Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Yesterday, 9:50 PM   #5221
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 48,331
Default

I think this counts, Microsoft just announced Daytona is available on back compat today, bagged a copy and played for a while. Great conversion. $10 well spent. https://marketplace.xbox.com/en-GB/P...b1d?noSplash=1
__________________
this is who we are.
power is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old Yesterday, 10:07 PM   #5222
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 28,105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by power View Post
I think this counts, Microsoft just announced Daytona is available on back compat today, bagged a copy and played for a while. Great conversion. $10 well spent. https://marketplace.xbox.com/en-GB/P...b1d?noSplash=1
Nice one, thanks for the heads up!
__________________
Play old games with me!
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 7:46 AM   #5223
flu!d
Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS
 
flu!d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flamin Joe View Post
Coax cable FTW. Just don't forget the terminators!

#hardcoreretro

Seriously though, actually would be pretty cool to set up an old school network just for kicks. I can't remember if it was 10Base2 or 10Base5, but the last time I saw a Coax network was at my local TAFE in the mid-nineties learning Novell NetWare. I honestly doubt I'd remember how to use it as it's been so long!
Don't forget BBC's Econet...
__________________
Show us yer HTPC!

Dell T5500, Xeon X5675 Hex core @ 3.46Ghz max, 16GB RAM, GTX 670FTW, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD OS drive, 2 x 1TB home/storage drives, Dual Acer V243HQ 1920 x 1080 monitors, Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS and loving it!
flu!d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 8:20 AM   #5224
badmofo
Member
 
badmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 437
Default

I had the electrition in this morning and he suggested we go with a wireless booster instead of digging up the backyard and laying cat6 cable. The distance from the house to the new room - which is standalone - isn't great; probs 15 meters. But alarm bells ring when I hear talk of boosting signals, etc - we need 100% of our possible bandwidth in the study. If anything we'd want the modem in the study and boost a wireless signal back to the house from there, but then we'd still be running a cable anyway to get ADLS to the study.

Anyone had experience with wireless boosters?

ta
__________________
Life? Don't talk to me about life.
badmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 8:29 AM   #5225
shane41
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: In the sticks NSW
Posts: 4,853
Default

I don't like wireless. Full stop. When it comes to cables you can test easily.
We have enough bloody radio signals bouncing around us now, so why not boost more in your house too. Must be healthy for us right

More serious answer. Sounds like he does not want to dig.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoprint View Post
There is a group of us that get incredibly erect over such hardware. Maybe post in the retro section?
Haha ...........might be a bit rude that picture.
shane41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 9:49 AM   #5226
badmofo
Member
 
badmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 437
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shane41 View Post
More serious answer. Sounds like he does not want to dig.
Yep I think the digging thing was more the issue - I'll dig it myself if it comes to that! Might as well do it right.
__________________
Life? Don't talk to me about life.
badmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:02 AM   #5227
Matthew kane
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badmofo View Post
I had the electrition in this morning and he suggested we go with a wireless booster instead of digging up the backyard and laying cat6 cable. The distance from the house to the new room - which is standalone - isn't great; probs 15 meters. But alarm bells ring when I hear talk of boosting signals, etc - we need 100% of our possible bandwidth in the study. If anything we'd want the modem in the study and boost a wireless signal back to the house from there, but then we'd still be running a cable anyway to get ADLS to the study.

Anyone had experience with wireless boosters?

ta
Why not get another wideband wireless router and setup similar as a repeater so it covers the wireless surface area your main router doesn't?
__________________
Intel i7 3960X @ 4.7GHZ - Noctua NH-D14 | 16GB OCZ Platinum Series DDR3 1600MHZ | Asus Rampage IV Extreme (4901 bios) | 2 x Leadtek GTX680 4GB | PNY GTX465 unlocked to 470 (Physx) | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro with LME47920's opamps | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB | OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB| 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green, 4 x 2TB Seagate LP | Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250watt | Antec P280 + Veris Elite | LG BD Rewriter
Matthew kane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:47 AM   #5228
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 977
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badmofo View Post
I had the electrition in this morning and he suggested we go with a wireless booster instead of digging up the backyard and laying cat6 cable. The distance from the house to the new room - which is standalone - isn't great; probs 15 meters. But alarm bells ring when I hear talk of boosting signals, etc - we need 100% of our possible bandwidth in the study. If anything we'd want the modem in the study and boost a wireless signal back to the house from there, but then we'd still be running a cable anyway to get ADLS to the study.

