Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Other Topics > Audio Visual

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22nd February 2015, 10:58 AM   #751
Copie
Member
 
Copie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 12,109
Default

Yep its blocked. Need to have Foxtel Play.
Copie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2015, 11:26 AM   #752
dave_dave_dave
Member
 
dave_dave_dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kizzav View Post
I know it's not the place for it, but where else could it go.

Anyhow, a little birdy told me a few weeks back that they have an IQ3 & every firmware update that has been released has caused problems.

Might be the reason as to why there's been nothing since they started the IQ3 gee-up on the 12th January (unveiling the STB in a teaser video uploaded to Youtube for a February release).
Quote:
Originally Posted by grommet80 View Post
I was wondering why I hadn't heard anything after I registered interest on their site. Getting rid of this shitty MyStar box would be good.
I have IQ3 and can confirm major dramas. Firmware is a lot better than it used to be. Still can't schedule record shows correctly and the local tv tuning is a mess. Menu system is light years ahead of IQHD though and the bluetooth remote is a godsend.

After they sort out the firmware dramas, its going to be an excellent box.
__________________

\0/
|
/\
Muhammad
dave_dave_dave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2015, 7:13 PM   #753
Corky
Member
 
Corky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Wagga Wagga
Posts: 180
Default

Thinking about bundleing and saving a bit with foxtel so i got a question for those that have the internet/Foxtel bundles.

Do you have the option to change your line configuration like you can with Telstra? That is changing interleaving and noise filter settings.
Corky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2015, 12:03 PM   #754
kizzav
Member
 
kizzav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,070
Default

Got an email from Foxtel about 45mins ago, iQ3 launches this Monday (23/3).

The iQ3 page they had up which was basically a mailing list for details on the iQ3 has been redirected to this.

Quote:
Recording Space
3 x the recording space of iQHD, that's room for up to 345 shows (SD)

Bluetooth remote
Works even when your iQ3 is out of sight

WiFi enabled
Easily connect your iQ3 to the 'net using your WiFi connection

Record up to 3, watch 4th
Record up to 3 shows at once, while watching a 4th live
We'll all have to wait & see what the upgrade & multiroom fees are.
__________________
My system: Antec 300 | i5 750 | GA-P55A-UD5 | 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz | WD 1TB Black | 2TB ST2000DL003 | GB 5850 1GB | Corsair HX-650 | BenQ G2420HD 24" | Win 7 Pro (64bit) | MythTV FE/BE: Antec 200 | E6600 | G41MT-S2P | 2GB DDR3 1333Mhz | 4x 2TB ST2000DL003 RAID5/LVM | G210 512MB | 2x Sony Play TV's | Ubuntu Server 10.04 | MythTV FE #1: Asrock ION 330 | 2GB DDR2 800Mhz | 320GB Seagate | Hauppauge MCE remote | Ubuntu 11.04 | MythTV FE #2: Asrock ION 3D | 2GB DDR2 800Mhz | 320GB WD | Ubuntu 11.04

Last edited by kizzav; 19th March 2015 at 12:14 PM.
kizzav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2015, 8:49 PM   #755
yods
Member
 
yods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 761
Default

I signed up a few days ago - foxtel rep told me the IQ3 was going to be $150 (obviously not as an upgrade) - she wouldn't be drawn on what the upgrade price would be from the IQ2.

(I ended up choosing the IQ2 for free instead)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pusbag View Post
2001 lancer gli with evo 6 bodykit.
The car is everything I wanted minus the 4wd handling and engine power
yods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2015, 9:15 PM   #756
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 126,195
Default

"Foxtel from Telstra - Save $105 on 12 Month Plan"

https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/187361
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2015, 12:49 PM   #757
Sipheren
Member
 
Sipheren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 3,174
Default

Got my IQ3 yesterday and hooked it up last night. It's pretty cool, love the new style and menu UI.

Also nice having cover art and what not for all the shows. Worth the upgrade
__________________
Win 10 - AMD R7 1700 @ 3.7GHz - Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero - 32GB DDR4 - nVidia GTX TITAN XP - Phanteks Enthoo Pro M | HTPC - Gigabyte BRIX i3 4010 | NAS - unRAID (12TB)
HTC Vive VR Headset
CAR - 03 BA Ford Fairmont Ghia 5.4L | Sipheren Racing Videos
Sipheren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2015, 6:48 PM   #758
sparky206
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Carlingford, Sydney
Posts: 1,813
Default

hows the picture quality? ive ordered mine to upgrade my standard box
sparky206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2015, 7:30 PM   #759
Sipheren
Member
 
Sipheren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 3,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky206 View Post
hows the picture quality? ive ordered mine to upgrade my standard box
Fine, the resolution hasn't changed, the hd has always been great and still is.

