Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Networking, Telephony & Internet

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th April 2017, 2:22 PM   #76
Copie
Member
 
Copie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 12,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skramit View Post
Ah ok thanks.

So in the case of HFC, if I'm getting congestion during peak times eg 7pm, is that a CVC bandwidth issue most likely? And can my NBN RSP buy more bandwidth from the NBN to solve this issue for me? Hypothetically?
Yes and yes, but i doubt they will because of the cost.
__________________
My Solar stats
Trump 2016
Make America Great Again!
Copie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2017, 2:23 PM   #77
Skramit
Member
 
Skramit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,036
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Copie View Post
Yes and yes, but i doubt they will because of the cost.
Right so in that case I need to try another RSP? :P
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revenge View Post
I really wish these forums would ban linking to shitty conspiracy sites
MAIN: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.4GHz | ASRock P67 Extreme6 B3 | Fractal Design R3 | Thermaltake 750w | Prolimatech Megahalems | 8GB DDR3 1600 | EVGA GTX1070 SC | Crucial MX300 750Gb | Sandisk Ultra II 480GB | Crucial M4 256GB | 3 HDD (5TB) | Win 10 Pro
Skramit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2017, 5:10 PM   #78
TehCamel
Member
 
TehCamel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,911
Default

I've often wondered, and this is entirely unrelated to the thread in reality,

Could one insert some sort of tap onto the RG6 between the wall and the HFC modem (Let's assume it's not an NBN connection for now) and capture the data, if one had a device capable of going into promiscuous mode?
TehCamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2017, 5:18 PM   #79
ir0nhide
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 3,720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skramit View Post
Right so in that case I need to try another RSP? :P
You can. Whether or not things improve will be interesting to see.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoidbergmerc View Post
Tried that once, ended up kicking my self in the nuts, then got athletes foot on my junk. Not win.
Quote:
Originally Posted by randomman View Post
I think you'll find the diggers would prefer he goes in marine uniform.
ir0nhide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2017, 6:13 PM   #80
caspian
Member
 
caspian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TehCamel View Post
I've often wondered, and this is entirely unrelated to the thread in reality,

Could one insert some sort of tap onto the RG6 between the wall and the HFC modem (Let's assume it's not an NBN connection for now) and capture the data, if one had a device capable of going into promiscuous mode?
sure. you can do much the same thing now with FTTP, every user on the same PON gets the data intended for everyone, it's a layer 1 medium. what you do with it is another matter.
__________________

Please do not contact me directly for advice on NBN related issues. Your ISP is your contact point for support. If they can't or more likely won't help you, why are you rewarding them with your business?
caspian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2017, 6:21 PM   #81
Quadbox
Member
 
Quadbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 5,876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TehCamel View Post
I've often wondered, and this is entirely unrelated to the thread in reality,

Could one insert some sort of tap onto the RG6 between the wall and the HFC modem (Let's assume it's not an NBN connection for now) and capture the data, if one had a device capable of going into promiscuous mode?
This is, incidentally, how one used to pirate tv back in the analogue cable days.

It's all encrypted traffic though, so whether you'll find something *useful* by doing so is another question
Quadbox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2017, 6:38 PM   #82
TehCamel
Member
 
TehCamel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,911
Default

I was half heartedly digging around some stuff earlier, and found things from like 1997 and 2005 and stuff
but yes, apparently newer docsis stuff is encrypted
TehCamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2017, 5:48 PM   #83
Kosti
Member
 
Kosti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quadbox View Post
This is, incidentally, how one used to pirate tv back in the analogue cable days.

It's all encrypted traffic though, so whether you'll find something *useful* by doing so is another question
The good old days of Jerrold Boxs and Emerald Cards
__________________
Post added by using recycled electrons
Need a discount on Electricity, NBN or Home Security - PM me HERE
Kosti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2017, 5:50 PM   #84
Cowelele
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 6
Default

I had the NTU installed on Thursday - just called my RSP to find out why I've still got nothing and can't get a connection even when using PPPOE from my Macbook directly to the NTU.

They've said I now need an activation code from Telstra (it was previously Telstra's HFC) which will take 2-7 business days.

My DSL was disconnected last Monday. Anyone else had anything similar?

Last edited by Cowelele; 10th April 2017 at 5:55 PM.
Cowelele is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!