________
ASRock X79 Extreme 6, i7 3930k, H110 GTi, 16GB 2133 Ripjaws, 2 x R9 Nano, 250GB EVO, 2 TB Barracuda, EVGA 750G2 in Enthoo Pro plus LG 34UM88 monitor, Azio kb and Gigabyte 6580 Mouse
i7Baby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 7:26 PM   #14
rainwulf
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: bris.qld.aus
Posts: 3,898
Default

IM a fan of XMP, it did wonders, and im running DDR3 at 2400mhz. Cant complain!
__________________
derp
rainwulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!