Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th September 2015, 4:50 PM   #1
ywn Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: port macquarie {nsw}
Posts: 942
Default am3 cpu upgrade

hi , i currently have a phenom ii x6 1055t and was looking to see if the fx8350 or a fx6300 would be a good upgrade ,
i use my pc for gaming ,internet,video processing ,

other specs
ram -20gb
cpu - r9 280
ssd hard drive
mobo Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
ywn is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 13th September 2015, 5:19 PM   #2
Perko
Member
 
Perko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NW Tasmania
Posts: 1,736
Default

If you can just drop the chip in and OC it, they are usually not a bad bit of kit. If you need to upgrade your board, you might be better to look in the FS section for an Ivy or Haswell i5 combo.
__________________
Main: Phanteks Enthoo Primo/Enermax Platimax 850/MSI X99A SLI Plus/i7-5820k @ 4.4GHz/Noctua NH-D15/Corsair Vengeance 3000MHz Low Profile/Galax GTX 1080 EXOC/ASUS Xonar STU + Beyer T70/Samsung 950 Pro 512GB + 1TB Caviar Black/Win 10 Pro/Cherry Compuregister - MX Clears/Mionix Naos 3200/X-Star DP2710 Glossy
Notebook: ASUS ROG G53SW w/ Win 10 + Ubuntu 16.04
Perko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2015, 5:26 PM   #3
ywn Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: port macquarie {nsw}
Posts: 942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perko View Post
If you can just drop the chip in and OC it, they are usually not a bad bit of kit. If you need to upgrade your board, you might be better to look in the FS section for an Ivy or Haswell i5 combo.
i shouldent have to upgrade the motherboard
ywn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2015, 5:57 PM   #4
damo13579
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newstead, Tasmania
Posts: 1,036
Default

fx8350 would be worth doing, can usually pick up pretty cheap in the forums.
i wouldnt bother going to a fx6300 from a 1055t, wouldnt be much of a performance jump
__________________
When you are up to your nose in crap, it pays to keep your mouth shut
damo13579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2015, 11:58 PM   #5
mAJORD
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,441
Default

really depends on:

-If you're going to overclock
-If your old chip was overclocked
-your budget

Though it's looking like one of the 8xxx is going to be the way to go.. quite cheap now (well, by current AU dollar standards) . Yes they're hot and power hungry, but from a pure performance pt of view, as a drop in upgrade, they're good value, being cheaper than the cheapest intel quads.. But Much more so if you get, say an 8320 and OC it - Very decent perf/$ to be had then.

Last edited by mAJORD; 14th September 2015 at 12:00 AM.
mAJORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2015, 9:44 AM   #6
Sologuy
Member
 
Sologuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Northern Tasmania
Posts: 169
Default

Bit late to this but...

I would recommend 8370e - 95W TDP Octacore
Sologuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2015, 6:35 AM   #7
demajes
Member
 
demajes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 119
Default

also interested in some info re: 8320/8350 etc and if to aftermarket air cool or closed loop liquid for the cpu?

How do you find the AMD 6 core for video processing etc etc?

Purely looking at AMD rig as cost / cores / whole setup to get inc new screens

Last edited by demajes; 7th November 2015 at 6:37 AM.
demajes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2015, 7:44 AM   #8
ywn Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: port macquarie {nsw}
Posts: 942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by demajes View Post
also interested in some info re: 8320/8350 etc and if to aftermarket air cool or closed loop liquid for the cpu?

How do you find the AMD 6 core for video processing etc etc?

Purely looking at AMD rig as cost / cores / whole setup to get inc new screens
sorry i cant help much any more as i went to a i5 6400 ,hoping to go back to amd when zen is out and i see what the preformace is for it, but video encodeing with handbrake a full movie only takes about 30-45min
ywn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2015, 11:41 AM   #9
Sologuy
Member
 
Sologuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Northern Tasmania
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by demajes View Post
also interested in some info re: 8320/8350 etc and if to aftermarket air cool or closed loop liquid for the cpu?
That would depend on what kind of clock speed you seek when OC'ing. Generally, air cooling is less hassle to install and easy to maintain for low to moderate OC's. However, one should always take into consideration the ambient air temps in the immediate environment when measuring system temps.
Sologuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2016, 8:55 PM   #10
whirlybomber
Member
 
whirlybomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Summer Hill
Posts: 296
Default

Sorry to unearth an old thread, but I have the same question as the O.P.

So after reading this thread, searching some of the advertisers on OCAU, then the AMD homepage and for a laugh Newegg (they post to Australia now - how long has that been a thing?) I have a question about the low-power versions of the FX chips.

I would like to get an 8370e like was suggested by sologuy, but I can only see the 125W version listed on the Australian distributors websites.

So then I looked at the AMD web pages and sure enough they list both an 8370 (125W) and a 8370e (95W).

Lastly I look at Newegg, and they list a 8320 (125W), a 8350 (125W) and a 8300 (95W)

So can someone tell me if it is possible to purchase a 95-watt 8-core AM3+ cpu in Australia? And if so what search term should I use?
__________________
well, i'll certainly agree that there's been an influx of crap into this thread. - Agg
whirlybomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2016, 9:16 PM   #11
_slacker_
Member
 
_slacker_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: hiding from census dude!
Posts: 1,212
Default

can always call and ask if they can still get in from disty....


http://www.arc.com.au/pub.php?gid=24...7262&p=product
__________________
20 20 24 hours to goooo o ... I wanna be sedated... Nuthin to do nowhere to goooooo o.... I wanna be sedated ..... bamp bamp ba bamp ba bamp bamp ba bamp... I wanna be sedated.
_slacker_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2016, 9:20 PM   #12
AEKaBeer
Member
 
AEKaBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Essendon
Posts: 3,882
Default

Don't forget you can always undervolt a 125w cpu, have done it on all my AMD non overclocked AMD CPU's since the Phenom II.
__________________
i5 4690, EVGA GTX1070 SC, 16GB HyperX, GB B85N Phoenix, TR Silver Arrow Exreme, Dell U2410, Bitfenix Prodigy, 2x500GB EVO, 256GB Crucial M4, Seagate 3TB, Silverstone 850w Gold
Metabox P157SM, i7-4700MQ, GTX 780M, 32GB DDR3, 120GB Sandisk, 256GB Plextor
AEKaBeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2016, 9:32 PM   #13
_slacker_
Member
 
_slacker_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: hiding from census dude!
Posts: 1,212
Default

thats true, and the 95w'er is really just an undervolted and clocked 8370. non-turbo is like 3.3ghz vs 4ghz. Both turbo up to 4.3ghz. I'd just go the normal 8350, undervolted ( I would Overvolt and overclock it )
__________________
20 20 24 hours to goooo o ... I wanna be sedated... Nuthin to do nowhere to goooooo o.... I wanna be sedated ..... bamp bamp ba bamp ba bamp bamp ba bamp... I wanna be sedated.
_slacker_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 2:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!