Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th September 2017, 10:17 AM   #2206
dead_man
Member
 
dead_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: melbourne
Posts: 1,647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicthemouse View Post
No but they are essentially the same architecture as the 2670 which does run fine. I think the v1 SBE chips should be fine, the 10c/12c v2 IBE chips might be a bit more of a risk. But that's just my guess, haven't actually tried it.
thanks mate
asrock do list some IBE chips for the extreme9 so might be worth the risk
__________________
Respawn LAN: Melbournes biggest LAN. Come and join the fun
United Admins: Game Server Admin Community
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeadAccelerator View Post
Hentai, sounds like bondage involving chickens.
dead_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2017, 10:24 AM   #2207
sonicthemouse Thread Starter
Member
 
sonicthemouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Green Hill Zone
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dead_man View Post
thanks mate
asrock do list some IBE chips for the extreme9 so might be worth the risk
Yeah I have the extreme9 and it 100% does run an e5-1620 v2 IBE (like shit off a shovel too) BUT that's only a single socket chip and only 4 core.

Also you know if you run a Xeon, the Extreme9 can run Reg ECC? Garnet has 16gb sticks for $50 ea, cheaper if you buy more. With stock BIOS it'll only run 4 of them for 64gb total but still 64gb RAM for <$200... hell yeah

(It won't run the REG features but it'll run it like normal RAM and you can OC it too )

Also, thanks but no thanks for selling me that dual 771 gear back in the day, I reckon I've spent a solid $5k+ screwing around with dual socket & server platforms since then
__________________
Check Out: Sonic's "Museum" - a PC from each generation. Chapter 1: The IBM 5150!

i7-5930K | AsRock X99M | 16gb Corsair Dom Plat 3000 | 512gb PM951 NVMe | EVGA GTX770 | Seasonic Platinum 1000W | Define Mini C | 2407WFP | Ducky Pro G2 | Logitech G5v2
sonicthemouse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2017, 12:06 PM   #2208
dead_man
Member
 
dead_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: melbourne
Posts: 1,647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicthemouse View Post
Also, thanks but no thanks for selling me that dual 771 gear back in the day, I reckon I've spent a solid $5k+ screwing around with dual socket & server platforms since then
lol dont blame me, was your choice to buy it :P
__________________
Respawn LAN: Melbournes biggest LAN. Come and join the fun
United Admins: Game Server Admin Community
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeadAccelerator View Post
Hentai, sounds like bondage involving chickens.
dead_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2017, 11:55 AM   #2209
AviPC
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicthemouse View Post
Yeah I have the extreme9 and it 100% does run an e5-1620 v2 IBE (like shit off a shovel too) BUT that's only a single socket chip and only 4 core.
Also you know if you run a Xeon, the Extreme9 can run Reg ECC? Garnet has 16gb sticks for $50 ea, cheaper if you buy more. With stock BIOS it'll only run 4 of them for 64gb total but still 64gb RAM for <$200... hell yeah
:
hey man... can you please tell me where to get 64GB RAM <$200$ ?
i am after el cheapo Xeon setup with 64GB RAM. planning to build 2 such physical machines for my VMWare lab. i dont care if they dont work ECC. just need as many core as i can and as much RAM as i can ...
__________________
I7-4770k water-cooled, Asrock Z87 Extreme 6, 32GB G.Skilll RipJaw 2133 DDR3, Gigabyte 960 G1, Samsung 250 + 512 GB SSD, WD 8TB Green, LG 27" CS
AviPC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2017, 12:38 PM   #2210
sonicthemouse Thread Starter
Member
 
sonicthemouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Green Hill Zone
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AviPC View Post
hey man... can you please tell me where to get 64GB RAM <$200$ ?
i am after el cheapo Xeon setup with 64GB RAM. planning to build 2 such physical machines for my VMWare lab. i dont care if they dont work ECC. just need as many core as i can and as much RAM as i can ...
If you see my previous posts, there is a member on here named 'garnet', search the FS section for his threads or send him a PM, he has 16gb of 1600 Reg ECC for $50 ea or cheaper if you buy more

But then you'll need a motherboard that supports it, so either a server/workstation board or the AsRock X79 Extreme9. It's pretty much the only consumer board that supports it.

