Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Other Topics > Audio Visual > HTPC

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th September 2017, 7:17 PM   #1
Sledge Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 6,190
Default DD+ and Kodi

Hi guys,
So i have ripped my copy of Serenity (HD-DVD) to the HDD, and it used to work fine.
Now i get major stuttering when i try to play the file.
As far as i can tell it's due to DD+ as when i disable the passthrough of that in kodi, it plays fine.
Does this happen to anyone else? Anyone else got a file with DD+ in it?
Sledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 10:55 AM   #2
Smoke87
Member
 
Smoke87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6,177
Default

So your receive has a DD+ decoder and Kodi wasn't previously decoding it for you and was in fact bit streaming, or, your receiver does not have said decoder and Kodi was previously decoding it for you.

What model receiver do you have?

Try MPC-HC media player.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surtr View Post
What the hell is bf3?
Futuremark is my favourite games developer.
Smoke87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 12:18 PM   #3
Sledge Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 6,190
Default

Receiver does have DD+
Tried a couple of them..

But without downgrading to an older kodi i can't say for sure what it was doing before
Sledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2017, 2:57 PM   #4
G-PhresH
Member
 
G-PhresH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Forestville, NSW
Posts: 9,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sledge View Post
Receiver does have DD+
Tried a couple of them..

But without downgrading to an older kodi i can't say for sure what it was doing before
Enabled pass through in Kodi?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soarer GT View Post
"G-PhresH's dick is a weapon of mass destruction that multiplies and destroys budgets"
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecondor View Post
and G-phresh may be swinging a donkey dick for all we know
Steam: MajorGaz || Origin: MajorGaz || uPlay: TheMajorGaz
G-PhresH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2017, 3:07 PM   #5
Smoke87
Member
 
Smoke87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6,177
Default

May also be called 'bit streaming'.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surtr View Post
What the hell is bf3?
Futuremark is my favourite games developer.
Smoke87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 8:29 AM   #6
Sledge Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 6,190
Default

Yes i have..
And it's when that's enabled and DD+ marked as supported that the issue presents itself...
On 2 different amps.. 1 pioneer 1 Yamaha
Sledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 1:38 PM   #7
shmity
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 877
Default

What Hardware? On my old windows HTPC with a yamaha receiver I managed passthrough of everything all the way up to TrueHD etc without issue. Now on an AndroidTV box with SPMC Im also getting no issues.

Check the samples here:
http://kodi.wiki/view/Samples
shmity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 9:12 PM   #8
Sledge Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 6,190
Default

I can do everything else too including TrueHD etc as well
Just DD+ causes issues
mobo is an Asus P8B75-M
with an i3 CPU etc

Tried it with onboard HDMI as well as a discrete card, both the same..

hrmm testing with the 'Safari' clip it works fine...
Maybe it's something to do with copy protection then (I ripped it from disk with makemkv)

Last edited by Sledge; 16th September 2017 at 9:24 PM.
Sledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 5:09 PM   #9
Smoke87
Member
 
Smoke87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6,177
Default

If you have a source with True HD, opt for that over DD+.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surtr View Post
What the hell is bf3?
Futuremark is my favourite games developer.
Smoke87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 6:32 PM   #10
Sledge Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 6,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoke87 View Post
If you have a source with True HD, opt for that over DD+.
The disc in discussion doesn't have TrueHD only DD or DD+
Sledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 7:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!