Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th March 2017, 9:03 AM   #5236
gdjacobs
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 664
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonutKing View Post
If I was building a new office or home extension I'd get it cabled for sure. Cables > wireless any day of the week.
Wireless repeaters basically halve your wifi bandwidth.

If you read up on some of the technology behind wifi and the problems they needed to solve - its a real miracle that it works at all.
Moving away from CDMA/CA for backhaul helps.
gdjacobs is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 24th March 2017, 10:39 AM   #5237
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 979
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badmofo View Post
Thanks adz I'll keep that in mind - I've suggested that I can do the trench so I'll see what this guy says to that idea. He's mates with the builder doing the rest of the work so want to use him if possible - at least I know these guys get along. Dealing with tradies can be an ordeal
No worries Tell him where he can stick his WiFi booster because at the end of the day, you're the one paying
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse - Alive again...sort of :\

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2017, 2:51 PM   #5238
FIREWIRE1394
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 121
Default

I sorted through more piles of the things I rescused.
Found some more xbox hardware (original and 360) and a couple of game boy advances in a million piece s.

spent an hour putting one GBA together. it turns on, makes the bl-ing sound and shows the logo, but no games to test..

yet another original xbox, this one in one piece, with an AV cable.. still no controllers.
__________________
The biggest conflict of interest in the world: Would you shop at a Daft Punk pop up store knowing Skrillex would be there.
Only thing worse than Skrillex would be deadmau5.
FIREWIRE1394 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 3:38 PM   #5239
cbjaust
Member
 
cbjaust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 886
Default Old School is Best School

My fleabay GeForce2 Ti turned up today. Going to see if I can give the Socket A/GeForce2/3DMark 2001 SE score a nudge later on in the
Old School is Best School Season 3 Round 4 - 3DMark01 comp on hwbot.

__________________
MAIN AMD FX-8350 @ 4.78GHz | Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z | 16GB G.Skill TridentX | Radeon R9 280X 3GB
HTPC AMD A8-7650K @ 3.8GHz | ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ | 8GB G.Skill Ares | Radeon R7 Graphics on-board
SERVER AMD Phenom II X4 940 @ 3.4GHz | DFI DK 790FXB-M2RSH | 8GB G.Skill PI | Radeon HD5670 1GB

Last edited by cbjaust; Today at 12:03 AM.
cbjaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 3:39 PM   #5240
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 48,396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FIREWIRE1394 View Post
yet another original xbox, this one in one piece, with an AV cable.. still no controllers.
I've been toying with the idea of getting one of these but don't know if they are worth it - PS2/Xbox just didn't seem to have enough good exclusives.
__________________
this is who we are.
power is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:05 AM   #5241
cbjaust
Member
 
cbjaust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 886
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbjaust View Post
My fleabay GeForce2 Ti turned up today. Going to see if I can give the Socket A/GeForce2/3DMark 2001 SE score a nudge later on in the
Old School is Best School Season 3 Round 4 - 3DMark01 comp on hwbot.

image
Unfortunately it's a bust. Card was working initially but before I got around to running 3DMark2001SE on it, the card packed up with artifacts and hardlocking the PC on boot.
__________________
MAIN AMD FX-8350 @ 4.78GHz | Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z | 16GB G.Skill TridentX | Radeon R9 280X 3GB
HTPC AMD A8-7650K @ 3.8GHz | ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ | 8GB G.Skill Ares | Radeon R7 Graphics on-board
SERVER AMD Phenom II X4 940 @ 3.4GHz | DFI DK 790FXB-M2RSH | 8GB G.Skill PI | Radeon HD5670 1GB
cbjaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 6:18 AM   #5242
BuuBox
Member
 
BuuBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,652
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbjaust View Post
Unfortunately it's a bust. Card was working initially but before I got around to running 3DMark2001SE on it, the card packed up with artifacts and hardlocking the PC on boot.
Damn.

Hopefully someone on here has an eligible Geforce 2 and can help you out?

Shame they didn't pick the Geforce 3, much easier to find.
__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming, AMD FX-8350, 16GB DDR3, Sapphire Radeon R9 290, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, 2TB WD Black, EVGA 850W, Kogan 27"
Blast from the past: Shuttle HOT-591P, Cyrix MII-400GP, 64MB PC133, Voodoo Banshee, 16GB SSD, Creative Sound Blaster AWE64
Trades: Too many to list. Hundreds.
BuuBox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 8:21 AM   #5243
cbjaust
Member
 
cbjaust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 886
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuuBox View Post
Damn.

Hopefully someone on here has an eligible Geforce 2 and can help you out?

Shame they didn't pick the Geforce 3, much easier to find.
I already asked and there were none forthcoming,I thought old mate Shane41 would've had one somewhere. It pretty much needs to be the Ti or Ultra to have a shot.

In the Cinebench2003 stage they brought out their dual socket boards so that was that for me. I do have a Geode NX coming so I can get a better % overclock for stage 1 so we'll see, but without a good GeForce2 I'm only looking at a good showing in one of the three stages which is not enough.

Other hardware I have is GeForce3 Ti and GeForce4 Ti 4200 64MB so it would have been fine if they chose a slightly newer generation.
__________________
MAIN AMD FX-8350 @ 4.78GHz | Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z | 16GB G.Skill TridentX | Radeon R9 280X 3GB
HTPC AMD A8-7650K @ 3.8GHz | ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ | 8GB G.Skill Ares | Radeon R7 Graphics on-board
SERVER AMD Phenom II X4 940 @ 3.4GHz | DFI DK 790FXB-M2RSH | 8GB G.Skill PI | Radeon HD5670 1GB

Last edited by cbjaust; Today at 8:24 AM.
cbjaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dos, mmx, pentium, retro

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!