I don't think they have upped any of the bitrates for the channels just for the new box....
__________________
Win 10 - AMD R7 1700 @ 3.7GHz - Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero - 32GB DDR4 - nVidia GTX TITAN XP - Phanteks Enthoo Pro M | HTPC - Gigabyte BRIX i3 4010 | NAS - unRAID (12TB)
HTC Vive VR Headset
CAR - 03 BA Ford Fairmont Ghia 5.4L | Sipheren Racing Videos
Sipheren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 8:47 PM   #760
Thhhza
Member
 
Thhhza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mt. Waverley, Melbourne
Posts: 1,505
Default

I've got Foxtel Play just for the sport so $50 a month but received an email offer for Entertainment + Sport +HD with free install and free iqhd equipment for $50 a month on a 6 month plan, seems like a no brainer if I'm already paying $50 a month just for play?
__________________
My Rig: Intel i5-2500K | ASRock Z77 Extreme4 | 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800 | 2GB Sapphire HD6950 | 250GB Samsung 840 EVO & 4TB Hitachi 5K3000 & 2TB Hitachi 5K3000 | Corsair HX620W | Antec Three Hundred Two | Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | 23" Samsung S23A750D | Altec Lansing MX5021
OCAU Trades List
Thhhza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 9:17 PM   #761
Sipheren
Member
 
Sipheren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 3,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thhhza View Post
I've got Foxtel Play just for the sport so $50 a month but received an email offer for Entertainment + Sport +HD with free install and free iqhd equipment for $50 a month on a 6 month plan, seems like a no brainer if I'm already paying $50 a month just for play?
Yeah, that is the issue I have with their streaming offerings, the box now is the same price and has a lot more channels, so why would you go with streaming.

Even if you didn't get the HD for free it's only an extra $10.
__________________
Win 10 - AMD R7 1700 @ 3.7GHz - Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero - 32GB DDR4 - nVidia GTX TITAN XP - Phanteks Enthoo Pro M | HTPC - Gigabyte BRIX i3 4010 | NAS - unRAID (12TB)
HTC Vive VR Headset
CAR - 03 BA Ford Fairmont Ghia 5.4L | Sipheren Racing Videos
Sipheren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2015, 1:04 PM   #762
MrYoshi
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Default

Took a while to come around to this. used the netflix launch as an excuse to renegotiate. Probably didn't get the best deal going around and a little peed that they kept me on the 'old pricing' for so long.

Now all channels + HD + multi room (HD/Iq2). $95 p/m
MrYoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2015, 1:35 PM   #763
Stooge007 Thread Starter
Member
 
Stooge007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Shire, Sydney
Posts: 8,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrYoshi View Post
Took a while to come around to this. used the netflix launch as an excuse to renegotiate. Probably didn't get the best deal going around and a little peed that they kept me on the 'old pricing' for so long.



Now all channels + HD + multi room (HD/Iq2). $95 p/m

Is that with one IQ3 and one IQ2?

I need to renegotiate next month ...
__________________
I am a registered Tax Agent and run an accounting/bookkeeping practice

www.precisetaxsolutions.com.au
Stooge007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 2:11 PM   #764
the_antipop
Member
 
the_antipop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,488
Default

Hey guys,

I'm looking at getting Foxtel Play. Does anyone have any concerns about it? Is it better getting the full foxtel package?
With play, do you get decent quality on ADSL2+ speeds?

Thanks
__________________
Intel i7-3770 @ 4.1Ghz w/ Corsair H80i | Asus P8Z77-M PRO | MSI GTX 980 Ti Armor 2x OC | 16GB HyperX Fury 1866Mhz | Qnix Q2710 27" 1440p @ 100Hz | Corsair Carbide Spec-02
Steam: the_antipop -- Origin: AntipopAU -- PSN: the_antipop91
the_antipop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 2:16 PM   #765
Sipheren
Member
 
Sipheren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 3,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_antipop View Post
Hey guys,

I'm looking at getting Foxtel Play. Does anyone have any concerns about it? Is it better getting the full foxtel package?
With play, do you get decent quality on ADSL2+ speeds?

Thanks
Depends what you want, but as I said above the main package seems like better value, plus it doesn't rely on your Internet.
__________________
Win 10 - AMD R7 1700 @ 3.7GHz - Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero - 32GB DDR4 - nVidia GTX TITAN XP - Phanteks Enthoo Pro M | HTPC - Gigabyte BRIX i3 4010 | NAS - unRAID (12TB)
HTC Vive VR Headset
CAR - 03 BA Ford Fairmont Ghia 5.4L | Sipheren Racing Videos
Sipheren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 2:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!