Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Other Topics > Audio Visual

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th September 2017, 4:54 PM   #1756
nico6
Member
 
nico6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: melb.vic.au
Posts: 1,278
Default

What's the cheapest way to run Foxtel Go into a standard LCD TV via HDMI? I'm thinking a very cheap laptop or an Android box? This is instead of buying multiroom and it'll never be the 'main' TV.
nico6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 6:16 PM   #1757
clonex
Member
 
clonex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: north pole
Posts: 16,499
Default

Google chromecast?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by de_overfiend View Post
I feel a lot safer in my 20yo VS commodore than in some newer eurohatch or similar
clonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 7:11 PM   #1758
Stooge007 Thread Starter
Member
 
Stooge007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Shire, Sydney
Posts: 8,897
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nico6 View Post
What's the cheapest way to run Foxtel Go into a standard LCD TV via HDMI? I'm thinking a very cheap laptop or an Android box? This is instead of buying multiroom and it'll never be the 'main' TV.
The quality will be garbage, but it's doable through a laptop and HDMI
__________________
I am a registered Tax Agent and run an accounting/bookkeeping practice

www.precisetaxsolutions.com.au
Stooge007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 7:34 PM   #1759
nico6
Member
 
nico6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: melb.vic.au
Posts: 1,278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clonex View Post
Google chromecast?
I assume I'd have to cast from another device that had the Go app? That is, Chromecast doesn't run the app natively, right?
nico6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 9:05 PM   #1760
the_antipop
Member
 
the_antipop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stooge007 View Post
how much are you paying now?
$70/month.

It's thrown in with my Telstra cable, so it's 'Foxtel by Telstra'. Unsure if that makes a difference.
__________________
Intel i7-3770 @ 4.1Ghz w/ Corsair H80i | Asus P8Z77-M PRO | MSI GTX 980 Ti Armor 2x OC | 16GB HyperX Fury 1866Mhz | Qnix Q2710 27" 1440p @ 100Hz | Corsair Carbide Spec-02
Steam: the_antipop -- Origin: AntipopAU -- PSN: the_antipop91
the_antipop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2017, 6:40 AM   #1761
clonex
Member
 
clonex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: north pole
Posts: 16,499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nico6 View Post
I assume I'd have to cast from another device that had the Go app? That is, Chromecast doesn't run the app natively, right?
Yep otherwise xbox 360/ps3 secondhand?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by de_overfiend View Post
I feel a lot safer in my 20yo VS commodore than in some newer eurohatch or similar
clonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2017, 9:53 AM   #1762
nico6
Member
 
nico6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: melb.vic.au
Posts: 1,278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clonex View Post
Yep otherwise xbox 360/ps3 secondhand?
I think those run Foxtel Now, and not Foxtel Go? I already have Foxtel (IQ2), so Go is free and don't need/want to pay for Now
nico6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2017, 7:46 PM   #1763
clonex
Member
 
clonex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: north pole
Posts: 16,499
Default

Unsure, i have go app on both my xb360 and ps3 but they havent been used since bathurst last year


Actually that was Foxtel Play
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by de_overfiend View Post
I feel a lot safer in my 20yo VS commodore than in some newer eurohatch or similar

Last edited by clonex; 15th September 2017 at 7:48 PM.
clonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 2:07 PM   #1764
The Brad
Member
 
The Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney, for now?
Posts: 4,954
Default

The new app is just called Foxtel, but don't worry about Chrome cast support, right now most of us users just want it to run more than 5 mins without crashing or having login errors.
__________________
Brad Morton, otherwise known as The Brad

Addicted to folding club member #313 - i7/965/GTX260

Diablo 3: TheBrad#6547
The Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2017, 10:18 PM   #1765
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 126,182
Default

Free movies for 11 days....worked for me, may work for you....

https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/330358
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 3:34 PM   #1766
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 126,182
Default

Quick question, I watch a bit of golf on foxtel, I used to have to manually set Foxtel to record every golf tournament before it starts. If you know golf, the tournaments go over 4 days so I always did series link, anyways, that's by the by.

For some reason it seems to be automatically setting to record, ALL golf tournaments that occur without me ever having to do anything now. Don't get me wrong, I love this, totally, as it means I never miss a tournament, but why has this happened? Have I changed a setting? Perhaps unknowingly? How does it set itself up to record every golf tournament forever like this without me ever having to do anything?
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 4:03 PM   #1767
Stooge007 Thread Starter
Member
 
Stooge007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Shire, Sydney
Posts: 8,897
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR CHILLED View Post
Quick question, I watch a bit of golf on foxtel, I used to have to manually set Foxtel to record every golf tournament before it starts. If you know golf, the tournaments go over 4 days so I always did series link, anyways, that's by the by.

For some reason it seems to be automatically setting to record, ALL golf tournaments that occur without me ever having to do anything now. Don't get me wrong, I love this, totally, as it means I never miss a tournament, but why has this happened? Have I changed a setting? Perhaps unknowingly? How does it set itself up to record every golf tournament forever like this without me ever having to do anything?
Skynet

time to get out the tin foil hat
__________________
I am a registered Tax Agent and run an accounting/bookkeeping practice

www.precisetaxsolutions.com.au
Stooge007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 4:16 PM   #1768
krappo
Member
 
krappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kingston Beach
Posts: 684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR CHILLED View Post
Free movies for 11 days....worked for me, may work for you....

https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/330358
Many Thanks worked for me
__________________
Intel Core i7 4790K : MSI Z97A-Gaming 7 : G.Skill Ripjaws X F3-2400C11D-16GXM DDR3 : Samsung 850 EVO Series M.2 250GB SSD : MSI GeForce GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB : Seasonic X-760 80+ Gold : Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU Cooler : Samsung S27B550V 27in : CoolerMaster HAF X Case : Audioengine 5+ : Gieseler Audio Klein DAC : Gigabyte GHOST M8600 : SteelSeries QcK+ : Logitech G19 : Pioneer DVR-219L : Win 10 x64
krappo is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!