Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Newbie Lounge

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th April 2017, 11:39 AM   #1
Warface Thread Starter
Member
 
Warface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melb- South Morang 3752
Posts: 316
Default SSD, Bios, MB, or Virus issue??

Hey all this has me baffled! I have a Samsung 250GB SSD as the main C: drive and a 1TB hard drive for files etc, also running Windows 10.

Over the past 2 weeks I have powered my PC on say 20 times, within the 20 times, 2 of those have come up, latest was today. saying (when the PC first starts and states: 'loading operating system') cant find the boot drive record, please press ctr/alt/del to restart. I had tried restarting a few times, same error. I then booted into bios and noticed that the SSD C: drive was placed as a second boot? I change it back to be the first boot priority and windows loads up after it checks the 1TB drive for errors and I have no problems.

What may cause this change to happen in bios?

thanks all.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by treeplant View Post
Do you reckon the jacket is more of a hipster or a Russian gangster style because I want to impress this old Russian guy I play the pokies with, but don't want to come accross as a hipster so considering it, but can't really see how it would match some black slacks with black boots
Warface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2017, 8:41 PM   #2
ICEW0LF
Member
 
ICEW0LF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canberra
Posts: 655
Default

What motherboard is it? Gigabyte?

Doesn't really matter. Make sure your ssd is plugged into your first sata port and see if the issue goes away. If the BIOS resets your boot order from device detection issues this will mean it will default to the lowest number sata port which will then be your ssd.
__________________
Project: ICED ARMOR: i7 870@4GHz | EK HF + MCP655 Var + XSPC Restop + MCR320 + MCR120 | P7P55D-E Pro + EK Blocks | 12GB DDR3 2GHz | EVGA GTX780 + Aquacomputer Kryographics | ASUS ST | Marantz SR4000 + A5 Passives | HX620 | TT Armor + 3x Lian Li EX33B + Scythe\Noctua Fans | Ducky KB + Razer Vespula + R.A.T9 | S27A950D + PX2370 |
ICEW0LF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2017, 8:52 PM   #3
Warface Thread Starter
Member
 
Warface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melb- South Morang 3752
Posts: 316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ICEW0LF View Post
What motherboard is it? Gigabyte?

Doesn't really matter. Make sure your ssd is plugged into your first sata port and see if the issue goes away. If the BIOS resets your boot order from device detection issues this will mean it will default to the lowest number sata port which will then be your ssd.
Hey thanks for the reply, i think you may be right, it is a gigabyte MB, however I have had this rig for at least 5 years. Only now this has happened?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by treeplant View Post
Do you reckon the jacket is more of a hipster or a Russian gangster style because I want to impress this old Russian guy I play the pokies with, but don't want to come accross as a hipster so considering it, but can't really see how it would match some black slacks with black boots
Warface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2017, 10:27 PM   #4
ICEW0LF
Member
 
ICEW0LF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canberra
Posts: 655
Default

i just don't like gigabyte and have seen lots of dumb shit from them over the years fixing thousands of PCs. Seen their motherboards do that sort of thing on occasion. Rearrange your ports should get rid of the issue.

As to what is triggering it well could be mobo or HDD or something else. Download HBCD and run a long test with seatools on both drives and also run a memtest just to check your RAM health.

No hardware changes recently that might have triggered it? New USB devices? Updated BIOS recently?
__________________
Project: ICED ARMOR: i7 870@4GHz | EK HF + MCP655 Var + XSPC Restop + MCR320 + MCR120 | P7P55D-E Pro + EK Blocks | 12GB DDR3 2GHz | EVGA GTX780 + Aquacomputer Kryographics | ASUS ST | Marantz SR4000 + A5 Passives | HX620 | TT Armor + 3x Lian Li EX33B + Scythe\Noctua Fans | Ducky KB + Razer Vespula + R.A.T9 | S27A950D + PX2370 |
ICEW0LF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2017, 7:45 PM   #5
Warface Thread Starter
Member
 
Warface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melb- South Morang 3752
Posts: 316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ICEW0LF View Post
i just don't like gigabyte and have seen lots of dumb shit from them over the years fixing thousands of PCs. Seen their motherboards do that sort of thing on occasion. Rearrange your ports should get rid of the issue.

As to what is triggering it well could be mobo or HDD or something else. Download HBCD and run a long test with seatools on both drives and also run a memtest just to check your RAM health.

No hardware changes recently that might have triggered it? New USB devices? Updated BIOS recently?
Thanks for the detailed reply, it has been the same for last 3-4 years, however I did change some ports about a year or so ago when I took some older smaller drives out.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by treeplant View Post
Do you reckon the jacket is more of a hipster or a Russian gangster style because I want to impress this old Russian guy I play the pokies with, but don't want to come accross as a hipster so considering it, but can't really see how it would match some black slacks with black boots
Warface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2017, 3:38 PM   #6
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 126,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warface View Post
Hey thanks for the reply, i think you may be right, it is a gigabyte MB, however I have had this rig for at least 5 years. Only now this has happened?
Just stuff happens sometimes out of the blue with pc's. In any regard I very much doubt it's virus related.
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2017, 12:48 PM   #7
digamma
Member
 
digamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brisbane, Southside.
Posts: 2,688
Default

Also try changing the sata cable. An inconsistent fault like this can sometimes be caused by a sata cable on its way to the afterlife.
__________________
The ultimate weakness of violence is that it is a descending spiral. Returning violence with violence only multiplies violence, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars.
digamma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2017, 4:50 PM   #8
Warface Thread Starter
Member
 
Warface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melb- South Morang 3752
Posts: 316
Default

Thanks guys for helping me,

Cheers.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by treeplant View Post
Do you reckon the jacket is more of a hipster or a Russian gangster style because I want to impress this old Russian guy I play the pokies with, but don't want to come accross as a hipster so considering it, but can't really see how it would match some black slacks with black boots
Warface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2017, 3:04 PM   #9
rickoles
Member
 
rickoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Perth 6017
Posts: 203
Default

If you have had the pc for ~5 years like you mentioned the bios battery could be flat so when the PC lost power at some point the bios settings were wiped. Would recommend changing the battery.
__________________
Asrock Z170 Extreme 7+ / i7 6700k / RipJaws 16gb 3200 / Fury X / ASUS MG279Q / Samsung 950 pro / Deskstar 4TB / Corsair AX860i / Fractal R5
rickoles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 9:09 AM   #10
Warface Thread Starter
Member
 
Warface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melb- South Morang 3752
Posts: 316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickoles View Post
If you have had the pc for ~5 years like you mentioned the bios battery could be flat so when the PC lost power at some point the bios settings were wiped. Would recommend changing the battery.
Good idea, will do that!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by treeplant View Post
Do you reckon the jacket is more of a hipster or a Russian gangster style because I want to impress this old Russian guy I play the pokies with, but don't want to come accross as a hipster so considering it, but can't really see how it would match some black slacks with black boots
Warface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2017, 6:56 PM   #11
Warface Thread Starter
Member
 
Warface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melb- South Morang 3752
Posts: 316
Default

Hey to all that contributed and followed, the new motherboard battery worked a treat!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by treeplant View Post
Do you reckon the jacket is more of a hipster or a Russian gangster style because I want to impress this old Russian guy I play the pokies with, but don't want to come accross as a hipster so considering it, but can't really see how it would match some black slacks with black boots
Warface is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!