And none of those boards are cheap

Cheap board = expensive RAM, cheap RAM = expensive board

Your only other option is a couple of OpenCompute? Quanta? Windmill? nodes, some of those come prepopulated with chips and RAM, but you need a bit of an understanding of how to work them because they're not a standard thing.

There is a bloke somewhere in this thread who made up some adaptors to use them more like a normal desktop board but still it's a bit of a risk.

Otherwise, there are occasionally "cheap" Lenovo workstation boards on eBay that support Reg ECC but they're still ~$250 delivered last time I checked.

If you need serious amounts of RAM for cheap, you might be better off buying a dual 1366-based server with like 18 DIMMS. Those servers can be picked up < $100, add a pair of X5670's for ~$150, then fill it up with 8gb sticks of reg ECC for 144gb or 16gb sticks for 288gb

Edit: here's an example of a 1366 server for $50 res / $75 instant that would probably run reg ECC
http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh....php?t=1230405
__________________
Check Out: Sonic's "Museum" - a PC from each generation. Chapter 1: The IBM 5150!

i7-5930K | AsRock X99M | 16gb Corsair Dom Plat 3000 | 512gb PM951 NVMe | EVGA GTX770 | Seasonic Platinum 1000W | Define Mini C | 2407WFP | Ducky Pro G2 | Logitech G5v2

Last edited by sonicthemouse; 19th September 2017 at 12:40 PM. Reason: link added
sonicthemouse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2017, 4:07 PM   #2211
garnet
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 3020
Posts: 317
Default

everytime i come into this thread I see sonic advertising me ram

I am waiting to hear for a x79 deluxe, that works with ecc too (i hope) .
Then I will put in a e5 2650 v2 and then glory shall be mine.
garnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2017, 4:37 PM   #2212
AviPC
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicthemouse View Post
Edit: here's an example of a 1366 server for $50 res / $75 instant that would probably run reg ECC
http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh....php?t=1230405
It says i dont have rights. not sure if i need to do something to get rights to particular section of this forum.
__________________
I7-4770k water-cooled, Asrock Z87 Extreme 6, 32GB G.Skilll RipJaw 2133 DDR3, Gigabyte 960 G1, Samsung 250 + 512 GB SSD, WD 8TB Green, LG 27" CS
AviPC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2017, 4:54 PM   #2213
garnet
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 3020
Posts: 317
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AviPC View Post
It says i dont have rights. not sure if i need to do something to get rights to particular section of this forum.
member for 90 days... seeing you joined in Jul... wait til October
garnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:02 AM   #2214
Myne_h
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 6,838
Default

Curious...

Has anyone here tried completely mismatched dual Xeons?

Like say, 14cores @ 2ghz paired with 4 cores @ 3ghz?

Back in the day I ran a pair of mismatched celerys 333 @ 500 and 366 @ 550 without issues.

Curious if there's any issues with that now?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revenge
Please remove the quote of me from your signature.
You are using it out of context
Myne_h is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 1:38 PM   #2215
sonicthemouse Thread Starter
Member
 
sonicthemouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Green Hill Zone
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garnet View Post
everytime i come into this thread I see sonic advertising me ram

I am waiting to hear for a x79 deluxe, that works with ecc too (i hope) .
Then I will put in a e5 2650 v2 and then glory shall be mine.
Lol that's cos it's good value mate

Yeah I think the X79 Deluxe will run it also, although like the Extreme9, I think it'll only recognise up to 64gb...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myne_h View Post
Curious...

Has anyone here tried completely mismatched dual Xeons?

Like say, 14cores @ 2ghz paired with 4 cores @ 3ghz?

Back in the day I ran a pair of mismatched celerys 333 @ 500 and 366 @ 550 without issues.

Curious if there's any issues with that now?
Lol, have never tried it. Never even crossed my mind.

Could've tried it on dual 771, dual 1366 and dual 2011 but I guess it's just not the "done thing"...

I would say they would have to be roughly the same, i.e. I doubt you'd be able to run a SBE chip with an IBE chip. But go ahead, prove me wrong
__________________
Check Out: Sonic's "Museum" - a PC from each generation. Chapter 1: The IBM 5150!

i7-5930K | AsRock X99M | 16gb Corsair Dom Plat 3000 | 512gb PM951 NVMe | EVGA GTX770 | Seasonic Platinum 1000W | Define Mini C | 2407WFP | Ducky Pro G2 | Logitech G5v2
sonicthemouse is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!