Anyone had experience with wireless boosters?

ta
Quote:
Originally Posted by shane41 View Post
I don't like wireless. Full stop. When it comes to cables you can test easily.
We have enough bloody radio signals bouncing around us now, so why not boost more in your house too. Must be healthy for us right

More serious answer. Sounds like he does not want to dig.
I concur with Mr. 41, he doesn't want to dig, I have a sparky mate who lives not that far from you if you want a second opinion? The other option is to dig the trench yourself.
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse - Alive again...sort of :\

Victoria - The $afety State

Last edited by adz; Today at 10:52 AM.
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:29 AM   #5229
shane41
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: In the sticks NSW
Posts: 4,853
Default

Dial before you dig as well. You used to get a FREE consultation .........
Worth it, not to hit any lines.

Guys......anyone have the busted Soyo motherboards with Silver capacitors?
3300uf 6.3v 10x25mm. Short about x10 of them to repair boards here.......
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoprint View Post
There is a group of us that get incredibly erect over such hardware. Maybe post in the retro section?
Haha ...........might be a bit rude that picture.
shane41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:49 AM   #5230
DonutKing
Member
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tweed/Gold Coast
Posts: 995
Default

If I was building a new office or home extension I'd get it cabled for sure. Cables > wireless any day of the week.
Wireless repeaters basically halve your wifi bandwidth.

If you read up on some of the technology behind wifi and the problems they needed to solve - its a real miracle that it works at all.
__________________
пора бить эту лягушку и жабу!!!
DonutKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 1:30 PM   #5231
Spearchucka
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: 5126
Posts: 13
Default

I assume the power to the office is already installed. Another trench will probably be a PITA, so may I suggest overhead using galv wire rope and conduit. Cat5, phone and an extra pull through for the future. Easy to add or replace any problems.
Spearchucka is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 1:57 PM   #5232
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 28,105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonutKing View Post
If you read up on some of the technology behind wifi and the problems they needed to solve - its a real miracle that it works at all.
Fairly typical of anything Australian's invent.
__________________
Play old games with me!
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 3:17 PM   #5233
badmofo
Member
 
badmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 437
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spearchucka View Post
I assume the power to the office is already installed. Another trench will probably be a PITA, so may I suggest overhead using galv wire rope and conduit. Cat5, phone and an extra pull through for the future. Easy to add or replace any problems.
Yep we have power out there but it's not mains apparently, just a loop off the house fuse box, so we might be digging for power anyway because we want a split system in the study... which might need mains.

Nothing's easy, but our wifi was mysteriously out today when I was trying to work from home - reboot modem, mash buttons on router, it came back eventually. But I'm taking it as a sign, gotta be wired.
__________________
Life? Don't talk to me about life.
badmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 3:28 PM   #5234
Daft_Munt
Member
 
Daft_Munt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hobart, Hodge Podge Land
Posts: 6,469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spearchucka View Post
I assume the power to the office is already installed. Another trench will probably be a PITA, so may I suggest overhead using galv wire rope and conduit. Cat5, phone and an extra pull through for the future. Easy to add or replace any problems.
I would avoid that, especially if you are in a lightning prone area...fried retro gear.
__________________
Quote:
“Empathize with stupidity and you’re halfway to thinking like an idiot.”
Iain M Banks
Daft_Munt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dos, mmx, pentium, retro

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 6:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!