Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Extreme and Water Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th May 2017, 2:39 AM   #1
Nasha Thread Starter
Member
 
Nasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Suburbs Vic
Posts: 150
Default Dual CPU AIO's into 1 AIO loop?

Hi All,

I have 2x Deepcool Maelstrom CPU AIO's. A 120 and a 240. If i were to mod this setup to remove the 120 rad, would you provide power to the 2nd pump in the loop? I don't know whether it will need it for water to flow, and also unsure whether this might cause any issues if i did power it? Further, could i use these block/pump in an a custom loop?

So for the AIO mod it'd look like
{rad} > {block/pump #1} > {block/pump #2} > {rad}

or the custom loop (Using a Swiftech H220, and an additional 480 Rad)
{Rad/Pump/Res} > {GPU} > {block/pump #1} > {block/pump #2} > {480 Rad} > {Rad/Pump/Res}

Cheers,
Nasha

Last edited by Nasha; 19th May 2017 at 3:36 AM.
Nasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2017, 5:16 PM   #2
zero_velocity
Member
 
zero_velocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 2,330
Default

Dont bother trying to butcher two AIO's. Sell them both to offset the cost of a custom
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agg View Post
I genuinely don't think anything about you at all, nor do I think you are some huge problem on the forums, nor do I particularly care if you feel insulted.
zero_velocity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2017, 6:21 PM   #3
Nasha Thread Starter
Member
 
Nasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Suburbs Vic
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zero_velocity View Post
Dont bother trying to butcher two AIO's. Sell them both to offset the cost of a custom


I went ahead and butchered the AIO's, and started a custom loop to cool an R9 290x and 295x2
Nasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2017, 11:30 AM   #4
rvrftw
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Hobart
Posts: 154
Default

I would power both pumps... That way you know it should have enough head pressure to push the water at a good flow rate, plus if 1 pump dies, you can still use the system
rvrftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2017, 11:37 AM   #5
Nasha Thread Starter
Member
 
Nasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Suburbs Vic
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rvrftw View Post
I would power both pumps... That way you know it should have enough head pressure to push the water at a good flow rate, plus if 1 pump dies, you can still use the system

Currently running both pumps, but you've just made me consider failure... Maybe I should leave one disconnected as a hot spare and get twice the life out of my setup!

I've since replaced the tubing with clear tubing, and the flow rate appears to be decent under one pump. They're cooling a pair of Xeons that live idle 23hrs a day, it's not a heavy load
Nasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!