Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th May 2017, 2:52 PM   #736
Sarsippius
Member
 
Sarsippius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Darwin
Posts: 510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratzz View Post
I use a 3D printed delid tool (MortarArt sells them for <$20) to delid.
Do you have a link? I got a few hits on google related to 3d printing but didn't see anything specific to delid tools.

Is this the same type from one of the OP's posts that uses a vice?
__________________
Freedom costs a buck o'five.
Sarsippius is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 13th June 2017, 8:00 PM   #737
Edward05
Member
 
Edward05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 114
Default

well headin2001 iam happy with this finally got around to getting it going

__________________
TBA
Edward05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2017, 11:56 PM   #738
Ratzz
Member
 
Ratzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cheltenham East 3192
Posts: 4,941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarsippius View Post
Do you have a link? I got a few hits on google related to 3d printing but didn't see anything specific to delid tools.

Is this the same type from one of the OP's posts that uses a vice?
MortarArt (OCAU)
His website

This tool. Yes, it uses a vise. I have a special edition black+white version I don't know what colour his other stock is, but I think I'd have done well over a dozen chips using this tool and no problems as yet.

Unlike some of the fancy tools though, this one doesn't 'relid', ie it doesn't clamp the IHS down again after you have replaced the TIM and siliconed the IHS back on, which you want to do of course until it gets enough grab to work with safely. I use a stationery clipboard as a clamp, works very well.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by seizium View Post
I did visit the NBN van today at Westfields North Lakes, but their internet connection wasn't working so they couldn't give me any information

My Rig

Last edited by Ratzz; 14th June 2017 at 2:17 PM.
Ratzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2017, 2:04 PM   #739
Sarsippius
Member
 
Sarsippius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Darwin
Posts: 510
Default

Thanks, I sussed it out and have one on the way from him, very quick and simple through the 3D Hubs site.

I've read a number of your posts that have some good info on getting it all done, cheers
__________________
Freedom costs a buck o'five.
Sarsippius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!