Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Other Topics > Audio Visual

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th March 2017, 5:24 PM   #1501
wolfie81
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 422
Default

Finally got around to renegotiation with Foxtel. 55 bucks with the essentials, sport, movies, and HD.
wolfie81 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 21st March 2017, 7:24 AM   #1502
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 123,759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfie81 View Post
Finally got around to renegotiation with Foxtel. 55 bucks with the essentials, sport, movies, and HD.
Sounds about right for what you are getting.
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 7:39 AM   #1503
Radley
Member
 
Radley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Coffs Harbour
Posts: 1,177
Default

Is it worth a new customer ringing Foxtel and asking for a deal? I'd go for $50 or $55 a month for HD sports pack.
__________________
6800K | ASUS X99 ROG Strix | 32Gb G.Skill Trident Z 3200MHz | GTX1080 ROG Strix | Samsung 512Gb M.2 NVMe | Razer Leviathan | ASUS Xonar Essence STX | Seasonic X-750 PSU | Enthoo Primo | Custom water loop | 2 x Dell U2713H
[ Intel Owners Club Member [#93]
$3830 in sales on OCAU.
Radley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 7:43 AM   #1504
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 123,759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radley View Post
Is it worth a new customer ringing Foxtel and asking for a deal? I'd go for $50 or $55 a month for HD sports pack.
TBH, outside of the usual new customer promotion deals they do I don't think they will negotiate pricing with new customers. Happy to be corrected but all negotiated deals I see seem to come from existing customers.

You might need to just sign up for a minimum period and then when that expires, threaten to cancel/leave.
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 8:16 AM   #1505
Radley
Member
 
Radley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Coffs Harbour
Posts: 1,177
Default

Thanks mate, that's what I was sort of expecting. Since there is only a 1 month minimum this isn't too bad. I might give them a call and see how I go.
__________________
6800K | ASUS X99 ROG Strix | 32Gb G.Skill Trident Z 3200MHz | GTX1080 ROG Strix | Samsung 512Gb M.2 NVMe | Razer Leviathan | ASUS Xonar Essence STX | Seasonic X-750 PSU | Enthoo Primo | Custom water loop | 2 x Dell U2713H
[ Intel Owners Club Member [#93]
$3830 in sales on OCAU.
Radley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 8:00 AM   #1506
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 123,759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radley View Post
Thanks mate, that's what I was sort of expecting. Since there is only a 1 month minimum this isn't too bad. I might give them a call and see how I go.
Please do let us know how you go, especially if you do decide to ditch it after a month and try to negotiate at that point in time. Would be interesting to see how far you got after only one month of being with them and threatened to cancel.
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 9:52 PM   #1507
holdennutta
Member
 
holdennutta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 6,408
Default

With my favourite streaming guy not doing F1 again this season I'm half seriously looking at Foxtel...

I'm on FTTP NBN and trying to make sense of their pricing crap.



I'm presuming the offer period is 12mo? Not the first month only? It says lower down the first month fee is $45 for some reason...

Do you have to use the Foxtel Hub thing if you have all your own network stuff happily set up already (Ubnt gear)?

The video streams are over the fibre, right? I can't see anything mentioning sat dishes etc so presumably it's IPTV.

It'll probably be cheaper/better to go one of the less straight and narrow overseas IPTV services that carry SkyF1 but the fiance wanted me to at least investigate the legal way

Thanks all
holdennutta is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:01 PM   #1508
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 123,759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by holdennutta View Post
I'm presuming the offer period is 12mo?
The way I read that was that it's $160/month for twelve months (the offer period) on contract i presume, then after that expires you pay month to month, no contract, $180/month.
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:53 AM   #1509
broccoli
Member
 
broccoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 15,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by holdennutta View Post
I'm on FTTP NBN and trying to make sense of their pricing crap.
that package is for broadband as well, do uyou want to swap providers?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
People are idiots.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreyWolfe01 View Post
don't connect via usb, since that is the devil.
broccoli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:20 AM   #1510
holdennutta
Member
 
holdennutta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 6,408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR CHILLED View Post
The way I read that was that it's $160/month for twelve months (the offer period) on contract i presume, then after that expires you pay month to month, no contract, $180/month.
Cool - that's how I interpreted it as well. But I think last time I looked then had some decent first month price then it sky rocketed after that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by broccoli View Post
that package is for broadband as well, do uyou want to swap providers?
I have Skymesh atm 600gb @ 100mbit for $90/mo. Foxtel seems to have better Youtube HD stats that skymesh so I'm not opposed to swapping ISP as part of it.

I just don't want to have to use Telstra's silly hub thing when I got ubnt stuff set up nicely.
holdennutta is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:33 AM   #1511
broccoli
Member
 
broccoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 15,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by holdennutta View Post
I just don't want to have to use Telstra's silly hub thing when I got ubnt stuff set up nicely.
I would think you'd have to use "their" box because it would have their connection info in it. The IQ box has a card in it, perhaps the broadband does too?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
People are idiots.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreyWolfe01 View Post
don't connect via usb, since that is the devil.
broccoli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:42 PM   #1512
xplod140
Member
 
xplod140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbun
Posts: 4,254
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by holdennutta View Post
Cool - that's how I interpreted it as well. But I think last time I looked then had some decent first month price then it sky rocketed after that.



I have Skymesh atm 600gb @ 100mbit for $90/mo. Foxtel seems to have better Youtube HD stats that skymesh so I'm not opposed to swapping ISP as part of it.

I just don't want to have to use Telstra's silly hub thing when I got ubnt stuff set up nicely.
I don't really have any issues with YT through skymesh ever.
__________________
Trust people who like big butts, They cannot lie.
xplod140 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 1:00 PM   #1513
holdennutta
Member
 
holdennutta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 6,408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xplod140 View Post
I don't really have any issues with YT through skymesh ever.
I went through about a month where it was impossible for anything above 240p to stream. Was a QLD issue I think. Resolved now.

I've no issues with Skymesh.
holdennutta is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 6:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!